Random Tuesday Thoughts…

It’s been three whole days since I turned this computer on!  For me, that’s almost a record.  The truth is, I felt like I needed a break from the computer, so I took one.  Sometimes change is a good thing.

Jennifer and kids blow out candles

We started the three-day weekend off with a family gathering at our daughter, Brandy’s, house on Friday evening.  Jennifer had a birthday last Sunday, and I had one on  Tuesday, so the gathering on Friday evening was a late birthday celebration for the two of us.  Brandy and daughter-in-law, Christina took care of the cooking.  Brandy even baked and decorated a cake for us,  while Christina took care of the birthday decorations.  All we had to do was show up!  Everything was delicious, and I appreciate the hard work that went into preparing the supper for all of us.

Kathy and kids blow out candlesJennifer and kids blow out candles

Following the supper at Brandy’s house, Ed and I actually spent the rest of the three-day weekend at home…doing absolutely nothing.  Sometimes that’s the best kind of holiday.  We were both still somewhat tired from our adventures at the beach last week, so we used our long weekend to rest and relax.  At least I rested and relaxed–Ed seems to have a problem doing that!  He spent his time mowing the ditch, cleaning out his “man shed”, and raking the yard.  Those types of things are Ed’s idea of relaxation!  I took long naps, watched a movie, and read a book!

I finally decided to vacuum and mop a little on Monday.  That’s when Ed moved the washer/dryer to clean under them, and in the process,  discovered a leaking water hose behind the washing machine!  We just can’t seem to catch a break from water leaks this summer!  You know, we just got the leak fixed from the A/C unit, which is located in our hall closet.  In fact, I just mailed off the check for the final $436.00 repair bill!  That was for labor only since the leaking condenser coil was still covered under the warranty.  Thank goodness for small favors…I find myself thinking, what next? 

We were finally the recipients of two inches of much-needed rain on Sunday night!  We desperately needed it.  Lately, our water faucets have occasionally been spitting and sputtering.  Sputtering is not a good thing when you get your water supply from a shallow well!  We’ve been holding our breath that our well won’t run dry…Hopefully, those two inches of rain will buy us more time until we get more rainfall.

After the evening rain, I found myself thinking about all of those Labor Day campers.  I used to hate it when we went camping and it rained!  There is nothing worse than packing up wet camping gear–except for sleeping on the cold, hard, wet ground in a tent that leaks!  I’m happy that those days are in the past.

Speaking of days in the past…this morning brought an official end to summer for our granddaughter, Madison.  She officially began her school year at “Busy Beavers Preschool”.

Brandy and Madison outside of the school

I got up early, and went over to Maddie’s house because I wanted to be a part of her new adventure.  Madison was all dressed and ready to go!  In fact, she was a lot more ready to go than her mama was ready to let her go.  I took a few pictures, then rode with Brandy to take Madison to her first day of preschool.  Madison didn’t shed any tears…I can’t say that is true for the rest of us!  Where does the time go???
Photobucket
Published in: on September 6, 2011 at 10:17 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/random-tuesday-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m with Ed, can’t really sit around and do nothin! Must have a project going. That is relaxing to me…..

  2. I’ll relax with you. I have not problem just reading my book and letting the world go by.

    I remember my sister driving 30 minutes to be included in my oldest daughter’s first day of school. A the end of the day we went to the school and watched her get on the bus, followed the bus and then met her at the bus stop, taking pictures the whole time. That first day is special, even for preschool.

  3. I’m glad you got to relax some. And what a nice birthday party the kids threw for you and Jennifer. Is that a red tint I see coming through in Caden’s hair? And, I’m so proud of Madison. That’s a great preschool and Miss Michelle is a fine teacher. Take care and have a nice week. 🙂

  4. Happy Belated Birthday, Jennifer. 😀

  5. Sounds like a great weekend. Well not discovering the leak but besides that. My husband will never relax, always doing something outside. I don’t know how he does it after working all week long! We seldom get rain in the summer and it rained here on Monday too!


Leave a Reply

