Wednesday Hodgepodge…June 29

Joyce has graciously prepared another set of “Hodgepodge” questions for today, so without further delay, let’s get down to business, shall we?

1. What makes you stand to your feet and cheer?  Seeing the “underdog” win.  God bless the “little man”!

2. What’s your favorite patriotic song?  “God Bless the USA” by Lee Greenwood

3. Do you believe that opposites attract? If you have a significant other are you opposites?  Yes, I do believe that opposites attract.  I’ve never really thought about it, but I guess my hubby and I are opposites in a lot of ways.

4. You’re going to get a behind the scenes look someplace…where would you like that someplace to be?  This will sound morbid to some, but I’ve always been a bit curious about the embalming process, so I’m going to say–a funeral home.

5. How far would you have to travel to ride a carousel (merry-go-round)?  About 55 miles, to the mall in Savannah.  I have to travel that far to do almost anything since I live in “the sticks”!

6. When was the last time you saw fireworks? What was the occasion? Do you enjoy fireworks?  I watched fireworks on a very crowded St. Simon’s Island, GA last year on July 4th.  Yes, I enjoy fireworks very much!

7. Of all the ‘beauty products’ you own, what item do you consider to be the most overpriced?  I don’t own a lot of beauty products, but I use Clinique makeup, and it’s not all that cheap.

Random:  I’ve been exhausted for the past two days.  I guess all of last week’s activities have finally caught up with me.    Gaining a new daughter-in-law, then finding out that my other son’s wife is expecting again is a lot of  activity for one week!  It’s good activity though!!!

The honeymooners will be home sometime Thursday.  I can’t wait to see them again!  We’ve been taking care of their pets in their absence.  We’ve been letting Newbie (Jenn’s dog) come and visit with us for a few hours each day.  I don’t know who will be happier to see the newlyweds return–us or their pets!

Published in: on June 29, 2011 at 7:45 am  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/06/29/wednesday-hodgepodge-june-29/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love St. Simons Island. We’ve stopped there for a few days twice on our way back home from trips to Florida (it’s only a little out of the way) and spent a week there once. I’d like to go back again.

  2. I saw in the local newspaper that they’re going to have fireworks at the high school this year. I haven’t seen fireworks in years. I do enjoy them myself. 😛

  3. Congrats on the newlyweds, and on the upcoming arrival of a new grand! So exciting! Our daughter has been engaged for about a month now, so we are getting busy with the wedding planning. So much fun! Happy Wednesday!

  4. You do have lots of excitement at your house : ) Enjoy your rest and the 4th too!

  5. Funeral homes also interest me. Last season on “The Bachelor” one of the girls worked for one, and showed a little bit about the embalming process. Needless to say, she was NOT chosen. Ha! It was starting to make me feel a little queasy myself :/

  6. What excitement at your house! Congrats on the new grand! Doesn’t it feel good to kinda breath after the wedding. Enjoyed your answers. A funeral home… that would be kinda interesting. Thanks for remembering my daughter.
    until next time… nel

  7. You really did have a big “family” weekend. Congratulations for being a grandma in the making again.

    I like fireworks OK. I have a friend that loves Washington D.C. more than I do and she drove from Michigan to see fireworks on the Mall over the Washington Monument with her daughters. That’s the farthest I heard.

    Do rest now..

  8. Glad you said it, but I’ve always been interested in the embalming process. The other night my son and I were talking about the bell ringers (those buried, but not dead) and we wondered if anyone had ever “woke up” at the mortuary. Just curious about that stuff.

    We had our daughter’s wedding earlier in the month. I went back and read your wedding post and relived some of those “detail” moments. We’ve had a relaxing three weeks since and I think I’ve needed all three of them. We, too, used the Reflections plasticware. Love that stuff. It looks so real.

    Happy 4th!

  9. What a great time to relax with the wedding over. A funeral home? Ok well that was a first.

  10. I get the heeby jeebies just walking into a funeral home – and I don’t linger around. No way you’d get me behind the scenes. My mom told me when she was a little girl, one of her friend’s father was the local mortician. She said they would go to the funeral home and play hide and seek in the caskets. Oh My Goodness!!!

  11. Sounds like a lot of excitement in your house. You need/deserve some much needed rest.
    Funeral Home—-now there is a place I don’t want to go behind the scenes. Have a restful week.

  12. I love St. Simon’s! Haven’t been there in YEARS!

    I had to take a minute and rest after the lovelies left Sunday. It took until yesterday to recover. LOL

  13. Hey there. Thanks for the comments. I just went out to feed the fish. We have babies, about 8 or 9 of them. I discovered them last week and they seem to be growing and changing color from the blackish brown they are when they hatch to whatever color they’ll be…its exciting. We had 3 when we moved from Memphis but of course we left them there. We’ve only had fish in the pond here for a year so didn’t expect babies so quickly.
    * I use Clinique too with some Almay thrown in. I guess I would have to say the anti aging creams are expensive. I’m out of “all about eyes” right now, hoping for a bonus event.
    *The last live fire works show we saw was at Chickamauga Battle Field outside of Chattanooga when we lived there. Mostly we just watch them on TV.
    *I think I stand for most patriotic songs. Do you know the Inspirational song: Freedom’s Never Free? That one always gets me on my feet.
    *I would say Honey Bear and I are opposites in some ways but our basic beliefs are the same.
    Now, I’m going to read the other posts I’ve missed.
    Mama Bear


Leave a Reply

