Meet Me On Monday…And Another Funny Drive-Thru Story

Wow, it’s Monday again, which means I’m joining Java’s “Meet Me On Monday” meme.  Here are today’s questions:

1. Caesar Salad or Garden Salad?  I tried Caesar Salad once, and I didn’t care for it much.  I guess that means I’m a Garden Salad girl!
2. Will you be watching the Royal Wedding on April 29th?  I don’t know… probably not.  I’m not very interested in the Royal Family these days.  If I do watch, I’ll record it, then fast-forward through the boring parts.
3. Last thing you spent lots of money on?  Our leather living room furniture.
4. Window seat or aisle seat?  I prefer to sit beside the window, so I can see outside.  I’ve never ridden on a train or a plane–only a school bus, lots of times, and I always got stuck on the aisle.  Speaking of riding on a bus…have you ever ridden on a school bus, on a field trip, with about forty-five noisy, smelly kids???  You’d remember it if you did!  I did ride a greyhound bus once–to Florida.  It only took us ten hours to make a seven hour trip!
5. Do you know your blood type?  Yes, I do.  It’s A positive.

A large portion of our Saturday was spent relaxing on our daughter’s front porch, visiting with all three of our grown children.  What a fun time we had just talking about “the good old days”!  Our children are funny, and quite entertaining whenever they all get together!  I’m a firm believer that families should spend more time together on the porch!  

It’s always like going home again whenever we all meet up at our daughter’s house, because her house was our former home.  It’s the place where my husband and I raised our family.  It was our home for over thirty years.  Isn’t it neat that our daughter is raising her daughter in the same house that she was raised in??? 

Has anyone seen the new show on TLC called “Extreme Couponing”?  I sure hope I never get behind one of those extreme shoppers in the check out line!  Speaking of couponing–with the economy like it is, I suspect we will be seeing a lot more coupon shoppers.  I’ve started printing and clipping coupons again, after many years of not using them.  I saved about twenty-five dollars this weekend by using coupons.  My savings were meager compared to the shoppers on “Extreme Couponing”, but I have twenty-five more dollars left in my wallet thanks to those coupons!

On Saturday evening, I decided it was probably time to make the Easter goodie bags for the grandchildren, and to stuff the plastic eggs for next weekend’s egg hunt.  About the time I got all of the goodies spread out, I looked up and our granddaughter, Madison was walking through the door!  I had my husband quickly “shoo” her out of the door before she saw her goodies.  Then about thirty minutes later my husband said, “I see car lights!”  I had to quickly scramble to get everything hidden and put away before the other grandchild, Caden, walked in the door.  I never did get all of my eggs filled…I think I’ll lock the door and close the blinds before I make a second attempt!

We managed to finish painting our front porch over the weekend, and it looks so much better.  Now if only the porch would stay clean and pretty.  It’s a nice thought, but with two dogs and a dozen cats, “it ain’t going to happen…”  I still have to find time to put a new coat of paint on the rocking chairs.  On Sunday, we actually managed to spend some time sitting on our porch, too!

I have another funny story to share with you concerning the “drive thru”.  This one is almost as good as the last one at Dairy Queen–when the girl tried to give us a shrimp basket instead of a hot fudge sundae and a milkshake.

This time my husband and I stopped at MacDonald’s for a couple of those one-dollar hot fudge sundaes.  Hubby pulls up to the drive-thru and says “I’d like two hot fudge sundaes”.

The girl on the speaker says “You want two fruity yogurt parfaits?” (What???  I’m dying in the passenger seat again)

Hubby says, “No, I want two hot fudge sundaes.”

Girl on speaker says, “Sir, we don’t have hot fudge yogurt parfaits.” 

Hubby says, “I don’t want parfaits, I want sundaes.”

Girl on speaker, “We don’t have hot fudge, we only have chocolate and strawberry…”

Hubby, “Well give us two chocolates.”

We drive around to the window, and while I am dying…What does the girl at the window hand us???  Two hot fudge sundaes–just like we wanted in the first place!

I think I’m going to have to forbid my husband from ordering anymore at the drive-thru…My heart simply can’t stand it!

Published in: on April 17, 2011 at 10:58 pm  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/meet-me-on-monday-and-another-funny-drive-thru-story/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve never tried Caesar salad before. Maybe I should give it a try just once.
    Have a great week!

  2. I agree…families need more porch sitting : ) My girls will be home this weekend for Easter and we plan to do some figurative ‘porch sitting’…They’re ripping off my deck today and we’re putting in a patio so we may be lounge chairs on the grass but that works too!

    Sadly, I don’t think the problem at the drive thru is your husband.

  3. Too funny about the DQ drive-thru!

    I hope you get those Easter goody bags filled before Sunday! 😉

    • I mean McDonald’s drive thru. 😮

  4. I can’t hardly write my comment from laughing so hard at your drive-thru story! That is hilarious! All of our girls will be home this weekend and we are so excited! We won’t spend much time on the porch or the deck due to the expected heat, but the kitchen table will be buzzing all weekend!

  5. I love a good Caesar salad…now I want one! LOL

    The drive-thru story was too funny. 😛

  6. I had to laff at your drive thru story…….sometimes I wonder where they get those people, altho I interviewed for McDonald’s when I was looking for part time work. I can relate to the Easter egg dilema….I, too, will have to fill Easter Eggs for this saturday’s hunt. stopping by from MEME

  7. Goodness. Your porch sitting description had me missing my kids and grandkids so much. you are blessed that everyone lives close . . . except in Easter-egg filling time, I guess!

    The drive-thru was a hoot. I used to have that similar problems with computerized phone answering systems that are voice activated. Evidently they were not programmed to interpret Southern USA language! I usually just gave up. That hasn’t happened lately. Maybe because such interactions are usually online now instead of phone! Fun post!

  8. Gotta luv the drive thru! LOL stop in & read The Monday 5

  9. I raised my girls where my mom was raised – it is indeed a special feeling.

    My girls used to ALWAYS walk in when I was trying to put together the Christmas stockings or the Easter baskets – like clockwork!! I thought they might have my bedroom bugged!

  10. That’s a funny drive-thru story. Can’t believe you almost got caught with the Easter goodies. I have a friend IRL who has a wonderful blog on couponing and she does that kind of shopping. She will tell the cashier to turn off her light because it will be a long time before she is done. I use coupons and love to save but in a smaller way like you did. Caeser for me, yes on the Royal wedding and we love our leather furniture! I have to have an isle or I feel like I have to pee every 10 minutes. Have a great week.

  11. I have been behind a husband and wife who are extreme coupon users. I never use them. My time is worth more than what I would save. I do use my Kroger card. I want to get leather furniture. We are getting a new roof in three weeks so maybe in a few months we can get new furniture. I couldn’t get your button to work. I plan to try a picture and your ULR. Doylene

  12. Visiting from Meet me on Monday… A little late though… I love reading what everyone recently spent a lot of money on. I love both types of salads, and could help putting a snarky answer for my blood type. I host a weekly Friday blog hop… Please stop by sometime 🙂


Leave a Reply

