Wednesday Hodgepodge…April 6

It’s time to join Joyce for a little “Wednesday Hodgepodge”!  I’ll be linking my blog early, but will have to wait until later in the evening to visit each of you.  My daughter and I have plans for the day!  I wish they were fun plans, but unfortunately, they involve a doctor’s appointment–for her this time, instead of me!  I’m going along for moral support, but I hope she won’t need any.   

Here are this week’s questions:

1. National Read a Road Map Day falls on April 5th. Would people say you have a good sense of direction? Do you rely on a GPS when you drive somewhere new? When was the last time you used a map?   NO!  I have a terrible sense of direction!  I can’t find my way out of a paper bag–just ask my daughter.  I can get lost on the way to the bathroom!!!   We don’t have a GPS in our car, so if we travel, we rely on directions that we print off of the internet.  If all else fails, we stop and ask someone!  Sometimes, we use the maps on google, does that count?   

2. What’s your favorite cookbook?  I love local church cookbooks!  I have a collection of cookbooks from most of the churches in my area.  Of course, my favorite cookbook comes from what used to be “our church” (before the Facebook preacher came, and we left).  The cookbook is entitled “Our Favorite Recipes”, and many of the cooks featured in this cookbook have now passed away.  I treasure their recipes, and still remember eating their delicious cooking at many church dinners. 

3. What painting would you like to “walk into” and experience? Why?  I’m not much of an “art” person, but I  love Thomas Kinkade.  His paintings look like a place I’d like to experience–warm, inviting, “homey”…

4. What annoys you more- misspellings or mispronunciations?  Both annoy me very much…but there’s really no excuse for misspellings these days, with spellchecker!

5. What is something your mother or father considered important?  Finishing high school.  I was the first person in our family to receive a diploma.

6. Do you like or dislike schedules?  For the most part, I like schedules–as long as they aren’t too rigid.  I think it’s important to have a general idea of when to do what, but not down to the exact minute.  I spent over 27 years of my life in a school environment(12 as a student, 15 as an employee) living from bell-to-bell.  That’s a bit too rigid for my taste! 

7. Let’s have some fun with National Poetry Month (that would be April)…write your own ending to this poem

“Roses are Red ~  Violets are blue ~ Two years ago today ~ this blog was brand new!

Random thought: Exactly 2 years ago today I started this blog! 

Who knew I’d still have some stories to tell, even after two years? 

Thanks so much to everyone who takes the time to visit me here, and if you leave a comment, I consider it as “ice cream” go along with my “cake”!   

I’d still write, even without readers, but having some readers makes blogging so much more fun!!! 

I’ll announce the lucky winner of my giveaway in the morning!  If you haven’t entered yet, it’s not too late, as long as you do it by midnight, EST.  Good luck to everyone 🙂

Published in: on April 6, 2011 at 7:21 am  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/wednesday-hodgepodge-april-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Blog Birthday! I think the ‘poems’ are fun to read today…each one, a little different. Hope all goes well for your daughter this morning.

  2. Congratulations on your bloggaversary (sp?). I’m so glad that I’ve found your blog!

    Facebook preacher. The story that’s behind that just sounds sad. 😦

    Have a wonderful Wednesday, friend!

  3. I love Thomas Kinkade’s paintings, also; just so peaceful feeling. Yeah for being the first person in your family to finish high school!!!! Hope all is well with your daughter.

  4. Happy Blogiversary!

    I’m really enjoying your blog.

    Blessings

  5. WOW 2 years of blogging! That is great Congratulations. Spellcheck doesn’t check words that are spelled correctly but are still the wrong word Two Tow or from and form and so on. that’s my issue. Glad I stopped by today.

  6. Happy blog birthday! Thomas Kinkade is one of my favorites, too.

  7. Happy Blogiversary!! Isn’t it neat to look back through the posts you’ve written and recall things from the past? I’ve especially loved writing mine because I’ve become more reflective…something I didn’t know I would need to be when I started my teaching certification classes where reflective journals are a must this term!

  8. Congrats on your blogs birthday!

  9. Totally agree with #2. I got some of mine from freecycle or yard sales also. I may not have ever visited the churches but church cookbooks are the best.

  10. Those church cookbooks are always awesome. Glad you finished HS. I love Thomas Kinkade’s paintings too.
    Happy Blogiversary. My two year is on Saturday!

  11. Congratulations on 2 years of blogging….let’s see, did I enter, can’t remember…anyway, my computer says its 11:10 pm so I’m on time if I din’t enter already.

    I enjoyed reading your answers.
    Mama Bear

  12. Happy Blog Birthday to you !!! 😛 I can’t believe I’ve been enjoying your stories for 2 years now. It seems like just yesterday I started reading them. 😀 Keep the great stories coming. 🙂


Leave a Reply

