Wednesday Hodgepodge…September 6

1. What is one piece of advice you would give a ‘just turning’ 21- year old adult? Enjoy your youth and freedom, these are some of the best times of your life,  but please think ahead and put some money aside for your future.  Pay yourself first!  Old age has a way of sneaking up on you, and it will be much more enjoyable if you’re well prepared.

2. Besides cooler weather (or warmer weather, depending on your hemisphere) what is one thing you are looking forward to this fall?  We are planning to have another Halloween Costume Party, and I’m looking forward to this.  Our last one, two years ago, was a lot of fun.  It’s a hoot to see what kinds of crazy costumes our family comes up with.

3. What sound lulls you to sleep?  The sounds of waves crashing on the beach is so relaxing to me, but since I don’t leave near the ocean, I usually rely on soft guitar music or a boring television show.  Soft rain falling on our tin roof works well, too.

4. September is National Preparedness Month…does your family have an emergency ‘kit’ and/or disaster plan in place?  Yes, we do have our emergency supplies ready.  I always keep gas in my car, in case of an emergency, and I have a “safe place” picked out in our house, in case of a tornado.

5. How has your blog changed since you started blogging? Or has it?  When I first began blogging, I blogged a lot more about the past.  I wanted have a record, for my children, of important events from throughout my life.  These days, I blog about present times nearly as much as I blog about the past–maybe even a little more.  My favorite posts are still about events of the past–what I refer to as “the good ole’ days”.

6. What’s something you’ve recently learned to do on the computer?  I’ve learned how to make video montages of my photographs and movies, and I’ve learned how to make photo books at shutterfly.com.  Both are fun and interesting ways to store and view photos.

7. Is a picture worth a thousand words?  Elaborate  Yes, I do believe that a picture is worth a thousand words.  I think great photograph–taken at the right place, at the right time– can capture and share the moment better than any amount of words.  I’m thinking of the images captured during disasters, primarily, but great wedding photographs, or candid shots, come to mind, as well.

Random:  Below is my latest video montage.  It’s a tribute to my husband, Ed, for all of the hard work he’s put into building our house.  He built most of our home, single-handed.  What started out as a game house, built using scraps from a lumbar yard, ended up being our “retirement home”,  in the end.  My video chronicles the house building, renovations, and some of the happy moments our family has shared since moving into our “retirement home.”  I lovingly refer to our home as “the house that love built”.

Published in: on September 7, 2011 at 7:31 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/wednesday-hodgepodge-september-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I loved the video…I love those Georgia pines too!

  2. A tribute to Ed. yes. but also a tribute to a couple literally making a home from scratch and filling it with love. Thank you for sharing this journey that your family has taken together.

  3. Home built with love it certainly a place where family will love to gather. Beautiful home your hubby did good. Very impressed with the video and music, I’m not that techi yet.
    Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  4. So many changes- so much love! What a great family you have! AND rain on a tin roof?! I’m jealous now!

  5. I enjoyed reading your answers and seeing the video…

  6. I love handing out the big candy bars but otherwise I don’t do Halloween. I don’t like to be in a costome. I bet you have a lot of fun, I’m the one missing out! I like white noise. The ocean waves are wonderful but I always feel like I have to go potty. I can’t imagine building from scratch like that but how awesome that was. You must have a ton of patience! The house is so pretty.

  7. WOW that is one great video and tribute to your husband. I hope you have lots of fun at your Halloween party.

  8. I’m definitely with you on #1.

    Beautiful tribute to your hubby.

    Hope your Wednesday has been a great one.

  9. 🙂 Video–great tribute to Ed! I like falling asleep to rain on a tin roof, also.


Leave a Reply

