Wednesday Hodgepodge…June 8

Time to join up for a little mid-week “Hodgepodge”. If you don’t already participate, and would like to join in, just click Joyce’s button at the top of this post. Here are this week’s questions:

1. Do you and your family enjoy camping? What do you enjoy most/like the least when it comes to family camping? When was the last time you camped?  When our three children were very small, (ages 11 mos thru 7 years), my husband told me that he’d like to buy a camper trailer.  I quickly told him he was crazy!  Eventually, I warmed up to the idea, and we bought a camper.  I was hooked on camping after our first outing!  Camping is a wonderful family activity, and the times we spent together as a family are priceless.  We spent seven years camping every chance we got.  We owned three different campers during our camping days, but we also “roughed it” a few times in a tent.

My least favorite thing about family camping was having to use the bath houses at campgrounds!  While some bath houses were very clean, some of them were not!  Some people can be so nasty!!!  Two of our campers had a bathroom in them, and I used the shower/bathroom in the camper most of the time.  Of course, that wasn’t an option when we used our pop-up camper or the tents!

The last time we went camping was around 2002.  It had been several years since we’d sold our last camper trailer, and our children were all nearly grown.  My husband and I purchased a small pop-up camper and went on our first camping trip by ourselves.  We didn’t have a very good time on our trip–it just wasn’t the same without our kids–and we sold the camper shortly after that trip.  I haven’t had any desire to go camping since.

2. Did you attend a summer camp when you were a kid? Is that a happy or not so happy memory?  I only attended summer camp once as a kid.  I was about eight when I went to church camp for a week, with my cousin.  I wasn’t totally miserable, but I was very glad to get back home.  I guess you could say that I wasn’t a particularly “happy camper”.

3. Over the course of your life, what have you probably spent more time pondering than anything else?  That’s easy–our children, and all things pertaining to them!  I have worried about them when they were little, wondering if we were making the right decisions for them, etc., but even now, after they are grown I continue to ponder.  I sometimes wonder if they are making the right decisions for themselves, and what the outcome of their decisions will be.  Now, of course, there is another whole generation coming along to ponder…otherwise known as the grandchildren!

4. Which of the seven natural wonders of the world would you most like to see? There are many lists of ‘wonders’ but this is the standard natural wonder list-Mount Everest, The Great Barrier Reef, The Grand Canyon, Victoria Falls, The Harbor of Rio de Janerio, Paricutan Volcano and The Northern Lights.  I’ve never spent much time giving this any thought, but maybe The Great Barrier Reef or The Grand Canyon.  The place I really want to go is to the Florida Keys, or on a cruise to the Bahamas.  I long to see a white sandy beach, and some clear water.  It’s on my “bucket list”.

5. What was your first real job?  I worked as a “gift wrapper” in a department store one Christmas.  That job led into a position as a sales clerk in the same department store.  I loved it!

6. Lemonade or Sweet tea…which do you prefer on a hot summer day?  It’s hard to beat a glass of sweet tea with a meal, but I prefer lemonade on a hot summer day.

7. What is something that always brings a smile to your face?  No doubt about it, my grandchildren!  I took this photo of them yesterday while they were playing on my husband’s tractor.  They are cousins, not brother and sister.

Random:  I believe in the power of prayer!  I have been praying, and I know that some of you have, too.  Yesterday was a pain-free day for me, the first one in quite a while.  No stomach pain, and no join pain.  Praise the Lord!

I have also done some research on my stomach meds, and have found that if I buy  Prevacid OTC instead of prescription strength Prevacid from the pharmacy, I will cut my cost by more than one half.  I’ll have to double the dosage, but I don’t mind swallowing two extra capsules to save a hundred dollars a month.  Praise the Lord, again!

Published in: on June 8, 2011 at 7:04 am  Comments (14)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/wednesday-hodgepodge-june-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad you figured out the meds-that’s great! I agree with you on the camping…it is wonderful for family bonding!

    Have a good day!

  2. I’m so glad you’ve found a solution to the high cost of those meds! Praying that you can stay painfree!

    I am with you on #7!! 😉

    We loved our time on the Florida Keys. I hope to get back some time soon when we can spend more time there.

  3. I am a sweet tea girl also. I am with you on those camp ground bathroom and showers..

  4. When I was a child, my family camped too. I have some precious memories of those times. Thanks for sharing. Blessings, SusanD

  5. If I have to cook and clean, it’s not much of a vacation so I prefer a hotel. Since those cost are going up, it may be awhile before we get out on the road again. Love the photo of the grand kids.

  6. I am so happy for you that you found a way around the stomach problems. I’ve never been a camper. I ahve to agree with Lynn, it looked like work to me.

    I am a cruiser. If you check with a travel agent ( I used to be one) you can get some very good deals and you are under no obligation to the agency for them to look for you. I love the turquoise water and white beaches. Hope you get to check this off the list.

  7. Hey there, I enjoyed reading your answers and it made me realize something….the camping I mentioned in my post wasn’t the last time I camped. When I lived in this town before, I was friends with 3 women and we got together once a week for many years….we had so much fun together and I have photos to prove it….if I ever get my printer software to load so I can scan a photo I’ll share some of our “camping trip”. I only stayed one night. The only way I would go was if they promised to walk to the bathroom with me in the middle of the night as I had to get up often in those days…..one of them had a pop up and it was air conditioned so not so bad. We let the guys come and eat dinner with us but after that it was just the girls. It was so much fun…lots of laughs.
    Now we’re all scattered.
    Mama Bear

  8. Your grandchildren just put a smile on my face too! How cute are they?! I’m such a home body that if I can’t see it from here, I probably never will. LOL

  9. Your grandkids are precious!

    I had a similar epiphany with my meds – I had two prescriptions for the same med – in two different strengths. I finally realized if I got the correct number of pills in the smaller dosage, and just take more pills when I was supposed to take the higher dose, I saved myself the additional co-pay. It’s not much but it sure made me happy knowing I had pulled one over the insurance company 😉

  10. Enjoyed stopping by today and meeting a new blogging friend. Yes, lots of things in life are different once the kids are no longer involved, but guess that’s all a part of His plan. :o) I posted our Grans as well, they always make me smile. Hope you continue to feel good. Blessings to you!

  11. I think a camper would be more fun then a tent. I’ve never been on a cruise, I would love to do that. I always wanted to work as a gift wrapper, I thought it looked like fun. I always loved wrapping presents. I am lemonade everyday!

  12. Northern Lights! Otherwise, I’m really not interested.

    We never really camped, and now, well, as much as I like it, it’s too much work. So sadly I haven’t taken my kids to anywhere except Kids Camp with the church, where we do sleep in tents.

    Glad you found a way to save money, I’d be excited too!

  13. I’m so glad you finally had some relief. 😀

    I, myself, don’t know what I’d do without my Prilosec. 🙂

    Hope your better days continue. 🙂

  14. So glad to hear no pain and cheaper meds! Yay!!!

    Camping was never my thing but my hubby loves it and my children and my hubby went to church camp every year, but I never did when I was a kid.

    I love the Hodgepodge, don’t you. So fun getting to know everyone a little better.


Leave a Reply

