It’s Wednesday And I Love The Hodgepodge!

1. What do you do at the first sign of a cold? Will you get a flu shot this year?   Sometimes I grab the bottle of vitamin C tablets.  By then it’s probably too late for them to help, but it makes me feel better anyway!  I hate to have a runny, stuffy nose, so I usually take some Sudafed, too, especially at night.

As bad as I hate to do it, I am planning to take the flu shot this year.  You may recall that I had the flu for the first time in my life–last Christmas!  It darn near killed me, and it definitely put a damper on our holidays!  You may also recall that our son, Brad, caught the flu in February, and spent several days in ICU from complications of the flu.  The flu can be serious stuff!

2. What advice can you give about how to conquer fear?  First of all, pray about it.  The Bible teaches ” I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”.  After that, get your mind-set, then go for it–meet that fear head-on!  If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.

3. Share two good things about your life right now.  Number 1- Having our entire family all living so close!  All of our grown children and their families live on the family farm, within a quarter of a mile of each other.  I love this!  I don’t know what Brad and Jennifer’s long-range plans will be, but for now, having everyone living so close is simply WONDERFUL!

Number 2- Finally having those grandchildren that I wanted for so long!  Madison lives just across the yard, while Caden lives just down the road.  Little Chase Walker, Caden’s baby brother, will be arriving around Christmas!  What a gift!   LOVE IT!

4. A hot fall fashion trend in 2011 is a return to sixties style…tunics with pants, shift dresses, pencil skirts, cinched waists, bold prints, high necklines and short lengths to name a few. How does this fashion trend fit with your wardrobe and personal sense of style? 

Wow!  Thanks, Joyce, I didn’t know this!  I have actually worn these styles once already, in the late sixties!  I sure used to enjoy wearing those bold prints and mini skirts back in my teen years!!    Well, let’s see now… with my aging, bulging body, I could definitely use some tunics over pants to cover my tummy and hips–and a loose shift would be comfy!  No pencil skirts or high necklines for me though!

5. Were you involved in scouting as a kid? How about as an adult?  No, I never was involved in scouting as a kid.  We lived in a small town, and I’m not even sure there was a scout troop there.  I became involved in scouting, as a parent, when our oldest son became a member of the cub scouts for a couple of years.  I kept his little scouting uniform for many years, and we still have his pinewood derby car.  It won a prize!

6. Apple, pear, plum, pumpkin…your favorite fall flavor?  Definitely apple!  I love all kinds of apples–with caramel dip.

7. What characteristics do you think are essential in a good teacher?  Begin with a strong love for children, coupled with a loving,  nurturing, caring attitude!   Throw in a sense of adventure, some creativity,  a load of enthusiasm, plenty of compassion, and LOTS of patience!  Give 110%  of yourself, and enjoy seeing the fruits of your labor!  There is nothing on earth more rewarding (or trying at times) than being a teacher!

Random:  I believe in the power of prayer, so I’m seeking your prayers today.  I can’t say much, but today a door of opportunity is being cracked for our son, Brad.  My prayer is for this door to be opened to him.  Would you please join me in praying for God to open this door for Brad?

Also, Brad and Jennifer also suffered the loss of their dog, Nubie, yesterday, when she was struck and killed by a car during her time out of her kennel.  Both of them took the loss very hard.  I had grown quite fond of our “four-legged” grandchild, as well, and will miss her frequent visits to our house.  Each time she was allowed out of her kennel, she headed straight to our house for a visit.  Rest in peace, Nubie…life won’t be quite the same without you.

Ethan and Nubie playing

Published in: on September 14, 2011 at 7:55 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/its-wednesday-and-i-love-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ll definitely be praying for Brad’s opportunity … praying that God will swing the door open wide so that there will be no doubt that this is His plan.

    And I’m so sorry to hear about their loss. Having just lost a dog of our own, I know how heartbreaking it can be to lose a beloved pet. {{hug}}

  2. I’ll add your son to my prayers today. So sorry about their dog too-that’s hard!

    I think if you’ve ever had the flu you definitely get the shot. Once you’ve had the flu you never want it again. That’s how I feel too!

  3. Great answers. Will definetly be praying for Brad and Jennifer.

  4. Oh, so sorry about the dog….and I sent up a prayer for Brad.
    I enjoyed your answers to the questions.

  5. My prayers for Brad are added to all the other well wishers. So sorry that they lost their other family member too.

    You’ve got me worried about both sides of the flue shot thing. I’ve never had one and have been fine, but if someone as young and healthy as Brad was in the hospital over it, dang, guess I’d better do it.

    For me, the pie is pecan every time. I was in Brownies and Girl Scouts for 7 years. I thought it was great. My daughters though, no at all. I think it was not “the thing” anymore.

  6. So so sorry about Nubie. It know how badly it hurts to lose a pet – for me it’s a hurt that stays with me forever – I’m a little bit of an animal freak.

    Apple with caramel dip? I’ve never tried it but it sounds awesome.

    I’ll be adding Brad to my prayer list as well!

  7. Will keep Brad in my prayers. Sorry for the loss of Nubie.

  8. Have prayed for Brad. The prayers of others are helping me in my stroke recovery. It is a privilege to pray for your son.

  9. Sorry about the loss of your “grand-dog”. They really do become a cherished part of the family, and it is so sad to lose them 😦

    I will be praying for your son!

  10. Awww… so sorry to here about the dog. I’ve lost cats like that before and do my best to keep them indoors now because of it. Well for that reason and to keep them from bringing fleas in! 🙂

    Sorry, I haven’t been around much. With work and the kids going to school, homework, and activities it’s just so hard to keep up. I beat myself up too much about not keeping it updated, not keeping up on other people’s blogs, not getting photos for 365, etc. I loved Project 365, but really needed to let it go. I’m still going to blog and still be around, but at a much more relaxed pace. I’ll still be reading your blog from time to time and when I do, I’ll be reading until I find myself “caught up again.” 🙂

  11. I always use vitamin C for several days before I fly to keep bugs away! I think it’s awesome to live so close to each other. Praying for your son Brad and I am so sorry about their dog. That is just so sad and in such a tragic way. ((HUGS))


Leave a Reply

