Wednesday Hodgepodge…July 20

It’s time to join Joyce for my weekly dose of fun with her “Hodgepodge”.  Here are this week’s questions:

1. July 20th marks the anniversary of the first time man stood on the moon. Flash forward 42 years to July 8, 2011 which marked the start of the final Space Shuttle mission. Should we continue to explore space?  If our country’s economy wasn’t in such bad shape, I would gladly say “yes”, but given our current situation I’ll have to shout a hearty “No”.  Let’s pay our national debt, then we can talk about everything else!

Should nations devote more or fewer of their resources to exploring space?  If a nation has the resources, then, yes,  I think they should continue to explore space and learn new things.

Would you want to go into space if the opportunity arose?  I’m afraid of heights, and confined spaces, so what do you think?!

2. What are three things in your freezer?  I have a lot more than three things in my freezer(s,) but the most important things to me are : my stash of shelled, frozen pecans, my freshly cannned quarts of sliced, frozen peaches, and my freshly canned quarts of  stewed tomatoes.

3. If you could see any band/artist perform live tonite who would it be? It has to be someone living…no Beatles, Elvis, etc.  Creedence Clearwater Revival!  Their music takes me back to the seventies every time I hear it!  Love them or hate them, nobody else has ever come close to their unique sound!  (I hope it doesn’t  matter that one member of the band has passed away)

4. Ice-cubed or crushed? Or are you one of those people who don’t like ice?  I love crushed ice!  My favorite crushed ice is the softer, chewy kind!!!  We used to have a crushed ice dispenser, but our new fridge doesn’t have this feature, so I’m stuck with regular ice!

5. The owner of a small restaurant outside of Pittsburgh recently announced he was banning children under six, saying they regularly disrupted other customer’s meals. You can read the story in more detail here but isn’t this a perfect topic to discuss in our Wednesday Hodgepodge? Have at it friends…what are your thoughts?  I think it’s a dirty rotten shame that some parents with “unruly children” have ruined dining in the restaurant for everyone with children!  There are still some civilized parents and children out there.    Unfortunately, having been in restaurants with some of those “unruly children” myself, I totally understand and respect the restaurant owner’s decision!  Have you been out in public around some children lately?  It’s a jungle out there…

6. What was your first car? How did it come to be yours?  I didn’t have a car before I got married–because I didn’t have a driver’s license!  It was eight years into our marriage before I got my driver’s license and “my first car”–a silver 1977 Mercury Monarch.  My husband bought the car for me first, then I got my license–a week later!

7. If I had a nickel for every time I __went to the bathroom__ I’d be rich.  (Sad, but true!)

Random:  I received two special surprises this past weekend!  My friend, Cindy, and my daughter, Brandy, both decided to start blogs!  Both ladies have been long-time readers of my blogs, so I’m now thrilled to be able to read their blogs as well!  If you have a moment, click on their names, and check out their blogs! It will make their day!

Thanks, Joyce, for another fun Wednesday Hodgepodge!  Today I’ll leave you with one of my favorite songs…from one of my all-time favorite groups.

Published in: on July 20, 2011 at 9:00 am  Comments (10)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/07/20/wednesday-hodgepodge-july-20/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good questions and answers. I know we don’t need to spend money we don’t have. That said, the space program brought some amazing technology into our lives.
    I agree with you about the restaurant…I wish there were still some restaurants with dress codes where a couple could go for a nice, quiet, romantic dinner. I don’t mean they need to require tie and jacket but no sweats please.
    My first car was a ’64 Camaro. Wish I still had it. And like you, I was married when I got my license and my husband bought me my first car.
    Have a great day.
    Mama Bear

  2. I love CCR-I’ll give you a pass on the dead band member. I will check out those blogs eventually. Technically I should not be on line right now : )

  3. I enjoy listening to Creedence Clearwater Revival.

    I agree, we need to pay off our national debt

  4. My husband can play all of CCR songs and does often. I love hearing them over and over again! “Stuck with regular ice” made me laugh. Our fridge doesn’t even make ice, we have the ice trays in the freezer!! Thanks for the laugh.

  5. I like CCR too. They make you want to get up and dance. I am now a follower of Brandy’s blog. I tried to leave a comment, but couldn’t. She e-mailed me a few days ago and said she tried to leave me a comment and couldn’t. HELP !!! Boy, we’ve both still got so much to learn. 😀

    And, I can’t figure out how to do the Wednesday Hodgepodge. LOL

  6. I agree with you on #1 but I don’t trust them to pay off our debt. They will continue to give it away to foreign countries or banks who party with it! You sound like my sister in law, she didn’t drive either when she was married. She had failed many time but finally got it. I have never canned anything, I am so impressed. When do you find time?

  7. Oh, I wish we had some peaches in our freezer. I love fresh peaches, but I cannot find anyone who’s selling RIPE peaches. All the orchards are picking them too green … to the point where some I bought last year just rotted before they ever ripened up on the counter. 😦

  8. Love CCR. “Bad Moon Rising” and “Who’ll Stop the Rain” big sigh…. short trip down memory lane there. I stopped by both Cindy and Brandy’s Blogs and kept getting kicked out of comments, then it would show annonymous… That is soooo agravating!

    My first car was a year old neon orange Camero. Wish I could get one now.

    My favorite ice is the kind you buy in a bag. It is so cystal clear that iced tea looks delicious in the glass. I’ve been known to buy a bag just for my tea.

  9. oops…forgot to tell you to stop by. I have something for you.

  10. I love pecans! Especially when they are in ice cream 🙂


Leave a Reply

