Wednesday Hodgepodge…June 1

Here it is–a Wednesday that feels like a Tuesday–and it’s the first day of June! Can you believe that?  Because it’s Wednesday, it’s time to join Joyce for a little “hodgepodge”.  Thanks again, to Joyce, for such great questions.  I don’t know how she does it!  Thanks to Joyce, “hump day” is just a little more fun 🙂

Here are Joyce’s questions:

1. Have you ever been to the US capital-Washington
DC? If so, what’s your favorite site? If not, what would you most like to
see on a visit to that city someday in the future? Is it even on your list of
places to visit?  I’ve never been to Washington DC,  even though it’s within a few hours of where I live. It’s  just not a place that I’ve ever been interested in visiting–I know…shame on me!  If I ever should decide to visit, I think I’d like to visit The Smithsonian.  I don’t care a thing about seeing The White House.
2. When did you last attend a wedding? Are there
any weddings on your summer calendar? Were you a summer bride? If you’re single,
is summer the season of your dream wedding?  The last wedding that I attended was my oldest son’s–on May 6, 2006.  I don’t remember stressing much, but I do remember getting a little worried when the guy was finishing up the bouquets (in the back of the church) just prior to the wedding photos being made.
Yes, there is a wedding on my calendar this summer–my youngest son is getting married on June 25, if we’re not all crazy by then.  I’m ready to scream.
In answer to the third part of this question, yes, I was a summer bride.  My husband and I were married on June 18, 1972.  I remember  having a little bit of wedding stress and drama, but we planned the entire wedding in less than 3 weeks, so there wasn’t much time to stress and it was over.  I’m glad…
3. What is your favorite way to eat
strawberries?  I love strawberries that have just been picked (before being refrigerated), and  I love them in  strawberry pie.  I live across the highway from a strawberry patch 🙂
4. What is one thing you are especially looking
forward to this summer?  I  booked a hotel room at the beach for hubby and me for the weekend of our 39th wedding anniversary on June 18th.  I debated for a while about whether to go or not, with the wedding coming up just a week later. I decided that we both need time away from the chaos.  I’m looking forward to our mini getaway together.
5. Do you use/like the self checker at the grocery
store?  I don’t use the self checker at the grocery store.  I prefer to deal with people over machines–although I’ve had a few rude cashiers at Wal-mart who made that self checker machine look mighty friendly!
6. Share a favorite piece of common sense
advice.  “Don’t bite off more than you can chew.”
7. Barefoot, flip flops, tennis shoes, sassy
sandals-your first choice for summertime?  Barefoot!  Unfortunately, going barefoot outside is no longer possible due to fire ants, crab grass, and various other pests around our yard.  I still love walking barefoot on the beach though!
Random:  Dealing with pre-wedding stresses, a health insurance company that doesn’t want to pay its part, a stomach ulcer, and no arthritis medication really has me longing to be in this place…
Calgon…take me away!
Published in: on June 1, 2011 at 8:03 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/wednesday-hodgepodge-june-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh my, you definitely deserve some time at the beach. {{hug}}

    You beat DH & me … we planned our wedding in 6 weeks. 😉

    I, too, could skip DC … we might get there one of these days, but if we don’t, it won’t be the end of the world. 😉

    Hope you have a wonderful Wednesday!

  2. I’m so glad you planned a get-a-way for you and Mr. Ed. 😀

    Just think, in July, you’ll look back on the wedding and say, “Whew! I’m glad all that stress is over!” 😀

    Have a wonderful day !!!

    By the way – today is Pippin’s 3rd birthday !!! 😛

  3. I’m glad you’ve got a little weekend getaway planned…the wedding will be lovely and I’m sure everything will get done that needs doing. Enjoy that weekend to rest before the big day.

  4. Happy Early Anniversary.. That will be a fun trip for sure.. Love your advise..

  5. Just be thankful it’s your son getting married and not a daughter. There more expensive so more stressful. 🙂
    The pic of the beach looks wonderful. It will do ya’ll good to get away from it all for a weekend.

  6. I’ve got beach fever like you wouldn’t believe! Sitting on the beach under an umbrella, sleeping/reading a book: heaven!

  7. Good for you-take some time before the wedding and enjoy yourselves. Envy you living across from a strawberry patch!!!! Have a good day!!!

  8. Hope your beach trip is a perfect break from the pre-wedding stress. The beach is always a stress reliever in my opinion! Relax and enjoy!

  9. I hope you time at the beach is restful and stress free. Sounds like you really need it. Congrats on 39 years together!

  10. Your only a few hours away from DC? I think you should go. Of course you have a wedding this summer.
    We were June 24, 1972! Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers, hope all your issues get worked out. ((HUGS))

  11. I don’t use the self checker either, but mostly because I think that there are enough people out there without jobs, and I don’t want to contribute to the jobless rate.

    I have never been to Washington DC either. Actually scratch that. I think I was there when I was waaaayyy little, cuz my mom was stationed right by there. Yep, I’m a kid of a Marine.


Leave a Reply

