Wednesday Hodgepodge…June 22

Joyce has once again provided us with seven wonderful questions for our mid-week “hodgepodge”!  Time’s a-wasting, so let’s get right to those questions, shall we?

1. Summer’s here-whoohoo! What’s your favorite sight, sound, AND smell
associated with summer?  That’s so easy for me to answer, because all of my answers are all rolled into one favorite thing…the beach!  Favorite sight- miles of sand and water,  sound-  the ocean waves crashing, and smell- the salty air! 

the beach...I love everything about it

2. Fireflies or lightning bugs…what are they called in your neck of the
woods?  We call them lightning bugs.  For some reason, we don’t have a lot of them around here, so it’s very exciting when we see one!
3. What is something from the past week that reminded you of your
childhood? A few days ago, I introduced our granddaughter to the call of the “Bob White”, aka known as a quail.  It brought back memories of when my own grandmother did the same for me–so many years ago.  I posted about the experience HERE. 
4. Define ‘the good life’.  To me, the good life means having a husband to love, who loves me equally in return…having children/families living nearby, and seeing them on a regular basis…having enough money to pay the bills, with a little left over at the end of each month… a warm/cool house to live in(that’s nearly paid for)…and last, but certainly not least, having the peace of mind that comes from knowing that I’m a child of God.
5. Tell us what we’d see if you took a snapshot of your desk/work
space?  A mess!  It’s a combination of sewing and scrapbook stuff–with a couple of odd items thrown in!  A picture is worth a thousand words–see!

my hobby area/work table...

6. Peaches or watermelon…yes, you have to choose.  Okay, that’s a tough one, but since I’m from Georgia, I’m gonna’ have to say “peaches”!
7. Ever been skinny dippin’? Is that too much for the Wednesday Hodgepodge?
Rest assured we won’t need details…unless of course you feel you must but
remember, this is a family friendly blog so keep it G rated.  Yes, I have, at night! Only because we live in a very secluded area, with no neighbors–and had our own pool!

Random Thoughts:

#It’s beginning to look a lot like a wedding around here!

#Ed’s tux is in, I have granddaughter, Madison’s, flowergirl dress hanging on the entertainment center, and Ed’s mom’s dress hanging on the bedroom door…

#That flowergirl dress is getting tight on Madison…she needs to eat light and not grow anymore between now and Saturday…
#Several totes are sitting around filled with rehearsal “stuff”…tablecloths, dinnerware, napkins, mints, candles, and more.

#More totes are filled with ingredients to make the rehearsal dinner…spaghetti, lasagna, strawberry trifle, death by chocolate, and more.  Still have to pick up ingredients for salad and some Italian bread…

#I’m just waiting for Thursday to arrive so I can decorate the annex, hoping my plans for how to do it work out.

#The soon-to-be-married couple are beginning to make me nervous…they just flew by here on their way to the courthouse to get the license.

#It’s 4 o’clock, the courthouse closes at 5–and Jennifer didn’t have her birth certificate with her.

#There’s no music for the reception, so far, Brad’s responsibility.

#Wedding programs are nearly finished–but not quite.

#The engagement announcement will finally be in this week’s paper–2 days before the wedding!

Two procrastinators, getting married…heaven help us!

Published in: on June 22, 2011 at 8:44 am  Comments (12)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/wednesday-hodgepodge-june-22/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My DD is a procrastinator, too. Drives me crazy! I’m a PLANNER … big time! Argh!

    Take a deep breath … you’ll get through this … and have plenty of material for your blog. 😉

  2. how fun to have a wedding on the way.. that will be a lot of fun.. I love weddings.. I wish I lived close to a beach. I have not been to a beach in a long time..

  3. Oh all that procrastinating sounds stressful but with weddings in general so much needs to happen right at the very end so can’t be too hard on them.

    Love that sweet bird story!

  4. Well, sounds like you’ve got enough worries for both of them…I like your lists…where would we be without lists…
    I would have to say peaches, too…I’m not a big fan of watermelon but do eat some occasionally.
    Mama Bear

  5. I was in my 50’s before I was able to experience skinny dipping. I highly recommend it!
    I agree with your “good life” whole heartedly.

    Those procrastinators sure stress those of us that are list makers and planners. Sounds like it is all coming together well. Breathe in – breathe out….repeat..

  6. Such an exciting time….for all of you. Don’t stress. It will happen. Enjoy today! Blessings, SusanD

    BTW, my grandmother introduced me to birds when I was a youngster. I still enjoy it. Thanks for jogging my memory.

  7. Such fun is almost here and it will soon be over so take a deep breath and just do it! You will be greatful when it’s over. Time for another trip to your beach!

  8. Awww…what an exciting time for you! I hope you find a few moments to breathe this week!!

  9. Wow – now that’s ALOT going on. When you need to take a minute, just close your eyes and remember your beach get-a-way and how relaxing it was. Everything will come together beautifully. God bless you and keep you during this hectic time. 😀

  10. Don’t worry, my desk is an even bigger mess!

    Well, at least it’ll all be over soon and you/they won’t have any more of that stress and everyone can just relax!

    I put up Game #2 post today.

  11. What a busy and oh so fun week you have! I love weddings!

  12. Did you just send me back to the beginning of June when my daughter got married. She’s not as much a procrastinator as really really laid back. So we had a little trouble just getting some things “off the ground.” We made it through the weekend and it was a beautiful day! I pray the same will happen for you!! Do your best to enjoy some special moments.


Leave a Reply

