Wednesday Hodgepodge…August 10

It’s time for a little “Hodgepodge”.  Many thanks to Joyce for another great set of questions!  You really should join in, if you haven’t already.  It’s great fun.  Just click on Joyce’s little button at the top of this post for the details.  Have a great “hump day” everybody! 

1. If you could work for any one government agency which would you choose and why? (if you’re in the US here’s a helpful list)  I really have no idea what agency to pick, so I’ll say “the corp of engineers”.  The reason being, I have a very good friend who worked with them for many years, and always seemed to enjoy her job.  To me, that’s what’s most important, that you enjoy your job!

2. How difficult is it for you to forgive someone who refuses to apologize?  It’s sort of difficult for me to forgive a person, even when they do apologize…so you can only imagine how very difficult it would be for me to forgive if they refused to apologize at all!  Sometimes, I tend to hold a grudge for a while.  It’s one of my many faults, but I’m working on it!

3. What is your favorite meatless supper?  This question was difficult for me, because even though we don’t eat a LOT of meat, we ALWAYS eat a small portion of meat at every meal.  My answer would have to be a salad–but we usually have chicken fingers with our salad, too!

4. Wednesday August 10th is National Lazy Day…will you be celebrating? If so, tell us how so we can be lazy too.  Ha! Ha! Yes, I think I will be celebrating–by spending the day reading everyone’s “Hodgepodge” answers!

5. As a child did you have any special back to school traditions and if so, what were they? If you’re a parent did you carry on those traditions with your own children? 

I remember always getting some new back-to-school clothes (usually ordered from a  “mail order”catalog), and a new blue denim notebook–oh, and a pair of new shoes!   I loved getting new shoes!  My all-time favorites were my black and white saddle oxfords!   Now I’m really feeling old 🙂 

 The back to school tradition was pretty much the same with my own children, except they got more new clothes than I did–and their school supplies were a lot more exciting than a blue denim notebook!  My daughter grew up in the “Lisa Frank” era, while the boys grew up with “Trapper Keepers”.

6. Write a summer tongue twister.  She sells seashells by the sea-shore.  (Okay, I didn’t “officially” write that one–but it’s a good one, none the less!)

7. Would you be interested in observing a surgery or do you turn away when the nurse brings out the needle?  No, I don’t think I’d be interested in watching a surgery–unless it was a c-section  resulting in the birth of one of my grandchildren.  I could- and would- watch that surgery!  I love the miracle of birth.

Random:  Last night every one of our grown children and their families showed up at our house, one by one.  It wasn’t planned, just a spontaneous visit by each family.  It was a pleasant mid-week surprise, and I felt so blessed that everyone lives close enough to get together mid-week! 

Making the visit even more special was the fact that daughter-in-law, Christina, brought the dvd of her latest ultrasound, done yesterday.  We  sat around as a family, and looked at images of the baby who will  become the newest addition to our family in just a few more months.  To see those little hands, feet, even the face, was very special.  By the way, it’s official now–the baby is a boy, and he’ll be arriving around Christmas.  What a wonderful gift!!!

Published in: on August 10, 2011 at 8:07 am  Comments (14)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/wednesday-hodgepodge-august-10/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. #6-so many ‘cheaters’ in the HP today : ) I’m kidding of course!

    A baby boy at Christmas-how exciting! And technology is so amazing, isn’t it? I didn’t even have an ultra sound with my second. Now you see the whole little person.

  2. How wonderful … the ultrasound on DVD. A new grandson for Christmas? Sounds like the perfect Christmas gift! 😉 And you’re right … the miracle of birth is simply breathtaking.

  3. How exciting to watch the ultrasound as a family 🙂

    I’m with you, it’s rare that I don’t have meat, I even have chicken in my salad!

  4. Hey, Kathy, I enjoyed your answers.
    School started here this week in the city schools and the teachers went back in the County ones but the children don’t start until next week. I noticed the caution lights on in 3 places.
    We always got something new to wear, usually made by Mother.
    My Daughter makes a photo each year on the first day of school of her children. I think that’s a good idea.
    I don’t hold grudges and try really hard to forgive even when the person doesn’t acknowledge the incident. I find its harder to forget.
    You’re lucky to have the children close enough to drop in. That’s the way it was at my parents house.
    I often serve Spaghetti or Lasagna with no meat in the sauce. And we have vegetables without meat sometimes. But I do like meat and fish. I find protein is something I crave.
    Mama Bear

  5. Ultra sound on a dvd. I didn’t know they did that. What a great way to share the joy of seeing that little heart beat.

    I watched my husband’s vasectomy. He was on an IV drip of valium or someting. I found the proceedure very interesting. Afterward he thought he had been “exposed” the entire time, but he was covered with a sheet with a small hole in the area they needed to do the surgery. I never told him he was covered. I thought he needed to experience that “exposed” feeling we women feel for all of our proceedures. 4 months later I found out I was pregnant for daughter #3. Oops!

  6. 🙂 Christmas baby-I have two daughters-both born around Christmas–Daughter #1-December 30th and Daughter #2-December 26th!! We party from December 24-31

  7. Everything sort of went out of my head when I read the last part of this post! How exciting- a baby around Christmas?! Excellent! And such a great surprise having everyone come by! DoodleBug came by last night- I was thrilled!

  8. i think it was so creative how God brought everyone together to meet the baby at the same time 😉

  9. Such a great Christmas gift for your family. Congrats!

    Oh I loved the black and white saddle oxfords. I got them a couple different years.

  10. #4 was just funny!! Thanks for the laugh. So glad your family all showed up on the same night, how fun.

  11. What a wonderful family time, early introductions to the newest little one, or should that be preview rather than introduction?

  12. Having all of your children over…in the same evening…wow!!!! What a wonderful surprise! Congratulations on the news about your newest grandson-to-be!! Your life seems very rich indeed!!!

  13. How exciting – another grandson. Wouldn’t it be something if it were born on Caden’s birthday? 😛

    I’m glad you got to spend a little time with all of your family. 😀

  14. Congratulations on another grandchild! I bet it´s exciting to see him on the ultrasoundl
    We usually always have meat with our dinners too. It doesn´t seem like a complete meal without it.


Leave a Reply

