Flashback Friday…Prom Memories

 Linda’s not hosting “Flashback Fridays” at the moment, but I’m a creature of habit, so I’ve decided to do a “Flashback” post anyway. 

In honor of juniors and seniors everywhere, who have been experiencing “Prom Time” over the past few weeks, I’m going to take a moment and post my “Prom flashback”!  Promise not to laugh at the photo!

I think I can hear some of you laughing!  When I look at the photo above, one thing comes to mind…”Big Hair”!  I didn’t especially like that hair style.  I would’ve preferred to have my hair piled high on top of my head in curls, but there was a slight problem–I was about six inches taller than my prom date!  Needless to say, I think the stylist got more than a little carried away with the teasing comb and the hairspray!

I was fourteen years old, and it was the spring of 1969.  My date was named, Guy, and we’d been dating each other for most of the winter (too young, I know).  It was Guy’s Junior Prom, so he invited me to go with him. Guy was always a little too short for me, but oh, he was so cute!  I still have bad posture from dating him.  I developed a permanent slouch, in an attempt to look shorter!

Guy went to school in a neighboring town, so we had to drive about fifteen miles to get to his school.  Proms were still held at the school in those days.  I don’t remember what the theme of the prom was, but judging from the looks of the photo, I’d say something like a fiesta???  I see sand, a cactus, and a couple of hats hanging on the wall…What’s up with the hay on the floor???

In my opinion, Prom is overrated.  It was a lot of trouble and not very much fun.  I had to have TWO dresses for this particular prom.  I had to wear a semi-formal dress for the sit-down dinner, then I had to change into a formal dress for the dance that followed the dinner!  Can you believe that?   I still remember going to a gas station restroom, and changing my dress, because I didn’t have any place else to change!

The next problem was the fact that I didn’t know anyone at this Prom, other than my date, and I was painfully shy.  I remember sitting quietly through that horrible sit-down dinner, changing into my formal dress in a nasty gas station restroom, then going to the dance–with a boy who didn’t like to dance!  So we sat, then we sat some more!

Guy’s Uncle Harold, who was just a few years older than us, was also at the dance  Now that I think about it, I really don’t know why he was there.  He must have been somebody’s date–or not!  Maybe he was a chaperone, who knows!  Anyway, after a while, Guy’s Uncle Harold asked me to dance with him–and so I did!

That one dance with “Uncle Harold” turned out to be the highlight of the entire evening!  It was a fast dance, and we had so much fun out on the dance floor, but Guy got jealous–and then he got mad!  He pitched a fit, and we ended up leaving the dance.  We spent the rest of the evening arguing because I danced a fast dance with “Uncle Harold”!

Guy and I didn’t see each other very much after Prom.  It was the beginning of the end for us.  I met my hubby-to-be about four months later, during the summer of 1969.  Do you know what?  He didn’t especially like to dance either, but he danced with me anyway.  I guess you could say he danced his way right into my heart!

As for my prom date, Guy, he’s a confirmed bachelor…he’s never been married after all these years!  Occasionally, I’ve seen him around town, and we’ve talked a bit.  He’s aged well, but he hasn’t gotten any taller! (I, on the other hand, grew a bit more)   

I never went to another prom.  Our schools were integrated in 1970, and proms were suspended for a few years, due to fears of racial tension here in the south.  By the time proms were held again, I’d already graduated from high school.  I really didn’t mind though.  I don’t think I missed a thing!

Published in: on May 13, 2011 at 8:15 am  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/flashback-friday-prom-memories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I loved my prom! My senior prom is when I got my engagement ring and I’m still wearing it with the wedding ring that was added just a few short weeks later! It was a great time and now I have to go find the photos and post something about our prom. Thanks for the blog idea!!! 🙂

  2. I went to senior prom with my then-boyfriend (who later became my first husband). I was painfully shy and didn’t know anyone … not fun. And there was some kind of brouhaha that caused the adults to end the prom before it was supposed to end … so I didn’t get to do any dancing. 😦 I don’t have very fond memories of my one prom … so I guess you could say that I’m not a fan of the prom either. 😉 Have a wonderful weekend.

  3. I totally agree with you; Prom is overrated!

  4. Oh, not a fun time for you at all…but you look really good.
    Last Saturday, Daughter and the Princess went to see the movie: Prom…afterward Daughter said she shared some photos she had of her proms and mine…We didn’t actually have Proms at my school then but banquets instead but I have only happy memories of the ones I attended at my school and others.
    Maybe I’ll share a photo sometime…when we were dividing up the pictures at my parents house, my Daughter remarked about the number of photos of me with guys who weren’t her father. She said she couldn’t understand how I had time to have that many boyfriends since I got married so young.
    Mama Bear


Leave a Reply

