The Monday After…

Another weekend, gone already!  How can this be?  Somebody slow this ride called ” life” down a bit–it’s going way to fast!  It never ceases to amaze me how quickly time passes at this stage of life.  When I was a child, time seemed to drag by…the school year took forever to end.  These days, I blink and it’s over!

Speaking of school year, it’s that time of the year, when things are drawing to a close.  I’m the grandparent of two precious little ones, one of whom attended dance classes and nursery school for the first time this year.  I can’t believe granddaughter, Madison’s, first year of “school” is almost over! 

 Dance classes ended for Madison last week, and her recital was held on Saturday evening.  This week winds up nursery school, and she’ll be having a closing program on Thursday evening.  It’s so much fun going to these functions as a grandparent.  I get to experience all of the fun– without the stress of being the parent in charge!  Getting older has it’s advantages.

Madison's recital (she's far left)

Mother’s Day was nice.  I originally planned to spend the day at the beach, but ended up changing my mind, when my husband decided to build a small back porch onto the house for me.  For the past three years we’ve only had a narrow set of five steps leading straight in and out of the back door.  I’ve always felt like I’m going to fall down them, so I asked hubby to build a small porch in between the house and the steps.  He began the project on Saturday. ( It wasn’t the greatest choice of weekends, but his first choice had been Easter weekend!  I flatly told him “NO!” on that weekend. )  Once the steps were torn away from the house on Saturday, I wasn’t about to head to the beach on Sunday, so we postponed the trip until another weekend. 

My Mother’s Day was spend lounging around the house.  We had grilled hotdogs for lunch, and throughout the day, each one of my children stopped by.  It was a low-key day, with hubby working on the porch most of the day.  He didn’t get it finished–still no steps–but at least the porch is almost done, so I won’t fall out of the door.  Yes, I know, he worked on it on a Sunday, but sometimes it can’t be helped.

This turned out to be the Mother’s Day of flowers.  Ed gave me roses, Brandy picked and arranged a bouquet for me from her own yard, and Brad brought me a single red rose, too.  I’ve never gotten so many flowers at one time before, but I love flowers!  I also got some money, some sweet cards, and a water bottle filled with candy–and of course, the porch!  I am blessed…and I still have that beach trip to look forward to!

Have a great Monday, everyone!

Published in: on May 9, 2011 at 11:32 am  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/05/09/the-monday-after/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like a great Mother’s Day for a great lady. 😀

  2. Sounds like a wonderful weekend and Mother’s Day. Glad your getting your porch. Hopefully the beach will happen soon.

  3. Sounds like a wonderful weekend and a marvelous Mother’s Day. I love getting flowers, too!

    Hopefully you won’t have to wait too long for the trip to the beach. 😉

  4. What a great day you had. The porch is a major thing. Like my mother always told me, ” Hint about it long enough and they will think it’s their idea.” Lovely flowers. I think your day was a winner.

  5. Sounds like you got the best of both worlds. How did you get so lucky? 🙂


Leave a Reply

