Sharing Our Special Date…

Years ago, when Ed and I decided to get married, we chose the date of June 18th for a special reason.  It happened to be the birthday of our mutual cousin, and the person who introduced us by arranging a blind date for us.  In case you are new to this blog, or have forgotten, Ed’s mother’s sister was married to my father’s brother.  This meant that Ed and I had a mutual aunt and uncle, and their children were cousins to both of us–but Ed and I are not related.  Are you following me?

Ed is five years older than I am.  He graduated from high school in 1967–when I was just finishing up the seventh grade!  I knew who he was, in fact, I even remember having a crush on him back in 1967, but he never knew me because I was so much younger.  Flash forward two years, to the summer of 1969, when I was about to turn 15, and Ed was about to turn 19.  Our mutual aunt and uncle, along with their children were visiting from Florida.  They were staying at Ed’s parent’s house.

Susan, their daughter, had just turned 16 that summer, and wanted to go on a date with Ed’s best friend.  She came up with the idea to introduce Ed to me, so the four of us could go on a double date.  The rest is history…When Ed and I decided to get married in June, it just seemed natural to honor our cousin by “getting hitched” on her birthday!  I think of Susan every year when our special day rolls around.  It would’ve been her birthday…but, you see, Susan passed away over years ago.

Anyway, this past Saturday, on June 18, Ed and I were staying at Fernandina Beach, Florida, to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary.  We’d spent the late-afternoon sitting on the beach, and were returning to our hotel room to get ready to go out to eat.  As we pulled up to the hotel, imagine our surprise when we saw a bride and groom entering the front doors of the hotel–still dressed in their wedding clothes!  The bride still carried her bouquet!  It was about 6pm.

I wanted to roll down the car window and shout to them that they sure chose a good date to get married, but they disappeared before I could get the window rolled down.  They appeared to be in a rush to get to their room!

Ed and I drove around to the side of the hotel, and parked the car.  We looked to the left of us, and spotted a pickup truck–with shoe polish on the windows, along with toilet paper on the antenna, trailer hitch, and side view mirror.  There beside the truck, in the parking lot, lay a single white rose…probably broken from the brides bouquet as she exited the truck.

I couldn’t help myself…I picked up the white rose, and kept it.  It made me nostalgic of our own wedding so many years ago.  I also took some photos of their truck, cause that made me nostalgic, too!  I laughed at the writing on the back glass of the truck!  It read, “Just married…to a man!”  Only in the “twisted days” of 2011, would someone have to specify “to a man”!

We never saw anymore of the young bride and groom, but the following morning, as we were getting ready to leave the hotel, we saw them pulling out of the parking lot ahead of us.  I don’t know them, but I think they picked a great day to “get hitched”!  Ed and I will be long-gone in another 39 years, but I can only hope that the couple’s next 39 years will be half as happy and filled with love as mine and Ed’s have been.

PhotobucketI’m riding the Tuesday Train today.  If you’d like to join me, just click on the train for details…

Published in: on June 20, 2011 at 11:20 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/20/sharing-our-special-date/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You could have left a note on their window. I would have been tempted too just because they shared the same date as you. Are you going to hang the rose upside down and dry it out to remember them by? 🙂

  2. Love the “To a man” on the truck! Made me laugh. What a nice memory for you. I have a cousin who’s mother married her husbands father so not only is her husband – her husband but her step brother (no blood relation here – the tow parents married each other only a few years ago and my cousin has been married 28 years). funny how life pans out…..

  3. What a lovely story …made your get-away even sweeter. 😉

  4. What a nice tribute to get married on a very special Birthday. Because I had a 1st marriage that went so very wrong, I cherish my good fortune now.

    You and Ed were destined to be together. It’s obvious you grew together and supported each other.

  5. Awww… what a lovely story. And congratulations. Many of us only wish we can get to where you are when we get married. half don’t really make it though. So when I see couples who do, it gets me very giddy and hopeful. Thank you for sharing this lovely story.

    I found your site from the Tuesday Train Blog Hop. I wanted to tell you personally that I have a site that allows women to engage and really connect with each other. You won’t find the same unpromising atmosphere that you normally do in other mommy blog communities. Our site allows you to gain INSTANT followers (yes, they really do follow, you’ll see), INCREASE YOUR TRAFFIC, and have a chance to connect with some great women. We also have a directory where you would have a chance to have your site and a few of your content inserted so that it may link directly from our site to yours giving you added traffic.

    Hope to see you there!

    Sincerely,

    Lexie Lane
    http://www.voiceboks.com

  6. Thank you for joining the Train!

    What a wonderful way to honor and remember your cousin.

    Happy Anniversary!!

  7. Such a sweet story. Glad ya’ll had a chance to get away for the weekend. Now the countdown to the weddin

  8. This was a delightful story, an encounter that I think was meant to be. Happy Anniversary, sounds like you had a lovely celebration together!


Leave a Reply

