Dreamin’ About A Sunny Beach…On A Rainy Tuesday

Yesterday afternoon, I got a call from my sister-in-law, asking me where were the beach photos on my blog!  She said that she was in need of “a beach fix”!  This from a sister-in-law who lives in sunny Florida–land of beautiful beaches!  Then, I woke up this morning to the sound of rain on the roof.  It’s a dreary day outside, so I’m in the mood to share some “sunny memories” of our recent beach trip. 

These pictures are for you, Kay, and I have a few words for my brother, too…”take your wife to the beach!”  🙂

This photo was taken our first afternoon on the beach.  I like to think of it as “Two men and a little lady“.  These men (her dad and her “E-pa”) have made sand castles with Madison every summer for the past four years of her life.  Sweet memories in the making…

Meanwhile, during the castle-making,  I was sitting in my favorite spot on the beach–in front of the “Sandy Bottoms” beach bar and grill listening to Friday night’s band.  It was a jazz band on Friday night.  Not my favorite type of music, but, still, they were sounding pretty good. 

I enjoyed Saturday evening on the beach much better, listening to the sounds of different band who played what seemed like everything under the sun!  They played and sang a little “Patsy Cline”,  “Otis Redding”, “Sly and the Family Stone”, “The Eagles”, “Linda Ronstadt”, “Wilson Pickett”, and even “Rod Stewart”, just to name a few!  Later in the evening, some people were even dancing in the sand on the beach–and our granddaughter was one of them!

Ed and I are “early birds”, so every morning we get up early to enjoy some beachtime.  We ate breakfast on the beach both mornings!  It’s so peaceful and quiet out there, before the sun comes out and the crowds arrive!  It’s probably the best time of the day.

It sort of makes us feel guilty as we sit and eat our sausage, eggs, or pancakes– while watching the locals do their morning exercise routines on the beach.  The girl jogging in the photo, had the most unusual running style I’ve ever seen.  She sprang up off the sand using her toes, with each step that she took.  I’m sorry, but I just can’t “spring” at seven o’clock in the morning…

I really love watching the birds fly over the ocean–especially the pelicans.  I was lucky enough to snap this picture as a group of them flew over.  We also saw a couple of dolphins swimming in the surf in front of us, but I wasn’t lucky enough to get a picture of them.

Ed and I must look like “animal lovers” because every time we go to the beach, we attract a group of seagulls.  Usually they just stand close to our chairs and look at us with their “hungry eyes”. 

On our last trip, I actually bought a bag of animal crackers to share with the birds every day.  They ate the crackers, but didn’t seem overly impressed.  I noticed that the birds soon learned to dip their cracker in the ocean to soften it,  then they could swallow it!  Smart birds, huh?

On our final morning at the beach, we made a new friend when Ed spotted this little fellow next to his chair.  We enjoyed playing peek-a-boo with him, while trying to take his picture.  He was a pretty good-sized sand crab, but he could move in and out of that hole in a flash!  We had a hard time seeing him in the screen of the camera since he blended in so well with the sand…

Looking at these photos is already making me want to take another beach trip!  These days it’s my favorite place to be.  I feel blessed that we only live a couple of hours away. 

Guess what?!  I’m celebrating a birthday at the end of next month, and guess where I want to go to celebrate?!  I’ve already reserved a hotel room–on the beach!  If I’ve gotta’ grow another year older, at least I can celebrate it in a fun way, right?

 
Photobucket

I’m riding the Tuesday Train today.  If you’d like to ride along, all you have to do is click the train to find out how!

Published in: on July 26, 2011 at 10:54 am  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/07/26/dreamin-about-a-sunny-beach-on-a-rainy-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks like you guys had a great time! Stopping in from a Tuesday hop. Have a great day!
    Michelle
    Heartfelt Balance Handmade Life

  2. I love the beach but it has been too darn hot to good. OK, I’m a little pickie. I don’t like it too hot or too windy or too crowded. It’s only a 15 minute drive for us so I keep thinking I have time, but the days are flying and we haven’t been yet. As my middle daughter says, ” Put on yout big girl pants ( or bathing suit in this case) and just do it.”

  3. I want to go to the beach now, early before anyone else is there, with breakfast and eat while the sun rises. Thanks.

  4. I think you can’t get enough of a good thing! Thanks for sharing your pics. Don’t you love how they can take you back to re-live the moment?

  5. Whaaaaaa! I need a trip to the beach! Your pictures look like my kind of beach trip-lots of looking at the ocean.

  6. I want a trip to the beach, too!!! We’re at least 12+ hours from the nearest beach, so we don’t get there nearly as often as we’d like. Where did you go? And where are you going for your birthday!

  7. Oh what great pictured!!! I haven’t been to the beach in a long long time – and it’s one of my most favorite places on earth. Looking at your pictures make me miss it even more – I need it to cool down so I can go the beach and actually go to the beach!

    Thanks so much for joining the Tuesday Train!

  8. Awesome pictures. Looks like a wonderful time. I haven’t had my feet in sand in a very long time. I think it’s time for a trip to the beach! Thank you for sharing your fun times.


Leave a Reply

