We Shopped ‘Till We Dropped…

I used to purchase almost everything at Wal-mart, but in recent years, I’ve become a fan of the dollar stores. The Dollar General Store and Fred’s are my favorites. I buy the bulk of my supplies at these stores, then I go to the local grocery store or Wal-mart for the rest of the groceries that I need. Dollar store prices are comparable to Wal-mart, and I love not having to fight the crowds.

A few months back, my husband and I decided to build an “emergency supply” of groceries. Prior to this time, I would never buy extra supplies, even when an item was on sale.  I would only purchase what I would use immediately. Well, with age comes wisdom!  I finally realized it’s always a good idea to have at least a few days worth of extra food on hand, in case of an emergency–or in these days, in case of a failed economy!

I began my “stash” about a year ago, by purchasing a couple of extra sale items each week. Before long, I had a week’s worth of supplies, then I just kept adding to it. These days I think it would be safe to assume that we could survive on our “stash” for several weeks, perhaps even months.

I purchased four plastic storage tubs, and filled them with the extra groceries.  I use a sharpie pen to label each item with its expiration date, so I can easily read it.  Every month or so, I rotate the older groceries to my pantry.  Larger items, like paper goods, I keep in the laundry room, or in my husband’s storage shed.

In addition to buying extra sale items each week, I have built my “stash” by using coupons from the Dollar General Store. Every few weeks Dollar General offers $5.00 coupons, good off of a purchase of $25.00, or more. That’s a twenty percent savings. Hey, I’ll take it!  The catch is, the coupon is only good for one specific day.  I am so dedicated to using these coupons, that I took some coupons on vacation with me last month–and used them at the Dollar General Store at the beach!  I couldn’t miss that “one day only sale”!

This past Saturday my husband and I participated in what can only be described as a Marathon Shopping Trip.  We left home at 9:30 a.m. headed for the nearest Wal-mart, over 30 miles away, to buy our monthly supply of pet foods.

Earlier in the week, my husband and I had collected five of those  $5.00 off coupons for Dollar General.  The coupons were only good for one day–Saturday, August 20!  So, on our way to Wal-mart, we stopped at three different Dollar General Stores along the way! At every Dollar General Store, we each bought  $25 worth of groceries, which ended up only costing us $20 with the coupon.  We found two more coupons wadded up in our shopping carts, so we used those, too–at different stores!

By the time we got home, the trunk and backseat of my car was over-flowing!  After we got the car unloaded, we both needed a nap, but we were proud of our savings–and our stash.  I spent the rest of the afternoon putting the groceries away, and rotating stock.  Let’s just say, if the economy goes “bust”, I will have more than enough sugar, paper goods, laundry detergent, and bath soap to last us a while!  My next Dollar General shopping excursion will be for personal care items.  Gotta’ stock up on deotorant, shampoo, mouthwash, and toothpaste!  Can’t wait for the next “one day only sale”!


Photobucket

Published in: on August 22, 2011 at 10:40 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/we-shopped-till-we-dropped/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great idea!! We all should be stocking up – if for no other reason than the prices are going up so quickly, you’ll save yourself money in the long run if you buy it now. I remember back a couple of years ago when the economy was first going downhill – I saw an interview on TV of a lady who was just about to lose her job. She lived in a small town and about the only source of employment was a factory that was going out of business. She talked about every time she bought groceries she bought a little extra – an extra jar of peanut butter or an extra can of tuna fish – and how that was what she was going to have to live on until things got better. I’ve never forgotten that or forgotten how quickly any of us could find ourselves in the same situation. I’ve been stocking up too!

    Thanks so much for joining the Tuesday Train!!

  2. Way to go. Looks like you did a great job. I love have a large supply of things in the house. I don’t like to shop!

  3. Congratulations on stocking up. I need to do the same thing, cause the cupboards are looking pretty bare. Unfortunately, the checking account is also bare. Then, to top it off, Ashley’s car blew up on him today. I have NO idea what we’re gonna do. Please keep us in your prayers. Hope you have a nice rest of the week. 🙂


Leave a Reply

