That Was The Week That Was…

Last week turned out to be “one of those weeks”!

It all began the weekend of July Fourth…with the flooded closet (that houses our heating/air unit) in the middle of the house…and a necessary weekend visit from the A/C repairman.  We’re still watching this problem, as the A/C leaked in the closet a little bit more this past weekend…

Later in the week, while shopping on-line, I encountered a problem when I clicked the “place order” button.  Something went horribly wrong, and I ended up with a duplicate order and duplicate charge on my credit card!  Thank goodness for helpful customer service representatives!  They are few and far in between, but they do still exist!

Then came the ridiculous verdict of “that trial”… you probably already know my feelings about that!  Grrrrr…

On Wednesday afternoon, I received two envelopes in the mail–from our bank!  Apparently, in the excitement before Brad’s wedding, I made two deposits–to the wrong checking account!  (we have two)  For several days, I was paying the monthly bills using a checking account with little money in it!  Oops!  I quickly headed to the bank the following morning–but not before two more checks got to the bank.  Fortunately, the bank kindly covered the checks and drafts for me, but charged me a total of one hundred and twenty dollars to do so.  Ouch!  Expensive lesson learned–double-check the numbers on my deposit slips, and make sure I get the money into the right account!

On Thursday my “check engine” light came on in my car…It does this occasionally.  Usually it goes off on its own.  Last time I looked, it was off.  Hope it stays off!

Apparently, I wasn’t the only one having a difficult time last week.  Our son, Brad, got a speeding ticket on July Fourth.  His “check engine” light came on last week, as well…Then on Sunday morning, he woke up, only to discover that he ran out of propane during the night–which meant no hot water and no working stove at his house!

Then there were several area burglaries around our area last week…  Two of these burglaries even happened at area churches!  One church had its stove and microwave stolen, while another had its A/C unit stolen.  It takes a lousy person to steal from a church!  Actually, it takes a lousy person to steal from anyone!  However,  I did find it amusing when I heard the pastor of one of the churches tell the newsman, “Whoever stole our A/C unit better hold onto it.  They’re gonna’ need it where they’ll be going!”  I whole-heartedly agree!

It’s Tuesday, which means I’m joining up for a ride on Tuesday Train.  Have a great day, everyone!

Photobucket

Published in: on July 12, 2011 at 8:35 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/that-was-the-week-that-was/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well thank goodness that week is over!! Wow what a week you had!. I heard about the church, it was on the news up here (Unless it was a different church). Yikes! This week has to be better, right?

  2. Like I’ve always said, Miss Kathy, you do not lead a boring life. Hopefully next week will be better.

    I hope your A/C troubles get fixed soon.

    😀

  3. Hope this week is a much better one for you!

  4. Goodness! Hope this week is better for you : )

  5. Your week has been eventful. All the wrong kind too. My husband has been drivng his S10 truck for years with a piece of tape over the check engine light. It worrys me but he says it’s fine.

    Poor Brad and love the minister’s thoughts on the AC thief. You are all due some good luck now.

  6. Well….we had a similar week down here – so hope it’s over!

    My first job was in a bank – back before huge conglomerate banking. In those days – a mistake like yours would have been caught and correct without charging the customer an arm and a leg – I know ’cause I was one of those folks whose job it was to look for things like that. Oh well…..progress 🙂

    Thanks so much for joining The Train!

  7. Whoa! What a week! Hope this next week is a MUCH better one for you!

  8. Oh my goodness Kathy, that is a whole bunch of ugly! Hope things are better now and continue to stay good for you and your family.
    I love what the pastor said!


Leave a Reply

