She Loves To…Fish!

Not long ago, a new country music song  came on the radio.  I didn’t know it at the time, but it was written and  recorded by former Georgia boy, Craig Campbell.  It turns out that Craig grew up just about 35 miles away from here, in the small town of Lyons, Georgia!  Who knew we had such talent so close by?!  The name of his newest song is “Fish”, and it’s a good one.

The first time I heard the song, I didn’t quite know what to think.  It’s a catchy, suggestive little song with a twist!   The song starts out making you think it’s about one thing–sex, then it turns out to be about something totally different–fishing!

The first time I ever heard the song, and realized what it was really about, I immediately thought of my mother-in-law!  If my mother-in-law had a theme song, “Fish” would be it!

For as long as I’ve known her,  my mother-in-law has loved to fish!  For years, she and her husband could be found sitting  on the banks of  nearby Glisson’s Pond, or the dock of Pineview Lake on any given afternoon when they both had some free time.  The two of them were known to fish well past dark, too–at least they said they were fishing!!!

One funny thing about my mother-in-law, though.  She has  always been content to let someone else bait her hook and take her fish off the hook!  Her husband willingly accepted this job, while she just enjoyed holding the pole, feeling the fish biting, then pulling the fish out of the water!

After her husband became ill and died, it looked as though my mother-in-law’s fishing days might be over, but as luck would have it, there was another willing fisherman in the family.  Ed’s youngest brother loves to fish, and he graciously took over the duty of taking his mother fishing!  He even baited her hook and took her fish off, too!  Thanks to the kindness of her youngest son, my mother-in-law was able to continue fishing for a few years longer.  Not much fishing goes on these days, but she still loves it!

This song and video is for my dear mother-in-law.  I think she’d love it!   She loves to fish..and I think she’d enjoy a great fishing song.

Photobucket

Published in: on August 16, 2011 at 7:45 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/she-loves-to-fish/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. YpurMIL, my mother. But Mother baited her own hook and took fish off, even catfish with their spines that could puncture you!

  2. What a grreat story! Sounds like a very nice woman.

  3. I’ve always admired a woman that can bait her own hook!

    What sweet memories ~ thanks for sharing.

    Hope you’ll join the Tuesday Train again next week!

  4. :0) That was a cute video!

  5. I like to fish : ) I hadn’t seen the video-thanks for the link.

  6. I used to love to fish with my daddy. Unfortunately, I don’t have anyone else to take me fishing. Maybe I’ll find a new fishing partner one of these days. 🙂


Leave a Reply

