Spinning My Wheels…

Do you ever feel like you are just spinning your wheels and getting nowhere?  That’s the way I’m feeling lately.  The more I try to hurry, the more behind I get.  I sleep less than I used to, but still get less accomplished!  Why is that?  Perhaps it’s  “the onset of old age”. 

The older I get, the slower I go–and I was never fast, even when I was younger!  People at work used to joke about how slow I walked down the halls at school.  I just never seem to get anything done fast–even walking. 

Okay, with all of this being said, I’m a woman on a mission!  I want to get more things accomplished!  I’m making a mental “to do” list, and I’m sticking to it!  I’ve tried this before, but somehow I always forget what’s on my list.  I should write things down, no?

First on my “to do” list is putting all of my digital home movies on dvds.  I thought I’d lost years worth of movie clips until a few months ago when my son, Brett, showed me where they were located on my computer.  Call me stupid (and  granddaughter, Madison, would fuss if she heard me say that word), but a couple of years ago I switched photo programs, and lost my movies in the process!

Next on my list is to back up my photos as well.  I have most of them on cd’s, but not all of them.  Foolish, yes?  I need to change that!  Until recently, most of my photographs weren’t even tagged, so you can imagine what a  mess I had with over ten thousand untagged photos.  I’d love to eventually get my favorite photos uploaded to Shutterfly albums.

I need to do some fall cleaning and organizing of the house.  Blah!  Funny, but this doesn’t rank very high on my “to do” list.  I just don’t enjoy housework much anymore.  It’s such a useless chore.  I clean up and the house just gets messed up again!  Recently, our granddaughter, Madison, has been pointing out my spider webs!  I guess I should take care of those soon.  Perhaps since Halloween is coming, I could pretend they are part of my Halloween decor???

I’m the queen of unfinished projects!  I have unfinished sewing projects, unfinished scrapbooking projects, unfinished crocheting projects, unfinished cookbook projects…I could go on and on.  I need to get some of this stuff finished!  I don’t know why I have so much trouble finishing a project…perhaps because I am so slow?  Forgetful?  A shirt of Ed’s has been waiting for over two months to be mended!  The repair will take all of five minutes.  I really need to mend that shirt! 

I’m going to be dedicating more time to some of these projects in the next few days, in hopes of getting some things accomplished.  Maybe I will finally get some “traction”,  stop my wheels from spinning, and get them moving in a forward direction!  I’ll let you know how it goes…eventually!

Published in: on September 8, 2011 at 7:44 am  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/08/spinning-my-wheels/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have a million things on my mental to do list too…I do write a list almost daily though, otherwise I’d accomplish nothing. Good luck with your tasks!

  2. I know the feeling. I always have an ongoing list hanging in my office. If I don’t write it on the list, I don’t get it done.

    I want to put all my vhs home movies onto DVD. Do you have an idea how to do that?

  3. I send all my photo to Kodak, have been doing this since 2004! That is a big project you have before you.
    I have a cabinet of pictures that should be in albums. I don’t ever see that getting done. I wish you luck and I hope you accomplish your goals.


Leave a Reply

