2011 Easter Weekend Wrap Up…

hiding those eggs...

It was a busy, fun-filled weekend… The house is strangely quiet, after all of yesterday’s activities.  If the noise level was a sign that everyone had fun, then we had fun!  It’s time to pack away the plastic eggs for another year, then spend the rest of the week eating Easter left-overs!  Easter, 2011 is now just a memory…

Our Easter weekend began on Saturday morning–in the kitchen, of course!  I began by baking a pound cake, followed later by two pies.  I rarely make pies, but for some reason this year, I was in a pie baking mood!  I couldn’t help but think about my mama as I prepared the coconut and lemon meringue pies–because pies were her specialty!  My pies turned out pretty good–the cake, not so great.  I used a new bundt pan, so I’ll blame it on the pan! 

When all was said and done, and everybody brought their food on Easter Sunday, we ended up with four pies, one cake, and a basket of Easter cookies.  Apparently, I wasn’t the only one in a pie baking mood!  I did get a complaint from our oldest son, though, because there wasn’t a pecan pie!

The Easter fun continued on Saturday afternoon, when “the girls”,  gathered around the kitchen table to color Easter eggs.  The grandchildren, Madison and Caden, joined us for a very short time, but soon decided they would rather run off and play!  Eventually, the grandchildren went outside with the men folks, while we finished the eggs–but not before making a mess…

 

The grandchildren returned just in time to put a few stickers on the finished eggs–and to admire the decorated eggs!  Dying eggs is so messy, but so much fun, too.  I just wish I was more creative!   There’s a talent to creating beautiful Easter eggs…I did’t get that talent!  Thank goodness for stickers and egg wraps to hide mistakes.

Following the clean-up of our egg coloring project, the family gathered for a delicious supper of barbecue sandwiches, baked beans, and potato salad–with Easter cookies for dessert! 

Our daughter, developed a new hobby this Easter season–making and decorating Easter cookies!  We enjoyed the results of her hobby very much, and hope that she will continue with it for future family get-togethers!  Including the cookies for Madison’s school party, she probably baked and decorated close to one hundred cookies!

Easter Sunday morning began early for some of our family.  Our youngest son, Brad, went to church around 5:30 am to help set up for the sunrise service.  Brad’s been attending Jennifer’s church for about a year now, and I was so happy to see him taking part in the service, even though Jennifer had to work!  The rest of our family went to regular Easter services, while Ed and I stayed behind to cook Easter dinner and hide one hundred and seventy-two plastic eggs! 

Finally, the Easter meal was cooked, all eggs were hidden, and everyone arrived to eat around 12:30.  It only took three attempts to get a decent  ” Annual Easter Family Photo”, then after that, we ate.  We were all starving!  After we finished eating, the grandchildren opened their Easter gifts, and then it was time to hunt eggs! 

You may remember from a previous post, that our grown children enjoy hunting for eggs, as much as the grandchildren do.  We stuff plastic eggs with candy and money, then give everybody a small bag to hunt eggs in. I don’t know if it’s because of the candy or the money, but the adults search for eggs long after the children stop…Notice in the photo below, the children aren’t hunting anymore, but the adults are! 

It took FOREVER to find the last prize egg!  My husband hid two prize eggs, a gold one and a silver one, with candy and a five dollar bill inside of each egg.  Daughter-in-law, Christina, found the first prize egg, almost immediately.  That girl is one serious “egg hunter”!  She always finds the most eggs–forty this year!  Our son-in-law, Clint, finally found the other prize egg–hidden inside of my kitchen mop– hanging near the outside of the backdoor!  Sometimes persistence pays off!  By the way–there are still two eggs, with one dollar bills inside of them,  hidden somewhere in our yard!  My husband is a GOOD egg hider!

Lots of food, family, and fun…  It just doesn’t get any better than that!  We were thankful that Ed’s mom was feeling well enough to join us for Easter, too.  She even managed to find an Easter egg before having to sit down!  Speaking of sitting down… today I think I’m going to just rest. 

Have a great Monday, everyone!

P. S.  The “highlight” of my Easter weekend activities included making this hilarious video of some of our family members.  In case you missed it on Saturday, here it is again!

Published in: on April 25, 2011 at 11:12 am  Comments (6)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/2011-easter-weekend-wrap-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow – sounds like you had a fun (and exhausting) weekend. I’m tired from just reading about it. LOL I’m glad all of you got to gether and had such a fun weekend. I wish Jennifer could’ve been there with you. 🙂

    I hope you and Mr. Ed have a quiet and relaxing week. 😛

    PS) The video is too cute.

    • I can’t stop watching the video and laughing. What a great way to start the week !!! 😛

  2. Thanks so much for sharing those photos of your wonderful Easter. How funny that there are still 2 eggs unfound. 😉

    That video is a stitch! Too funny!

    Hope you had a marvelous Monday!

  3. Sounds like so much fun! I remember the egg hunts when I was a kid… which included real eggs. A few times one got lost, only to be found later by my grandpa when he was doing yard work. One time he stepped on one and complained about the smell he had to deal with to everyone who would listen. Still, I think he thought it was kinda funny.

    PS, I posted pics from our trip to Carmel 🙂

  4. What a fantastic weekend you had. I think I need some grandchildren to get me into the spirit again. I use to bake a decorate cookies too, they were so pretty. How wonderful to spend so much time with you family.
    The egg hunt sounds like fun. Your pies sound delicious. Enjoy the quiet.

  5. No wonder you’re tired…If I danced like that, I’d have to sit down too.
    I think there might be two eggs still hid in my backyard but they aren’t prize eggs because the children found all of those.
    Mama Bear


Leave a Reply

