Meet Me On Monday…and The Weekend Wrap-up

In the words of my husband…”another weekend is shot in the butt.”  He has a way with words, don’t you think?  Of course, he’s right, another weekend is gone–which means it’s time for “Meet Me On Monday”!  Here are Java’s questions:

1.  What is your favorite yogurt
flavor? 
I don’t like yogurt–of any flavor!

2.  Ankle or knee socks? and on the same theme, white socks or
coloured?? 
Ankle socks!  Speaking of socks, I like “funky-looking” socks.  It’s my way of expressing myself 🙂  Whenever I worked, I had socks for every holiday!  Among my all-time favorite socks were: my cow socks, my multi-striped toe socks, and my Christmas socks, complete with bells that jingled whenever I walked.
3.  How is the weather right now?  The weather here is hot and very dry.  Our average temps have been in the mid 90’s for over a month, with hardly any rain.
4.  Are you a fast typer? NO!  In high school, my maximum speed was around 40 words per minute–but I had very few errors 🙂  These days, I figure my typing speed is probably half of what it used to be–my speed in everything else is that way, too!
5.  Red or White Wine?  Neither one.  I don’t drink any alcoholic beverages (too many folks in my family were alcoholics).

To sum it up:  I’m a slow typist, living in a hot and dry place, who wears funky ankle socks, but doesn’t eat yogurt or drink wine! 

It was a slow, uneventful, weekend around our house.  Hubby officially finished painting our new porch, and it looks so nice and clean…too bad it won’t stay that way!  Every morning, there are no less than six cats sitting on it–waiting for their breakfast!

This weekend, I also finished painting the little terrace on the other side of the house. I can’t really call it a porch, because there is no way to exit or enter it except from outside.  It’s just a little area to sit on, outside of the bedroom, to enjoy watching the birds at the feeder.  It’s also where my favorite cat “Bobs” spends most of her time, sleeping in a chair.

You know, the bad part about painting is–one job leads to another.  When one area is painted, it makes the area next to it look bad–then you feel like you need to paint that, too.  It’s like a song with no end…

The grills around here were working over-time this weekend.  Our daughter’s family grilled ribs at their house, while we grilled chicken at our house(our yards join).  We even grilled a few hotdogs on Sunday for lunch.

We also managed to have some good “family time”, visiting with our children and their families.  We ate watermelon, outside on the porch, about 9 pm on Friday night!  I don’t recommend doing this, especially if you want an uninterrupted night’s sleep!  Some of the family gathered again, outside around the fire pit, on Saturday evening.

Last night when my husband went out to feed the goldfish, he found one of my favorite fish dead and floating in the pond.   I bought the fish at Wal-mart, many years ago, when it was tiny.  As you can see, he grew–a lot!  I’m not sure, but I think he was the last fan tail left in the pond.  I sure hated to lose him.  I don’t know if he died of old age, or from the heat.  High temperatures are tough on goldfish–and we’ve certainly been having our share of those!  In fact, come to think of it, high temperatures are tough on me, too.  Thank goodness for A/C!  Have a great week everyone…

Published in: on June 13, 2011 at 8:47 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/meet-me-on-monday-and-the-weekend-wrap-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You sound like my kind of person, I don’t drink either and love funnly looking socks as well! Love that you had time to relax and enjoy family time. Sorry about your fish. Sure was a pretty one!! You had had heat and we have had rain 3 days of it so far and it’s only in the 50’s!!!!

  2. We definitely think a like on the socks…..I bought my goldfish at Walmart also. They were about 2 inches long including their fancy tails…that was May 2010. Now some of them are a good 5 inches not including the tail. Is your pond in the sun or shade? I haven’t had any problem with them dying because of heat. They stay down in the bottom during the day and don’t move much until I go out to feed them. I imagine they do die of old age, though. We lived in our last house for 6 years. The fish were there when we arrived and when we left. We lost one when Honey Bear cleaned the filter one time. I think he caught it under it or something. Before we moved we had babies that were in their second year. I know this because they are black when they’re born and get the orange color about that time. Some were black and orange, not turned completely yet.
    It has been too hot to even sit out there long enough to watch the fish eat…one thing about hot, dry weather is the grass doesn’t need mowing. Your terrace sounds like my kind of place.
    Mama Bear

  3. Your fish pic made me miss my koi pond again. Funny how enjoyable that silly thing was. I want to believe the people that bought the house kept it. ( I really don’t think they did when I know they mowed my flower beds.) Seeing your goldfish reminded me that my daughters put a 2 inch black molly in our pond and it grew to be the size of your goldfish before it became a floater. It was always difficult (in Michigan) to keep the pump going and an opening in the ice to allow oxygen in.

    I hate shoes so I like socks too, but just footies. You’re getting everything all spruced up for some great porch sitting, I think.

  4. Ah, poor fish.

    Sounds like you had a spectacular weekend! Hope your week ahead is just as great!

  5. I’m like you when it comes to socks. I love having lots of fun ones with cute little pictures on them 🙂
    Have a great week!

  6. Okay, wait….so your daughter lives next door to you?! How fun is that?? It must be great to see them every day!!

    Awww, poor fish…he was a big guy!!

  7. Sorry to hear about your fish. I’m no good at keeping fish alive… kinda like plants!


Leave a Reply

