Monday, Monday…Because You Asked…

Recently, some readers have asked a few questions in with their comments.  Today I thought I’d answer some of those questions in this post–because you asked!

Someone asked about the possums that I was holding in Friday’s photo:  That picture was taken about 5 years ago, while I was volunteering at our local animal shelter.  A guy acctidentally ran over the mother possum, but rescued her babies and brought them to the animal shelter.  About 6 of the babies survived, and were hand fed by the lady who worked at the shelter.  They were later given to a wildlife sanctuary once they were old enough to survive on their own.  I’m not a huge “possum fan”, but they were sort of cute–in a strange sort of way.

What kind of fertilizer do we use (to grow those strange-looking vegetables)  We actually didn’t grow that strange tomato in Friday’s photo, our neighbor did.  However,  I think my hubby uses 10-10-10  from Wal-mart.

Does your son favor a young Colin Firth?  Well, to tell you the truth, I didn’t even know who Colin Firth was until I “googled” him.  I soon learned that he’s an actor, who played in The King’s Speech, a movie that I haven’t seen.  I think I can see a bit of resemblance between Brad and Colin, especially while Brad is wearing the long curly wig in the crazy wedding rehearsal video.

Where did we go on our recent beach trip?  We went to Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, Florida.  As far as we’re concerned, it’s one of Florida’s best-kept secrets–and it’s close to us.  The beach isn’t normally very crowded, it’s clean, and the prices for hotels and condos are very reasonable.  We plan to go back to the same beach to celebrate my 57th birthday, and stay at the same hotel where we celebrated our anniversary.  Yes…we are creatures of habit.

When do I find the time to “can”  fruits and vegetables?  All I have these days is time, so that’s not a problem.  What I lack is “energy”!  I suffer from chronic fatigue on many days.  I used to pick, shell, and blanche everything myself–sometimes two or three bushels of peas or beans at once!  These days, I buy peas and beans already picked and shelled.  All I have to do is blanche and bag them.  Tomatoes and peaches are easy to prepare for the freezer, and I only prepare small amounts of them at one time.

What kind of photo scanner do I have, and am I happy with it?  I have a Lexmark X2690 scanner/printer.  I bought it at Big Lots for thirty dollars.  I’ve scanned hundreds of photos with it, and it always does a great job in reproducing the photos.  I’m  pleased with my scanner–and the price was great!

Did I share cake with Brad on his birthday?  No, actually I didn’t, and I feel kind of bad about that.  For the first time in 26 years, Brad didn’t have a birthday cake on his birthday.  I cooked lunch for Brad on the day before his birthday, and I had a Pepperidge Farm refrigerated cake for dessert that day because I figured that he’d get a birthday cake the next day.  Last year, Jennifer and I both got Brad birthday cakes, this year, neither of us got him one.  Oops! 

Thanks to each one of you for every comment that you leave on my blog.  I love hearing from you.  I’m trying to return visits, and leave comments.  Sometimes things happen, and I get a bit behind, but I do try.  Thanks for the “blog love”.

It’s a cloudy, rainy morning here–and I’m thankful for the rain.  However, I find myself longing for a place that looks like this video…Have a great Monday everyone!

 

Published in: on August 1, 2011 at 8:04 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/08/01/monday-monday-because-you-asked/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love Zac Brown Band…I’m going to see them in a couple of weeks as they’re playing with Kenny Chesney. Can’t wait!

    I’m with you on the time and energy-ugh.

  2. Great post.
    Mama Bear

  3. Love the Knee Deep video. All I need is that blue water and I’m good for hours. For Joyce: I’m too jealous for words.

    Think I’ll have to steal that video for my facebook page. It’s a good one.

  4. Nothing wrong with being a creature of habit…I’m one too. 😛

    As far as my scanner, it’s a Lexmark 2600X, so we almost have the same machine. I’m pleased with mine as well. 😀

    Thanks for the blog award. I think I did it right. Check it out at:
    http://youneverknowwithcindy-cindy.blogspot.com/

    Hope you have a great week. 🙂

  5. I’ve heard about Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach. I’ll definitely have to check it out … we always go to southern Florida in March, and that just might make a good stop for a couple of days on our way.


Leave a Reply

