I Can’t Believe…

I can’t believe it’s already the middle of July!  Didn’t we just celebrate Memorial Day?  I, also, can’t believe that our local schools will be starting back in just two more weeks!  The stores are already heavy laden with book bags and school supplies.

I can’t believe I bought myself a dozen “rainbow-colored” roses this week, but yes, I did!   On Thursday, while I was at the grocery store, they were selling fresh roses for $8.99 per dozen.  It was a price too good to pass up!  The bouquet contained white, yellow, red, and pink roses.  My husband arrived home from work, and asked “Where did those roses come from?” Too bad I’m not quick on my feet…I could’ve had some fun with him!

I can’t believe my daughter and I have a clothesline in the yard again–after many, many years!  I wrote a blog post a while back about how I missed laundry on a clothesline.  My daughter said she, too, missed having a clothesline.  We bought some new line, and got our husbands to put the poles back up!  I haven’t used the clothesline yet, but my daughter has!  It’s very nostalgic to see clothes hanging in the yard…

I still can’t believe that a woman, whom two-thirds of Americans believe was “guilty”, has been found “not guilty”, was allowed to walk free at midnight on Sunday, and will probably end up making a lot of money…Only in America!

I can’t believe that our air conditioning unit is still leaking in our hall closet!  We’ve cleaned the coils twice with Electrasol, but they still aren’t shedding the water properly.  Why can’t things just be simple?  At the moment the closet floor is not only missing its tiles, but its covered with a plastic tray and a towel!

I can’t believe the new show on Lifetime called “Dance Moms”!  I don’t know who is more disgusting–the dance instructor or the mothers of her students!  I sat there watching the show for an hour, shocked that adults would behave in such a way!  What ever happened to acting civilized?

I can’t believe my hubby and I are going for a visit to the beach later in the week! Our daughter and her family have rented a condo, and have invited us to join them for a night or two.  Whoo Hoo!

I can’t believe how greedy “Netflix” has become!  It’s been one of the best bargains in entertainment–until now!  They are nearly doubling their monthly fee for instant streaming, and renting dvd’s by mail.  What’s up with all that?  I’d already discontinued my subscription for the summer…don’t think I’ll be in a hurry to rejoin.

That’s about it for me today.  I can’t believe it, but I may go and wash a load of clothes, then hang them out on the clothesline to dry…for old time’s sake.  Have a great Monday, everyone!

Published in: on July 18, 2011 at 8:51 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/07/18/i-cant-believe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Kathy, what a refreshing post…I can relate to most of it.
    We have lived in Subdivisions where hanging wash on a line was one of the no-no’s of the homeowners association. But we’re in the county now so it would be nice to have a clothes line. It would be challenging to find a spot where it wouldn’t be under a tree limb. I dry most of my clothes for a few minutes then hang in the laundry room to finish drying.
    I haven’t received a message from Netflix yet that I know of, Daughter told me about it though. It is one of the things which I am about to give up so that’s alright.
    I hate to say it but as long as someone watches those shows they will continue to stay on. These days, I watch Hallmark channel a lot.
    I, also, heard about “the verdict” through someone else. Haven’t watched the news lately.
    Wonderful news about the beach. I hope you and your husband have fun and that you don’t end up doing the baby sitting like I did once when I went with relatives.
    Happy Monday,
    Mama Bear

  2. I’m not so sure that if she makes any money at all from her story, that she will get to keep any of it. After all she will have to pay taxes on it and she is being sued so now she will have lawyers to pay for. No more free lawyer! And I’m sure some fines as well.

    Did you know that Clothes lines have a new name now? They are Sola Powered Clothes dryers! Funny how things change, right?

    Schools don’t start here until After Labor Day but the stores are like yours, busting with “Back to School” offers! YUCK

    Sorry about your home AC unit, hope they fix that soon, still have some hot days to get through.

    I don’t watch Reality shows, they are not real!

    Loved you post today.

  3. What pretty roses! I miss a clothesline too. I think we’re too wooded here to try one but it makes me think of being a little girl and helping my mom hang laundry on the line.

    Have a great time at the beach!

  4. The roses are beautiful. I would have bought them too.

    I don’t get Netfliz but my daughter does. I did hear that the movie studios that have contract renewals with Netflix, are going to up their fee to distribute. That’s why the price is going up.

    I loved my clothesline. I can’t have one here and I miss it.

    Enjoy the beach where it’s always 5:00 somewhere.

  5. We aren’t allowed to have clotheslines in this dumb subdivision we live in. I guess they don’t appreciate the smell of clothes that have dried on the line.

    What’s this about Netflix? That’s what we have. They better not go up. I’ll cancel on them.

  6. Oh the smell of fresh air dried sheets….
    I always feel so good when I buy flowers for myself; the do put you in a good mood. Have fun at the beach it looks like we will be heading back this weekend with 101 temps coming our way..yikes! We are not used to this here. Back to school has me a bit cuckoo, our kids do not go back until September and the stuff is everywhere!!

  7. I CAN believe you always deliver interesting posts! Have fun at the beach.

  8. We can’t have clothes lines in our subdivision, but I’ve never been a fan of them … I prefer the softness of clothes dried in the dryer.

    I was seriously considering subscribing to Netflix this fall, but not now … just too much money. We’ll just continue to do Redbox (there’s one just a half mile up the road … on the way to just about anywhere we go).

    Have fun at the beach!

  9. I love your roses, and yes, you could’ve had some fun with Mr. Ed. Teehee! 😛

    I’m so glad that you get to go to the beach as a guest this time. I hope you have tons of fun. 🙂

    Have a great week. 😀


Leave a Reply

