Wednesday Hodgepodge…July 13

1. How has your hometown changed since you were a kid?  When I was growing up, almost everyone in our town had lived here their entire life.  Everyone knew everyone, and knew each other’s family history.  This is no longer the case.  These days, we have about as many “transplants” as we do “locals”.  We have a military base located nearby, and many military families have chosen to settle here when their tour of duty is over.

The downtown area used to be the busy home of two grocery stores, three drug stores, a jewelry store, three clothing stores, a hardware store, a furniture store a bank, and a cafe.  These days there isn’t much of anything in the downtown area except the bank, two drug stores, and a couple of furniture stores.

What has changed most about the neighborhood you grew up in? The neighborhood I grew up in has become “rundown”.   Most, if not all of the people who lived there forty-five years ago, have either died or moved someplace else.

2. What song makes you laugh?  Several songs have made me laugh over the years, most of them belonging to Ray Stevens!  Who could forget “The Streak” (don’t look, Ethel!), “Guitarzan”, or “The Mississippi Squirrel Revival” ?  I also loved Johnny Cash’s,  “One Piece At A Time”, and “A Boy Named Sue”!   However, I really love this newer song by Sugarland– and the music video made me laugh when I saw it!

3. Are you a fan of Harry Potter? Read the books? Seen any/all of the movies? Will you be standing in line somewhere close to midnight later this week? For those of you playing along today who live outside the US or UK is Harry Potter a phenomenon in your part of the world?

My answer to all of the above questions is “No”.  Sorry, no fan of Harry Potter here.

4. If the truth hurts, will you tell a lie? Well, here it is…the thought-provoking question of the week!  I do not believe it is ever okay to tell a lie, but that being said, it’s something that we’ve probably all done for one reason or another– at some point in our lives.  I’ve told a lie, to spare someone’s feelings” on more than one occasion, and of course I’ve participated in the “Santa Claus”, the “Toothfairy”, and “Easter Bunny” lies over the years.

 Are we better off as a society in a world that allows no form of deception whatsoever?  My childhood wouldn’t have been as fun without Santa, the Easter Bunny, or the Toothfairy…and I’ll leave it at that.

5. What is your favorite ‘sautéed in garlic and butter’ food? Or garlic and olive oil if that makes you feel better.  I don’t care much for garlic, but my favorite sautéed food would be onions and bell peppers–served with  grilled steak!

6. Attending any reunions this summer/year? High school? family? Other? Do these events stir up excitement or dread?  My answer to all of these questions is once again, “NO”!  I avoid reunions of all kinds, if at all possible.  Years ago, my husband and I made a pact to stop attending reunions because neither of us enjoyed them…the crowds, the fight to get some food, a few people doing all the work, while all others did nothing…Ugh!

7. Lilac, hydrangea, peony…pick one.  Hydrangea, definitely!  I love them, but I can’t grow them–I’ve tried.  I had a hydrangea bush at our old house.  It never grew or bloomed until I moved and left it!

Random:  Our son,Brad, got a special birthday surprise on Monday.  He was blessed with the gift of a new niece when Jennifer’s brother and his wife, Ashley, welcomed a baby girl on Brad’s birthday! The baby was named after Jennifer’s mom, who passed away last summer.

Published in: on July 13, 2011 at 8:21 am  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/wednesday-hodgepodge-july-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love the Sugarland video too-it’s cute! Sweet baby name-I’m sure she will be specially loved by all.

  2. That video was HILARIOUS! I loved it!

    I think…wait! What do you mean SANTA lie? LOL

  3. Hi Kathy, thanks for your visit to my place today… congrats on the new baby…I love babies as you can tell from my history… have a good day.
    Hugs, Baba

  4. Hi Kathy, congrats on the new baby… I love babies as you can tell from my history.Have a good day. Hugs, Baba

  5. Hi!
    Love that song video. Now it’s stuck in my head. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Food for Thought

  6. njoyed this look back at how asmall southern town has changed. I, too still laugh at ray stevens music videos, Have to wait til get my earphones!

  7. enjoyed this look back at how asmall southern town has changed. I, too still laugh at ray stevens music videos, Have to wait til get my earphones to listen and watch your video!

  8. guess we were thinking alike with the Ray Stevens songs.
    Mama Bear

  9. I love Sugarland/Jennifer Nettles although my youngest grandson said his Mom “Woowhoos” better than me.( From their “All I Want to Do” song.) Like her hair in the Glue song.

    We’re all Harry Potter fans. Even have a cat named after him from when my daughters were young.

    My hometown lost the family owned stores. It’s so sad to see that happen. They knew you and your family by name.

  10. Great video 🙂

  11. I love that song, but had never seen the video. Funny! You wouldn’t think they would put it with that song.

  12. That’s sad about your hometown. I have only seen a few HP movies.
    Yum, I could go for a steak with onions & peppers on it. That’s fun news on Brad becoming and uncle!

  13. Ray Stevens! That’s the first thing I thought of when I read the question too. That music video was pretty funny, thanks for sharing that.


Leave a Reply

