Let’s Talk Dresses…

This is just not my style...

You probably already know we are anticipating a family wedding in about another month.  Weddings and dresses go hand-in-hand, right?  This post concerns dresses–for the upcoming wedding.

You may recall my plight of trying to find a “mother of the groom” dress way back in January.  I searched the internet, and I also traveled to the city and searched the area department stores.  I wouldn’t be caught dead in most of the dresses that I found!  Finally, with the help of my daughter, I found a dress that I would could wear and live with.  I didn’t love it, but it would do.  I simply got tired of stressing over a dress, but little did I know that stresses over dresses was only beginning!

Next came the saga of the bridesmaids dresses.  Jennifer, the bride to be, was a bit unsure of what she wanted in the beginning.  She chose one color, then quickly changed her mind.  Then she chose another color, and changed her mind again.  Finally, she chose two different solid colors for the bridesmaids, plus a printed dress fabric for the maid of honor.  Jennifer told her attendants they could pick the style of their choice, within her color choices.  Her attendants are of varying age, shapes and sizes.  While the younger, slimmer young ladies leaned toward the shorter styles, the older or pregnant attendants liked the long dresses.  They split their color choices evenly.  Are you still with me?

At the urging of the saleslady at the bridal shop, my daughter was the first attendant to order her dress.  I went to the bridal shop with her, watched her try on several long dresses, and helped her decide on the style that was most flattering to her figure.  Her dress was ordered, and arrived a few short weeks later.  In the meantime, while Brandy was waiting for her dress to arrive, the other attendants decided among themselves to limit their dress styles to just two–and my daughter’s dress wasn’t in their chosen style (or material).  Understandably, my daughter was a bit upset.  She didn’t want to be “odd man out”. 

Jennifer offered to talk with the bridal shop to see if they would do an exchange on Brandy’s dress.  The shop agreed to exchange the dress, but by then it was too late to order a dress in the style of the other dresses and have it arrive before the wedding.  However, a similar style of dress, in the same material and color, was available, and would arrive on time.  Brandy had no choice but to order the similar dress. 

One by one, the attendants been getting their dresses, but not Brandy.  On Tuesday, Jennifer was at the bridal shop, and she finally asked about Brandy’s dress.  She discovered that apparently there was an error, and the dress never got ordered!  It’s four weeks until the wedding, and my daughter, who ordered her dress first–has no dress, and it’s too late to order anything!  Can you say D-I-S-A-S-T-E-R? I’m feeling so stressed…

There is a dress, in my daughter’s size, in the correct style, but in a different color of blue, at the bridal store.  Jennifer has offered to let Brandy wear that dress in the wedding.  If she wears this dress, Brandy is still back where she started from–being “odd man out”with a different dress, but as of today–she has no dress!  How is that for a circle of bad luck?  My head is aching, just thinking about it all! 

In addition to these other dress sagas, I’ve also had a third dress issue going on concerning this wedding!  I’ve been stressing over finding a dress for my mother-in-law to wear to the wedding!  I thought finding my own dress was tough, but I had no idea of what lay ahead!  I don’t know what eighty-year-old ladies are supposed to do for clothing these days, but there are no appropriate dresses in our department stores!  None!  Nada!  Zilch! 

Out of sheer desperation, I googled “dresses for mature women” and found a site featuring two(and only two) dresses that I thought my mother-in-law would wear.   I showed them to my daughter, and we agreed on one.  I took a chance, guessed at the size (since my MIL has lost weight), placed an order, and then I waited. 

My MIL’s dress arrived on Tuesday.  It looked even better than the picture!  I went to the personal care home on Wednesday, and tried it on my MIL.  Praise the Lord, it fits except for the sleeve length– and she loves it!  My mission will be accomplished as soon as I hem the sleeves of the jacket!  Now! That just leaves the problem of her shoes…I feel my head beginning to ache again.

Published in: on May 26, 2011 at 9:13 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/05/26/lets-talk-dresses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh dear…that makes my head ache too. I hope everything works out in a way that makes both your daughter and the bride happy.

  2. This is why we had a courthouse wedding….the stress is not worth it. I personally feel that the bride should have told her attendants that they could not vote to change the style unless Everyone voted….especially after one of them (your daughter) already ordered her dress.

    I hope the dress issue is resolved soon and without to many hurt feelings.

    Hugs to you for hanging in there 🙂

  3. I agree that your daughter’s dress situation was handled poorly. Once it was decided and the dress ordered, too late ladies. The deal is done. Everyone will think she was the special one since her dress is different. I don’t know how you feel about it, but to me this situation calls for wine and lots of it.

  4. Everything will be fine. It’s been four years since my oldest daughter got married. It was so stressful we barely spoke the week before the wedding. But it all came together and was beautiful. Slow down and savor every moment. Because before you know it it will all be over. Take lots of pics.

  5. Do I feel the stress….OMG! So glad you found a dress and one for your MIL. Now your daughters dress will just have to be the special color for the special sister-in-law!

  6. Oh how I remember those days. 15 years ago our son got married and we live in NH however the wedding was going to be in CA so we had issues with mens tux’s, flowers, and rehearsal dinner all of which needed to be in CA! It all turned out fine and we were very happy and the wedding was beautiful. Hang in there, it will all come together.

  7. How sad. It would have been so much easier had the bride chosen a dress for her attendants. Praying for a solution that will work for everyone. At least you were able to find a dress (that looks great and fits well) for your MIL.

  8. Love the hat in the picture…not quite up there with the hats from the recent royal wedding…but still deliciously over the top 🙂


Leave a Reply

