Wednesday Hodgepodge…May 18

It’s time for my weekly dose of “hodgepodge”.  By now, you probably know the drill.  Just click on Joyce’s cute button above, if you would like to play along, or to see the list of other participants.  Thanks, once again, to Joyce, for providing seven great, thought-provoking questions, and for hosting! 

1. What reveals more about a woman-her refrigerator or her purse?  Neither my refrigerator or my purse is very exciting these days!  If I still worked outside of the home, I’d answer “my purse”, because in those days I always kept a little bit of everything with me!  I had a mini sewing kit, a toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, and a cosmetic bag that served as a mini medicine cabinet( filled with band aids, creams, anti-diarreah meds, Tylenol, urinary tract relief, mini pads,– even a spare pair of underwear!)  My motto has always been  ” be prepared”!     

2. When was the last time you went to the zoo? Where? What’s your favorite zoo animal? The last time I went to the zoo was exactly three years ago this month.  My husband and I went to the Jacksonville Zoo (in Florida),  along with  granddaughter, Madison, and her parents.  It was Madison’s first trip to the zoo.  As for a favorite animal,  I’ve always liked giraffes, zebras, and monkeys the best.

3. What social issue fires you up?  Oh my!  “Healthcare Reform” and “Social Security Reform”–for the obvious reasons! Thanks to the government’s meddling, our insurance now costs an arm and a leg, and isn’t worth a plug nickel!  Now, after my husband and I have worked and paid in social security to the government for over forty years, the government is saying there isn’t going to be any money for us!  I’m fired up just writing about it!

4. Are you a coupon clipper? If so, are you extreme?  Yes, I am a coupon clipper, but I’m not extreme.  I use on-line coupons, and in-store coupons if I have them, but I don’t dumpster dive to collect coupons–nor do I buy a shopping cart full of one item! 

5. What is one of your favorite souvenirs brought back from your travels? It’s a wooden paddle that says “The Board of Education”.  I bought it in St. Augustine, Fla. at an old historic schoolhouse.  The souvenier appealed to me because  I’m old-fashioned, and I miss the days when teachers had paddles, and actually used them! 

6. Lemon meringue or key lime?  Lemon meringue.

7. What is the most beautiful word you know in any language?  Love

Random- Lately, I’ve been making photo books at Shutterfly.com.  I use my own photos, then write stories to go along with them.    I’m currently working on a photo book filled with pictures from trips that our granddaughter has been on with her family.  I just happened to have the zoo photos handy, so I’m going to share a few of them.

This photo was taken on the way to the zoo, when we stopped at McDonalds to eat breakfast.  Madison liked this ride– until we put a quarter in it–then she wanted to get off!

This is Madison and her daddy at the zoo.  She is pointing to one of the zoo animals.  She was only about 18 months old at the time, so of course,  she loved all kinds of animals!

This is the giraffe feeding station.  We fed the giraffes leaves…and discovered that they have the longest tongues that we’ve ever seen!  It was almost scary!

We took a quick time out from looking at the animals, for a carousel ride on a zebra!  Madison seemed to like this ride.  That’s my daughter (and Madison’s mom) standing beside the zebra.

Last, but not least, a photo of one of my favorites…the zebra.  I wasn’t able to get a very good photo of the monkeys.  Looking at these photos makes me realize how quickly time is passing.  Madison is a very busy 4 1/2 year old today!  Thanks for sharing my walk down memory lane today!

Published in: on May 18, 2011 at 8:49 am  Comments (11)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/wednesday-hodgepodge-may-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. #3-Some things deserve a rant!

    I love the photo books and have made a few…I used to scrapbook more and I tell myself I’ll get back to it but I should probably just give it up and go with the photobooks. So easy and less expensive and you can get creative so it makes sense.

    Enjoy your day!

  2. I store most of my pics on shutterfly and have them printed. But I haven’t made a photo book. Need to look into that.

  3. Can you believe that I went to a small private school during the 1980’s, and the administrator still used a paddle. He even paddled girls!! I was good, thank heavens, but I remember hearing the stories of the paddling sessions…not fun at all.

  4. I need to make some photo books myself. I just keep forgetting about it! I had a principal tell me once that he missed not having paddles anymore because just the knowledge that they could get paddled kept most kids in line. All I know is that I never got paddled but every time I saw someone get it, I hated the teacher or principal more and more. They always did it out in plain sight and seemed to get pure pleasure from it. I’m just glad they never paddled me because it looked extremely painful.

  5. Answer #1 made me laugh but your photo book is beautiful and such a nice memory for her when she is older.

  6. I’ve invested in so much scrapbooking stuff – and hardly used it. Now I’m so intimidated by the number of pictures I have – I don’t know if I’ll ever get started. I’m concentrating on at least getting them all scanned in so I can give them to my girls for Christmas (shhhh…it’s a surprise)

  7. i’m w/ you on the paddles, hahahah
    great pics
    have a great rest of the week!

  8. Photo books are great, and so easy to put together. It’s just starting that’s the hard part for me! Loved your zoo pictures with sweet little Madison. Aren’t grandchildren great?

  9. Love your zoo photos! Grandkids made any excursion a fun outing … and allow us to be more childlike (note I didn’t say childish ha!).

  10. That’s how I was with my purse but not anymore, the smaller the better! I made some photo books at Christmas and it was so much fun. I know I will be making more! Hope your having a great week.

  11. Are you describing your purse or mine? I’ve got everything you mentioned, plus about a million other things. My friend, Steve, always tells me that he wouldn’t be surprised if I pulled out the kitchen sink. I believe in being prepared. 🙂


Leave a Reply

