Wednesday Hodgepodge…August 24

Here it is folks, nearly the last Hodgepodge for the month of August! Can you believe it? Many thanks to the hostess, Joyce, for doing such a fantastic job of coming up with these questions–even while she’s on the go!  Now– to provide some answers to her burning questions…because inquiring minds want to know.

1. What is something that bothers you if it’s not done perfectly?   One thing that sticks out in my mind is school bulletin boards!  I’ve decorated more than a few bulletin boards in my time, since I used to work at school.  I was always a stickler for getting the letters straight and even, as well as getting the rest of the things on the board spaced evenly. ( I always used a yardstick!)  It took me forever to do a bulletin board, but it looked nice when I finished!

2. Do you think a 6th sense exists? Explain.  Yes, I think a type of 6th sense does exist.  Sometimes people get a strong “feeling” about something.  This is what I refer to as the 6th sense.    For instance, I had a strong “feeling” that my second baby was a boy.  I was so sure, we went ahead and bought a boy outfit to bring the baby home in.  My “6th sense” was correct, and he wore his little sailor suit home from the hospital.

3. Do you say your goodbyes slowly, quickly, or not at all?  I say my goodbyes quickly.  No need to drag the agony out!

4. On a scale of 1-10, with ten being hot hot hot, what level of spice do you like in your food? What’s your favorite ‘spicy’ dish?   I don’t like spicy foods much, so I’ll say  “3”.  Chili is my favorite spicy dish, but I prefer it to be on the mild side.

5. What is one of your all time favorite commercial jingles?  I still love “I’d Like to Buy the World a Coke”, a jingle from the seventies.

6. Plane, train, boat or auto…your preferred method of travel?  I’ve only traveled by auto.  I’d sure like to try traveling on a train, or cruising on ship!  I don’t really have much of a desire to fly.

7. What is something you take for granted?  I don’t take it for granted anymore, but for 39 years I took good health for granted.  I used to complain about paying those health insurance premiums, because I never used my insurance!  Once I became chronically ill, I realized what wonderful gift I’d had for those 39 years!

Random:  Hubby and I have a beach trip planned for this weekend, but hurricane Irene has our plans up in the air. We’re watching the weather, and trying to decide what to do.  It looks like Irene will miss our coastline, but may still cause some high tides, wind, and possible rain…To go or postpone, that is the question.

Published in: on August 24, 2011 at 7:57 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/08/24/wednesday-hodgepodge-august-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve worked in a lot of schools and I especially dislike seeing an unfinished or sloppy bulletin board.

    Hope your beach plans work out!

  2. I love road trips and though I enjoyed it, I haven’t traveled by train since college. It was the perfect way to go back and forth for weekends home.

  3. I hope you and the hubby get your beach vacation.

  4. Hope you guys get your beach vacation.

    I wouldn’t mind taking a cruise (to Alaska) or a train ride (from Alaska through the Canadian Rockies). They’re so pricey that I don’t imagine we’ll ever do that … but I can dream about it. 😉

  5. Hmmmm… I say postpone, but after Katrina, hurricanes kinda make me nervous, even if I don’t live where they hit.

  6. Hmmmm…postpone the trip-you just never know for certain the path Irene will take.

  7. I don’t like spicy foods either. I enjoy the flavor but not the spiciness. I love mild chili’s mild salsas etc.

  8. I think if I were you, I would postpone the trip. It doesn’t sound like it would be very fun if “Irene” is present.

  9. It looks like Irene is changing a lot of plans, including yours. That stinks. I like your sailor suit story! Cute. We are getting rain here today but not because of Irene, we are getting something coming from the great lakes today and tomorrow and then Irene hits!YUCK!

  10. I think the coke ad wins today!

  11. I am a Frank’s Hot sauce kinda woman. Nothing much hotter. For Terry, we say, if it’s too hot for a 2 year old, it’s too hot for him.

    We are busy making plans for that witch Irene. She’s determined to arrive whether we want her or not.


Leave a Reply

