Weather, Old Friends, and Grandchildren…

 Photobucket

It’s time to board the Tuesday Train…It’s a fun ride, so be sure to click the button to learn how to hop on board!!!

I woke up on Monday morning to find that, apparently, spring has decided to take a little vacation, and meanwhile, winter has returned.  It rained and hailed on Sunday afternoon, and with that the temperatures plumeted…I listened to the sad sound of the heater clicking off and on all day Monday, and it’s still cold and gloomy today.  What’s up with all this???

On a happier note, I went to visit an old friend on Friday.  She and I have been friends since high school, and we have managed to keep in touch over the years.  Every few months my friend invites me to Savannah for a visit.  She and I have the kind of friendship that lets us pick up where we left off, even if it’s been six months since our last visit!  It’s always good to “get away” for a few hours, and it’s even better to “get away” with a friend.  We were wishfully looking at old photographs of us in our younger days, when her husband walked through and commented how we’d both put on a few pounds since those days…Gee, thanks!  I should’ve told him “Yeah, you used to have hair back then, too!”, but I didn’t.

After over three years of living in what used to be our house, but is now their house, our daughter and her husband have finally decided to paint the outside of the house.  They actually decided to paint it about a year ago, but could never decide on a color.  Thanks to modern technology letting them photograph their house, then experiment with colors on it via the computer, they finally decided on a color!  What will they think of next? 

Our little four-year-old granddaughter is going to be the flower girl in a wedding this coming Saturday.  Would you believe that as of yesterday afternoon, the two flower girl dresses hadn’t been sewn yet?  That’s cutting things a wee bit too close for me…Perhaps the tailor/seamstress works best under pressure???  All I can say is, “I hope the dress fits!”

Speaking of grandchildren, our daughter-in-law decided to enter our grandson, Caden, in the “Tiny Mr. Sweet Onion” pageant last Saturday.  I don’t mind telling you that my initial reaction was “Oh, no!”  I’m just not a pageant person.  I  dislike them very much, but of course I wasn’t going to miss out on an opportunity to support Caden in his endeavors.  My husband and I attended the pageant, and sat there in horror at the behavior of some of the folks in the audience!  What is wrong with people these days? 

People were laughing and talking during the entire thing…the emcee even had to scold the audience on a couple of occasions!  At one point, several parents/grandparents swarmed the area where the judges were sitting– to take photographs of their children!  Those of us sitting in the audience couldn’t even see who was being crowned because of the parents standing in front of the stage!  My other complaint was the way some of the parents were dressed.  If I were going to be up on a stage, in a spotlight with my child, I’d want to look my best, not like I’d been out in the field picking peas–in flip-flops!

Anyway, Caden did very good with his first (and maybe last) pageant experience.  He walked out, waved, and blew a kiss.  He came in second place to a little boy who sprawled out on the stage floor during the crowning…what can I say???  My husband and I managed to take a few blurry photos, and  I managed to record thirty-two seconds of Caden’s walk of fame which is at the end of the montage that I’m sharing today.  You can hear how noisy it is in the background.

Have a great day, everyone!  There’s still time to enter my giveaway of a dozen of my favorite things.  Just leave me a comment letting me know that you’d like to be entered.

Published in: on March 29, 2011 at 9:27 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/weather-old-friends-and-grandchildren/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awww. Caden is a wee doll! I could eat him up!!!

    Happy Random Tuesday!!

  2. Caden is such a cutie!

    I know what you mean about the audience. Every single performance our daughters have been in, the audience has been in bad manners. It’s absolutely ridiculous.

  3. Precious!!! What a sweetie!

    I know what you mean about people these day (at the risk of sounding like my mother) what in the world are people thinking. My boss had to send out a company wide email today telling people to stop stealing other employee’s lunches!! Can you even imagine just going into the company fridge and eating someone else’s food??

    Thank you for joining the Tuesday Train!! Hope you come back again!

  4. I’m not the greatest pageant fan either, but I’m glad Caden had the experience. My nephew won the crown one year. I will have to scan those pictures one day and send them to you. And, since he’s 36 now, every time he walks past those pictures he just rolls his eyes. 😛

    Thanks for taking the time to share these pictures and video with us. Go Caden !!! 😀

    • I remember when Ashley used to be in those pageants as a little boy. He was a cutie!

  5. The video is very sweet. I have watched Toddlers & Tiaras and I can’t believe the parents. Not so sure about the little girls either! Glad you had a nice visit with your friend.


Leave a Reply

