Some Days It Doesn’t Pay To Get Out Of Bed…

Don’t you just hate it when life turns nasty, and all of the cards in the deck seem to be stacked against you?  I know we all have those moments, when we say to ourselves, “What next?”  Lately, more of my days seem to be like that, than normal. 

Take this morning, for instance.  Normally, I wake up early, and can’t go back to sleep.  I roll around in bed, and despite my best efforts, I can’t sleep.  This morning I was sleepy, but, of course,  I had things to do so I had to get up!

I needed to go to town to run a couple of errands.  This did not make me happy, because it meant that I had to iron clothes to wear and put on makeup!  Two of my most unfavorite things to do! (can you tell I’ve become a frumpy housewife?)

An hour after getting up, I was dressed and ready to go.  First stop, the bank–to make a deposit.  I notice that I’m running low on deposit slips, so I ask the teller if she will give me two or three blank ones.  She says that “she’ll have to imprint them with my name and account number and that will be ten cents each…would I like to order a package of them?”  I tell her “No”, and drive away without any deposit slips.  What irritates me so much is knowing that I can go to another branch of this same bank, and get all of the deposit slips that I want–for free, but this girl wants to charge me ten cents.  Grrrr….

After the bank, the next stop was the post office.  Thankfully, I conducted my business there without incident, except for dealing with the weird, chatty, postal clerk.  Last stop, to the store for a loaf of bread.  Guess what?!  The bread truck hadn’t arrived yet, and they were out of my brand of bread!  In fact, they were out of most brands of bread!  Sometimes it just doesn’t pay to be an “early bird”!

I’m back home now–with no deposit slips and no bread.  I just received a phone call which was more bad news.  I can’t discuss the content of the call, but trust me–it wasn’t good!  Lately, almost every day has been like this–full of drama and bad news.

Like I said, “some days it just doesn’t pay to get out of bed”.  I think I feel an afternoon nap coming on!

Published in: on June 2, 2011 at 11:35 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/02/some-days-it-doesnt-pay-to-get-out-of-bed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hate those days. You just want to throw something. At that point, I am ready to wage war on the next person that gives me bad news. My daughters even call it ” going all Mom on them”.

    I hope your day gets better.

  2. I am so with you about getting ready to leave the house. (Just think, I have 21 days coming up where I have to do that every morning. God help me!) I am so sorry. Hopefully a nap will help. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. ((HUGS))

  3. I hope your day perked up. Some days are hard and we just have to get through them. Some seasons are hard too…sending you a hug today (((Kathy)))

  4. I’m sorry to hear that you were having one of those days … I hope your day got better. {{{hug}}}

  5. I hope your day got better. One thing that helps me is chocolate. That does fix alot of things frustrating. But for bad news we just have to lean on God to take care of us.

  6. Sorry to hear about your day, and I hope the phone call wasn’t too bad. I’ll be praying for you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

