Kathy’s Cure For Cabin Fever…

After spending the entire week closed up in the house, with the mini blinds drawn, trying to escape six consecutive days of 100 degree heat, it happened…I came down with “cabin fever”!  You know, the feeling– if I don’t get out of this house, I am going to go absolutely crazy!  On Saturday, I was as ill as a hornet, but by Sunday morning, I had formulated a cure for what was ailing me!

posing with the whales...LOL

My cure for “cabin fever” consisted of getting up at 6:30 on Sunday morning, throwing two lounge chairs and a cooler full of drinks into the trunk, then heading to nearby St. Simon’s Island! 

In addition to the chairs and coolers, Ed and I also packed our daughter and her family into the backseat to enjoy the trip with us!  My daughter loves the beach as much as I do–so she happily planted herself in the backseat to go along and share “my cure”.

an uncrowded picnic in the park

The weather for Sunday was predicted to be back near 100 degrees for the seventh day in a row, but I was a woman on a mission–to get out of the house for a day!  No way was I going to let the heat keep me inside for one more day!  I figured if there was any place around where the heat might be bearable, it would be beside the ocean–in the shade.

The weather man was “right on the money” again, and temperatures ranged from 98-101 degrees on Sunday afternoon, but we spent four wonderful hours lounging under the shade of those beautiful, large oak trees on St. Simon’s Island!  The breeze from the ocean made the heat tolerable, but it was still pretty warm–and would you believe, we managed to get sunburned in the shade?!

the view from our chairs

We strolled along the shore a bit, and waded in the water some.  The water was very warm.  In fact,the water was warmer than I ever remember it being, but it felt good.  Granddaughter, Madison, found a stray yellow balloon on the shore, and had  great time playing ball with it for a while.

cooling off and having a little fun...

The entire picnic area along the pier village, was practically deserted.  For a while we were the only ones under the massive oak trees, but eventually a few more families ventured out for picnics.  We had the place pretty much to ourselves–except for some black birds who came to share our lunch–and poop on us from the trees above!  Daughter, Brandy, got pooped on twice!

Madison shares her chips with her new "friends"...

We arrived back at home by 5:30 in the afternoon, a little sandy, a little burned, a little tired, but with no more “cabin fever”!  Relaxing by the ocean has a way of chasing my blues away, and making everything seem better!

Cost of the gas to get to the ocean…$30.00.  Cost of breakfast on the road…$7.00.  Cost of our picnic lunch…$5.00.  The peace of mind gained by taking the trip…PRICELESS!  Mission accomplished  🙂

Published in: on August 8, 2011 at 7:18 am  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/kathys-cure-for-cabin-fever/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ooooh, I LOVE St. Simon’s Island!! And I agree 110% that the best place to be when it’s hot is oceanfront!!

    • It looks like you all had a wonderful time … even if you did get a “gift” or two from the black birds. 😉

  2. One creative matriarch orchestrating a fun day for her family . . . also prtceless!

  3. We get our cabin fever in the winter when we have to plow our way out our two mile drive to get the county maintained roads. The highs here are in the 80’s in the summer…which means our lows in the winter are in the negative teens. But I can’t tolerate heat as well as Ivan the cold.

    Glad you found a tolerable place to cure your cabin fever 🙂

    Anna

  4. We have a beach trip scheduled for early fall. I can’t wait! Looks like a perfectly perfect day.

  5. I am envious of your trip to the ocean..it would certainly perk me up! 🙂

  6. I absolutely love St Simon’s! Great place! Isn’t it great how little things mean so much to kids? What a fantastic way to spend a day- hot or not!

  7. Being a new southerner. I am still indoors in the heat. I go out to water my dieing plants and come back in. You are a brave soul. I do envy you having the kids around to take your mind off the heat. I’m sure that and a gallon of iced tea makes it worth it.

  8. Surprisingly we have had a relatively cool summer, but I can totally relate anyways, as usually our summers are in the 90’s to 100’s. Actually it was pretty hot at kid’s camp and when we returned to the 68 degree weather last thursday evening we all got the shivers. Strange, huh?

    Looks like so much fun. Too bad we’re on the opposite side of the US or we’d join ya!

    • Oh and I forgot to mention, we have a new addition I posted about on my blog. I know you’d love to see pictures!

  9. I’m so glad that you got to spend the day at the beach. Me and my friend, Steve, have spent our afternoons at that very spot. Of course he usually tries to make the day “official” by climbing to the top of the lighthouse. Whew!!! 😛

    Great pictures. Thanks for sharing. 😀

  10. Good for you for pushing yourself and getting out.
    Looks like it was a great day!


Leave a Reply

