Mindless Monday…

our solar powered dryer

It’s Monday…after three days of being gone and having a grand ole’ time at the beach.  The suitcases are still packed, I have a mountain of dirty laundry to do, and I am bone weary tired…Hence, the title, “Mindless Monday”.  Just a few random thoughts, because I don’t have time or energy to write anything with much substance!

We had a great time on our trip.  We enjoyed sharing a condo with our daughter and her family, and we are thankful that they invited us to tag along and share their vacation.  As always, we had fun together.  I think I’ll save my fun tales of our adventures for another day, when I have more energy.

I’m washing clothes while I blog–actually the washer is washing clothes while I blog… I’ll be trying out my “solar-powered dryer” again in a few minutes.  I was advised of this new name for the clothesline by my blog friend, Lynne Marie, from Life Through Bifocals.    

Speaking of Lynne Marie, I just love the title of her blog!  Most of us over age forty tend to view life through our bifocals!   In fact, sometimes, if the print on a label is really small, hubby and I will resort to looking through TWO PAIRS of bifocals!  I used to laugh whenever I saw Ed put on two pairs of glasses, but this past year I’ve tried it myself–and it works great!  Never say never!

Since I’ve been using my new “sola dryer”, I’ve been reminded of a few things that I’d forgotten.  Like–it takes a lot more effort than using the regular dryer!  I used to complain about having to bend down to take ONE load of clothes out of the dryer…until I realized that I have to bend down A BUNCH OF TIMES whenever I hang out a load of clothes!  It’s like doing “touch your toes” exercises!  We are a spoiled generation, I tell you!   Thank heavens I don’t have the old wringer-type washing machine, too! 

I guess I’ll have to get back into the kitchen today, and cook a meal.  I have NOT missed cooking one bit.  In fact, I stayed FAR  AWAY from the kitchen while we were on our little vacation.  I used to enjoy finding my way around someone else’s kitchen, but that thrill has long passed!  Cooking is still cooking–no matter whose kitchen it’s in!  Again, thank goodness I don’t live in the day when women had to cook on a wood stove–in ninety-five degree heat–with no air conditioning!

That’s going to be it for my tired mind today.  I’ll be visiting everyone’s blogs the rest of the day, and catching up with what’s going on in blog land.  Have a great Monday…I’ll be back tomorrow, rested and ready to write!

Published in: on July 25, 2011 at 12:12 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/07/25/mindless-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you so much for the shout out! That was so kind of you. Love the Solar clothes dryer, I love the smell of clothes that have hung out in the fresh air for a while! And as for “Touching your toes” to collect the clothes to hang, well, that’s just an added benefit. So glad you had a good time at the condo and didn’t cook, after all it’s your vacation too!!!

  2. My brain is tired today too so I’m full of random today too. Still enroute home so haven’t even thought about the waiting laundry. Glad you enjoyed your beach trip!

  3. I’d be willing to try a solar clothes dryer if I could be assured that clothes come out soft and wrinkle-free like they do when I use the electric dryer. 😉

    So glad you enjoyed your time on the beach (but hey, it was the beach AND family … it just doesn’t get much better than that!). I’m eagerly waiting for mid-September when we’ll get a trip to the beach. It won’t be with our family, but it will be to the beach. 😉

  4. I have always loved a clothesline and my daughters have always hated it. It is more work. The clothes smell better, but they are stiff as boards. I did not like toweling off with a wind starched towel after a bath. And, bluejeans,…. they were always scratchiy. But, it was cheaper and at that point, with all the girls home, I was a big fan of cheaper! I would still do it if the condo society would let me, but they have rules against everything. Like no beach towels hanging of the porch rails after visiting their pool. Grumps.

  5. Oh yes, a spoiled generation indeed. And I do THANK GOD we don’t have to have those wringer style washers! 🙂

  6. I’m embarrased to admit, I’ve never had a clothes line in my yard. I’ve always used a dryer. I remember my aunt used to have a clothes line in the basement during the winter months. She never owned a dryer.

  7. Glad you had a great time at the beach. Love your solar powered dryer and we are spoiled! I also enjoy Lynn Marie’s blog. I only deal with reading glasses and I have them all over the house!


Leave a Reply

