Random Pre-Wedding News…

Only eleven more days until the wedding of Brad and Jennifer!  It’s time for an update of what’s been going on.

A few days after I wrote about the “bridesmaid’s dress dilemma” more things happened.  Just to refresh your memory, the bridal store neglected to order my daughter’s bridesmaid dress, after her original choice was returned.  This error wasn’t discovered until about 3 weeks ago–too late to order the dress.  Jennifer decided to substitute the missing dress with a dress of the same style, but  different color, which happened to be available for purchase at the store.  She brought the replacement dress to my daughter, Brandy.

Later, after talking with her aunt, Jennifer decided to talk with “David’s Bridal” again, and ask them to attempt to locate a dress in the appropriate color from another one of their stores–something they should’ve offered to do in the first place!  The store did manage to find a dress like the one that should’ve been ordered.  If you remember from my first post, the dress is the same color, but a little different style because of…well I won’t get into that again. They made Jennifer pay to have the dress shipped from the other store, and told her it should arrive by June 15.  The good news is…the dress arrived one day last week–a few days early!

There is some dieting going on around and about.  Jennifer is currently on the Atkins diet, which means no sugar or carbs.  She wanted to make sure her wedding dress fits properly.  No sugar and no carbs for Jennifer is life-changing!  To say “the girl loves candy” would be an understatement.  I guess Brad is eating some of the diet foods with her, because they both ate a grilled chicken finger salad on Friday night.  Misery loves company, you know.

I’ve been doing the things that I can do ahead of time, in preparation for the rehearsal dinner–and praying for health and stamina to do what I need to do in the days ahead.  I’ve learned how to fold dinner napkins in a fancy way–from the internet!  Is there anything that’s not on YouTube?

All napkins are folded, the stickers have been put on the after dinner mints, the table arrangements are done, several photographs of the couple have been printed and framed for display, and the menu and grocery list have been written.  All that’s left is decorating, grocery shopping, and cooking.

One idea that we came up with, to greatly help me out with the supper, is to have the supper before the rehearsal!  That way, family members can help me get the food set out and ready to serve.  Otherwise, I was going to have to do it all by myself–and I was wondering how can I do all of this by myself…By having the supper first,  I’ll have help, then later I can watch the wedding rehearsal, too!

Ed and I are soon going on a quick get-away, prior to the wedding.  I have mixed feelings about doing this, but after much thought, I decided that we really need some time alone, to unwind and get ready for the whirlwind of activity that lies ahead.  Our anniversary is coming up, just a week before the wedding, and we need to make some time for us.  So…in the midst of all of the wedding preparation sits a packed suitcase!

That’s it for today.  Speaking of a “packed suitcase”,  today I’m riding the  Tuesday Train.  Just click the train for directions, if you’d like to ride along…
Photobucket

Published in: on June 14, 2011 at 7:52 am  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/14/random-pre-wedding-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. David’s Bridal really dropped the ball on the whole dress issue. It sounds like, in spite of their lack of help, you have got it all under control. The dinner before rehearsal is a great idea. Enjoy your get away time and then come back refreshed. I’m anxious to see pictures.

  2. It will al be so worth it when yu see the look the their eyes! And the pictures will be perfect! Deep Breath – your at the home stretch. Happy anniversary BTW,

  3. So fun!! My daughter’s wedding was a whirlwind. At times I didn’t know if we would survive – but looking back, it was amazingly good fun!

    Having the dinner before the rehearsal is a brilliant idea!!! I’ll be remembering that with my other two daughters!

  4. Have a well deserved quick getaway and Happy Anniversary. We are celebrating our anniversary Friday and then heading to the beach with 11 grandkids and their parents…yikes!!

  5. What a great idea to have dinner before rehearsal! Enjoy your getaway and anniversary!

  6. Wow! You already have your suitcase packed! I usually wait until the night before… procrastinating people always think they have more time.

  7. Enjoy your time away … get some rest and come back refreshed and ready for the wedding. {{hug}}


Leave a Reply

