Wednesday Hodgepodge…June 15

Thanks to Joyce for another great set of “hodgepodge” questions. Would you like to play along? Then click the button at the top of this post! Let the fun begin…

1. What is one thing on your bucket list? If you don’t have a bucket list let’s pretend you do.  I do have a “bucket list”, but the only thing on it at the moment is to go someplace where the water is crystal clear,  and there are beautiful white sandy beaches.  Our side of the ocean isn’t clear, it’s murky and gray.  Any suggestions as to where I should go?

2. What makes a good dad?  Someone exactly like my husband!  Whenever our children were little, he was never too tired or too busy for them.  He had the patience of Job.  He helped give them baths, brushed their teeth, helped with their homework, and so much more.  When they were sick, he helped care for them.  He did the things I wasn’t brave enough to do–like holding them while they got iv’s or taking them to have wisdom teeth removed.  He went to every doctor’s appointment with us!    He’s always been there for his children, no matter what.   Even now that the children are grown and married, he’s the first one there when they need help, a port in their storm.  He would give them the food off his plate, the shirt off his back, or his last dollar, if they needed it, and I think they all know that.

3. Are you afraid of insects? Which ones?  I’m not as afraid as I used to be, but I still don’t like a praying mantis or a flying cock roach!

4. We’re barbecuing…what’s on the grill at your house?  We grill hamburgers and hot dogs most often, followed by chicken, then ribs or a good steak every once in a while!  We use our grill(s) a lot, and hubby is a good cook.

5. Do you believe that playing is more important than winning?  Yes, I do.  I just wish everyone else felt the same way.

6. Do you tan? Use self tanners? Visit tanning salons? See your dermatologist at least once a year?  I have to avoid getting a lot of sun exposure because one of the medications that I have to take makes me sun sensitive.  I use a mild tanning lotion during the summer, and I sit in the shade a lot.  I’ve never seen a dermatologist.

7. Five years ago I would never imagine that today I would be blogging–on a computer!  I used to afraid to go near a computer, but here I am, putting my thoughts on two different blogs–on a computer!  Two years, two  months, and counting…  This post will be the 667th one on this blog.  “MiMi’s Mini Tales” has 440 posts.  That’s a lot of thoughts, memes, and stories!

Random:  OMG!  Brad came by last night, and shared a story that almost gave me a heart attack.  He told me that, on Monday night, while he and Jennifer were talking with the preacher who is performing the wedding ceremony, they discovered a conflict over the use of the church social hall for their rehearsal supper!

Another event isn’t being held that same evening, but some ladies of the church were planning to decorate the social hall that evening for an upcoming baby shower.  The conflict is being taken care of, thank goodness.  I nearly died at the thought that we might not have a place to eat!!!!

Actually, now that I think about it, that sort of happened to us with our other son’s wedding.  The annual church revival was in progress that week, so we had to rent another place to have the rehearsal supper, and then work the rehearsal time around revival time so we’d be out of the church before people began arriving for church!  Aren’t weddings fun?  It’s all about the details…

Published in: on June 15, 2011 at 7:41 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/wednesday-hodgepodge-june-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love the beach at Siesta Key … sparkly white sand white beautiful blue water. The water along the Florida Keys is probably as beautiful as any I’ve seen, and while the beaches aren’t as big as we’d like, they’re gorgeous. The picture I use for my icon (on my blog) is of a beach in Key West.

  2. So glad you got that snaful sorted! Yikes!

    Sunny, sandy, warm….the Carribean : )

  3. Your description of the perfect dad brought a lump to my throat, it was beautiful and very moving. Your kids are so lucky to have a father like that. I especially liked the phrase “a port in the storm”. Wonderful!

  4. A crystal clear beach sounds divine. Can I come along? lol
    Your children are very blessed to have not only a great Dad but also a great Mom.

  5. I think things like that are the tales we tell for years after a wedding….like my son getting lost on the way to the church because his buddy from Alabama was driving(best man) and the organist refusing to play the requested music for the procession…Diana just stood at the door and wouldn’t proceed until he started playing it….
    I’m just happy it was only plans to decorate and not actually an event with invitations already sent out that was the conflict in this case and that it could be resolved. Those two don’t need any more stress in their lives.
    I enjoyed reading your answers…now I’m off to Hobby Lobby and Wally World.

  6. Your children are lucky to have a great Dad and a great Mom-they go hand-in-hand. Glad all worked out at the church!

  7. I love the pretty turquoise water of the Caribbean. Being a Kenny fan too, I think you just need to go to “The Coast of Somewhere Beautiful”. I do like the Florida Keys too.

    My husband was cut from the same cloth as Ed. It is a very rare and precious material.

    My husband’s name is Terrance (Terry). Our priest neglected to tell us he would be on vacation on our wedding day so they pulled an ancient priest out of retirement for us. All during the ceremony he called Terry “Clarence”. Everyone got a laugh out of it but I’m not sure who I married???

  8. So nice to read about so many men who are the perfect Daddy! We need to praise our men more.So glad that the rehearsal dinner thing worked out. There is always something.


Leave a Reply

