Wednesday Hodgepodge…May 11

Joyce has graciously provided us with another set of Hodgepodge questions, despite her busy weekend. Thanks, Joyce. I’m not sure I could have done that after such a busy Mother’s Day weekend, but without further delay, let’s get to her questions, shall we?

1. How many times in your life have you moved house?  I’m happy to say–in nearly thirty-nine years of marriage, we’ve only moved twice!  That was two times too many, in our opinion.

2. What subject would you study if you had a year to devote to it?  Computer science.  There’s so much stuff that I don’t know about computers, but I would love to learn! 

3. What in this world breaks your heart?  The sad state of our public school system! It’s been declining for years.  Oh how I wish school was still like it used to be when I was a child! We actually learned how to spell and write in cursive.  We could name all fifty states and their capitals, too.   We could pray, we could say the pledge, and we could call a Christmas Party–a Christmas Party(not a Winter Party)!  We loved and respected our teacher, and wanted to be just like her.  If, by some chance, “Little Johnny” misbehaved in class, the teacher took him outside and paddled his behind–and the day resumed without any further problems from “Little Johnny”–or his parents!  Those were the days…   

4. What is one item that symbolizes the times in which we live? Why?

A picture is worth a  thousand words…High gas prices, high food prices, no wage increases, no jobs, and not enough money to go around…Do I need to say more???

5. Share a favorite bumper sticker or t-shirt slogan.  My daughter has a t-shirt that says “I’m not a nag, I’m a motivational speaker.”   I like that shirt!

6. How do you like your spaghetti?  I prefer spaghetti with meatballs or baked spaghetti, served with a hot loaf of Italian bread (and butter, of course).

7. What is one piece of advice you would give a recent, or soon to be recent, graduate?  Be prepared to start at the bottom and work your way to the top.  These days, many young people expect everything right now, including the best jobs, fast cars, and fancy houses.  As a result, many end up in financial trouble, or being disappointed when things don’t go the way they expect them to.

Random-Brad called my husband yesterday afternoon to say that Jennifer’s doctor’s appointment went well.  Her doctor told them that “abnormal cells” are normal and common following the kind of surgery that Jennifer had.  He says “everything looks good”, and he will check her again in three months.  I don’t totally understand, but I’m trusting that her doctor does…and I’m thankful for answered prayers.

Published in: on May 11, 2011 at 7:44 am  Comments (14)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/wednesday-hodgepodge-may-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so glad Jennifer got a good report. Now she can hopefully enjoy these weeks leading up to the wedding. #7 is so true!

  2. Love that t-shirt! I might have to get one of those–just so Hubs will understand. LOL

    I like what you said about public schools—especially the part about little Johnny’s parents–oh goodness but there are parents who need to be paddled.

  3. Thank God for answered prayers.
    Love your answer about public schools. So so true and said so well.

  4. I love your answer to #5! That’s a hoot! I wouldn’t mind a shirt like that myself, ha! And of course, I’ve got to agree with you on #3 and #7. Praise God that Jennifer got a good report! Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  5. You only moved twice! WOW that is great! I would our schools to be like they were when I was young too. Now, I want my grand kids to be home schooled! You should see the mess in my state! I’m glad Jennifer got a good report.

  6. Love the T-shirt slogan and so glad for the good medical report. God is Good! I said baked spaghetti too. My mother-in-law makes the best!

  7. I am so happy for Jennifer’s Dr.’s report. I will keep the faith that it stay that way. Love the t-shirt and I agree with you about our schools. My middle daughter got her teaching certificate and decided taht was not for her. More politics and policing than teaching. I also agree wtih your #7. You must be a worker bee before you can be the Queen.

  8. Praise God!!!! I’m so thankful that the doctor’s report turned out well!!!

    With you on #4 – how in the world are we going to get out of the mess we’re in??

  9. I love your answers to number 3. So, so true. Those were the good old days. It was fun to read your answers. Have a great day.

  10. I’m so glad that Jennifer’s doctor visit went well. Praise the Lord. 🙂

    I like Brandy’s shirt. Even though I’m not married, my nephew has moved in with me for a little while and I’d much rather be referred to as a “motivational speaker” than a “nag”. 😛

    And, I’m with you, Miss Kathy. I’d love to take the time to study and learn all there is to know about computers, or at least how to understand them better. Maybe we could pursuade Brett to teach us. One night a week at my house…I’ll provide the snacks. 😀

    • By the way…the advice to the graduates hit the nail on the head. I’ve got two very important people graduating this year, and I can only pray that they keep these things in mind. 😐

  11. Oh my word…I loved ALL of your answers!! Let’s see…only moved twice? Lucky you! Education system…right there with you. I teach every high school grade, and I am mortified at what my students DON’T know!! It’s very overwhelming.

  12. LOVE your advice to a graduate. That is the same here. They also seem to want to start off their married lives with a home and everything in it, without working for it… Too bad some parents give them whatever they wish for.
    Yes schools were much different when we were going. I agree. Especially the spelling part and geography. The other day I brought a letter to the post office that was supposed to be mailed to China (where my sister lives) and the person taking it (a 22 year old girl) asked me if China was in Asia? (!!!!) I was speechless!!

  13. I just read someone who moved 30 times. I think 2 is the lowest I have seen. Like the slogan! Got to have bread with spaghetti. So glad to hear the good news on Jennifer.


Leave a Reply

