Wednesday Hodgepodge…April 13

 It’s time to join my blog friend, Joyce, for a little mid-week “Hodgepodge”.  Apparently, her button has taken a little vacation this week!  No problem, just click her name, and it will take you where you need to go, if you’d like to join in and play along!  Here are this week’s questions:

1. Would you rather talk to everyone at a crowded party for a short time or have a significant conversation with two people?  Since I’m painfully shy, I’d rather talk with just two people for a significant time.  I’d actually rather just skip the party…  

2. What objects do you remember from your parent’s living room?   When I was growing up, my parents had a sectional couch.  That couch never stayed together, but kept sliding apart.  I remember how aggravating that couch always was.  They also had a clock that I loved very much.  They had it for as long as I can remember.

 It had a ballerina on one side of it, that twirled around while music played.  There was also a painting of three ladies that I liked a lot.  When my parents passed away, I inherited the clock and the painting.  The sectional couch was long gone by then!  By the way, my parents never lived in a house with an actual “formal” living room. 

3. Do you hog the bed? Steal the covers? Snore?  Yes, Yes, Yes!  It’s sad but true, I’m guilty of all of these things.  Aren’t we all, at one time or another?  

4. Speaking of Easter dinner….what is your favorite way to cook/eat lamb? Or does just the thought of that make you squeamish? If you’re not cooking lamb what will be your entree du jour on Easter Sunday?  The thought of cooking or eating lamb makes me squeamish, but I don’t know why.  Probably, because I’ve never had it.  I’ll be baking a ham for Easter Sunday.  I can imagine the look on my family’s faces if I told them I was serving lamb!!!  I’d probably be eating alone.

5. Let’s throw some politics into this week’s mix-oooohhh…Do you know the whereabouts of your birth certificate and when was the last time you had to produce it to prove you’re you?   Yes, I do know where my birth certificate is!  I’ve had it in our fire-proof safe for years.  It’s been so long since I needed it for anything, I can’t remember when that was!  

6. As a child, how did people describe you?  Quiet and shy.

7. What do you complain about the most?  Politicians (I’m disgusted with the entire bunch in Washington), the economy (been to the pump or grocery store lately, or tried to find a job?) , and healthcare.

Random thought:  I feel really bad for young couples trying to start their lives these days.  Good jobs are scarce, and everything is SO expensive!  I worry about our children having to raise our grandchildren in such an unGodly world.  I also wonder what will become of my husband and me when we (soon) reach retirement age.  We’ve paid social security taxes all of our lives, and now there is no money!!??

Oh my, this is way too much gloom and doom…Let me end this post with a happy song and video  🙂

Published in: on April 13, 2011 at 8:24 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/04/13/wednesday-hodgepodge-april-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My oldest just landed a new job and we’re all very excited. Plus it means she will be relocating and will only be about 5 hours from me as opposed to the 12 she is currently. She knows she’s lucky to have gotten this position.

    I asked my hubs how he’d answer #2 if he were me and he said, “yes”-ha! That is so not true!

  2. I’m with you on the random thought….we will still have a house payment and will have to pay for insurance for me if Honey Bear retires before 2014…we’ll have some income but not enough.

  3. Great answers, we are so much alike. My husband teases and tells me I could try and be just a little out-going.
    #7 makes me mad when I even think about them thinking of asking our military working without pay. Don’t get me started, the people that can’t find decent paying jobs. I don’t know how the govt thinks people are suppose to survive.

  4. I’m shy too. Were having ham too. Guess I agree with list today

  5. I too had a painting of ladies in my livingroom when I was growing up. My sister and I have been looking for a copy for the past 4-5 years. My mother gave it to the lady across the street when Mom got new furniture and a new picture. I was 14 then and that is the last we saw of it. Recently we asked the neighbors and they don’t remember it. I’m so glad to hear you’ve got yours.

  6. That clock would be a treasure if my parents had owned it. Hang on to it!

  7. Yeah, the world is in sad shape right now, but God will provide. Love the song, by the way! It never fails to bring a smile to my face. 🙂

  8. Your number 7 and random thought are right on. I’m amazed with how many have answered #7 as being really shy. Now I know why we all get along so well out here in bloggy land.

  9. I did not need that song in my head, so sorry I chose not to click. 🙂

    I don’t like parties much either, I end up quiet and usually become my husband’s shadow so I don’t just stand or sit there by myself.

  10. Oh my word, I am just SO, SO with you on #1!! 😉

  11. We worry about our retirement too. That is a great song. I haven’t seen it in a long time. Hope you have a nice weekend.


Leave a Reply

