Meet Me On Monday…I Have Some Wonderful News!

Time to join Java for her Monday meme.  Here are this week’s questions:

1. What is your favorite food?  I can’t think of one food that is my favorite–but I’ll say “cake” because I have a hard time passing up a piece of cake–of any kind!
2. What color scheme is your bedroom?  khaki and burgundy
3. Do you carry a donor card?  No.  I have this crazy fear of being “killed off” for my body parts. 
4. In your opinion, is the glass half empty or half full?  Funny that you should ask, because I wrote a post about this once.  If we’re  literally talking about a glass of liquid, I view the glass as  half empty–and I worry about running out of drink with my meal.  However, if we’re  referring to my view on life, I see the glass as half full.
5. Vanilla or Chocolate?  definitely chocolate!

Weekend wrap-up:

If you are  regular reader here, you know that our youngest son (and last single child) got married this past Saturday.  The past week has been a flurry of excitement and preparation, culminating in the wedding and reception held on June 25th.  The newlyweds safely arrived to their cruise ship on Sunday afternoon, and called yesterday to let us know.  We appreciated hearing from them!

Most of yesterday was spent, resting and reflecting on the events of the past two days.    Our other two children, and their families came over at lunch to eat left-overs from the rehearsal dinner with us.  We spent the afternoon watching some video of the wedding, and looking at the pictures that I had taken over the past two days.  I’ll be sharing some of those later this week.

Sunday evening, my husband and I were sitting at the kitchen table eating supper alone, when our oldest son and his family came back for a second visit.  They grabbed plates, and joined in finishing off the last of the lasagna and strawberry trifle. 

Our youngest grandchild, Caden, was rambling around in the kitchen while his mother fixed his plate.  I noticed that he had on a new-looking t-shirt that I didn’t recall seeing before.  I always enjoy reading the front of his little shirts, so I called him over so I could see what was written on his shirt.  Here is what I saw…

Wow!   I so wish I had a photo of my face when I finished reading Cade’s shirt!!!  I was caught totally by surprise!  The expectant couple has known about the pregnancy for eight weeks, but kept the news to themselves!!!  Christina didn’t want to distract from Brad and Jennifer’s wedding.  How considerate was that?! 

Christina is creative and very thoughtful.  She has announced both of her pregnancies to us in unique ways.  After reading Cade’s shirt, and letting me get over the thrill of the news for a bit, she presented me with the (above) photo of Cade, along with an ultrasound of the new baby. 

The funniest thing about all of this was that earlier in the day, when family had been gathered around, I was trying to get Cade to let me rock him.  Of course, he doesn’t have time for rocking, and I was lamenting because I don’t have anymore babies to rock!  Cade’s parents didn’t say a thing!  Around New Year’s Day, things will change, and once again, I’ll have another baby to rock!  Our family is growing!   Life is good.

Have a great Monday, y’all!  I know I will!

Published in: on June 27, 2011 at 8:04 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/27/meet-me-on-monday-i-have-some-wonderful-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What wonderful news and what a unique way to let you all know.
    I’m happy that Brad and Jennifer had a beautiful wedding and are off on their honeymoon. The photo of them is so precious.
    I know that you will be resting up from all the work and stress of the last few weeks.
    Happy Monday,
    Mama Bear

  2. I’m so excited for you all! A new baby to love on! yay!

    My daughter shared the news of T#4 with a T-shirt like that! So cute!

  3. WOW! A new daughter and a new grandbaby in your family! You are a lucky lady! Love the shirt and the wedding photo is so pretty! Have a blessed day!

  4. I’m trying to catch up in my reader…there is a blog mountain there! Congrats on all your happy news…I’ll look forward to seeing more pictures of the wedding too. So glad it was a lovely special day and you have something sweet to look forward to!

  5. Oh my goodness – I love it !!! 😛

    A new daughter-in-law and now a new grandbaby on the way. Wow – life is good, isn’t it? 😀

    I am so happy for you !!! 😀

  6. Hi, it’s Just One Donna stopping by for Meet Me on Monday. Congrats to your family on all the wonderful things happening! Please stop by and say hi.

  7. That was so sweet and congratulations!! Funy how life just keeps happening so fast at our ages:) my youngest grandbaby just turned a year old… I did just get a 3 year old and 17 month old adopted by my son and daughter-in-law and they are just too sweet. I still have a single son and we are praying the girlfriend he has is not the one:(

  8. That is the most wonderful news. I am so happy for you!


Leave a Reply

