Wednesday Hodgepodge…May 4

Welcome to Joyce’s first May edition of Wednesday Hodgepodge! She ALWAYS creates a wonderful “hodgepodge” of questions for us to answer, and compare answers with each other!   Thanks, Joyce!

Here are the questions for this week:

1. Have you ever been served breakfast in bed? Do you enjoy that? If someone were serving you breakfast in bed this coming weekend what would you hope to see on the tray?  The only time I’ve ever been served breakfast in bed was when I was a patient in the hospital, but somehow I don’t think that’s quite what Joyce had in mind…However, my hubby makes breakfast for us every weekend–whatever I want!  My favorite breakfast is scrambled eggs, bacon, and toast, but I don’t care a thing about having it served to me in bed.

2. What is one piece of advice you would give a new mother? Enjoy your little one, they grow up way too fast.

3. When was the last time you wanted to scream? Yesterday!  I rode with my husband to take his 88-year-old mother to the audiologist.  About two months ago, she began having major difficulty hearing, probably due to another pin stroke.  My husband has a bit of a hearing problem as well, but refuses to admit it.  Riding in the car with the two of them was pure torture!  Neither of them could hear or understand what the other one was saying, so everything had to be repeated twice (and louder)…Meanwhile, I was trapped in the backseat watching all of this take place.  I just wanted to scream!  The good news is…Ed’s mother is getting hearing aids for both ears next week!   

4. Can you hula hoop? Funny that you should ask!  I bought a hula hoop summer before last because I wanted to learn to hula hoop again.  The answer to the question is, NO!  I can’t hula hoop anymore.

5. What is something people do in traffic that really bothers you? I get annoyed whenever a driver pulls out in front of me!  I get even more annoyed when the driver then proceeds to turn off immediately after he’s pulled out in front of me!!!

6. What do you do when people don’t admit they’re wrong?  I get frustrated, then I get mad, then I get over it.

7. What is the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word ‘fun’?  Vacation!  Unfortunately, it’s something that I’m not going to be having much of this summer…sniff, sniff.

Random thought:  I’m having serious doubts and questions about this Osama bin Laden thing…I’m having trouble believing some of these stories that I’ve been hearing on the news.  I smell a rat.  A bell went off, in my head, whenever I heard that his body had been buried at sea so quickly…and that was just the first bell, of many.

Published in: on May 4, 2011 at 8:47 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/wednesday-hodgepodge-may-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. All good answers…too bad hubby didn’t get a hearing aide while his mother was getting hers…I understand about his denying he has a problem. Honey Bear admits he doesn’t hear well in one ear and always has me sit on that side or walk on that side of him…he also says I talk too softly…my Dad was the same and he always said, Huh? whenever one said something. Very annoying…
    I agree about the random thought you included…something seems fishy about that.pun intended.
    Happy Wednesday

  2. Maybe once your husband see how easy it is for his mom to deal with hearing aides, he will get one – or two as well. My hubby doesn’t hear well either but will he go to the doctor??? Of course not. MEN!

  3. Oh goodness! Both of them yelling to be heard would have made me crazy! Glad she’s getting the hearing aids! Hubs has some hearing loss too and wants the tv up way too loud. But I won’t let him because 1-he should get help with the problem and 2- loud noises make me so nervous that I cry. What a pair we are! LOL

    Enjoyed your answers!

  4. hubby makes breakfast for us every weekend: what, are you bless or what?!!!

    grow up way too fast: yes

    Neither could hear or understand the other one: girl, i’d be recording that and letting him listen to it later…hoping he would go get an analysis.
    You are a patient woman.

    hearing aids: yeah!!

    Turn off after having pulled out in front of me: so rude!!!

    first bell: me too…there are many rats in Wash.DC these days

  5. I laughed when I read your story about your husband and his mother in the car. My Gran is almost totally deaf now, having been losing her hearing for the past 20 years or so, but she tried to con us into thinking it wasn’t as bad as it was. Her stock answer to any question she couldn’t hear properly was “Tuesday!” which we thought was hilarious, especially if we’d asked her did she want a cup of tea or something else!

    And I too smell a rat about the whole Osama situation. It’s all a bit too “convenient”…..time will tell no doubt.

  6. I finally convinced my husband this year that he really did have a hearing problem and he finally went to the doctor. He still can’t hear but at least he knows he can’t now:)

  7. Like seeing your answers to the questions.
    I feel like you do about the news I’ve heard. Why???
    Why did they have to do that so soon. My husband and son in law gave some good explainations but I just don’t know.

  8. I have to say your description of the scene in the car kinda cracked me up. But I know if I had been there it probably would’ve driven me crazy too. Enjoyed your answers. Take care.

  9. A wedding will make for some summer fun : ) i laughed at the conversation in the car… I could totally picture that! Have a happy Mothers day!

  10. Yeah, not sure about the burial thing either, but whatever.

    I cannot hula hoop and I also cannot wait for vacation!

  11. Your Nr. 5 sounds like my answer! 🙂
    I had to laugh at Nr. 3. Too funny, watching two people talk to each other who can´t hear. haha


Leave a Reply

