It Was Just One Of Those Days…

Tuesday morning started out just like any other…then it quickly went down hill.  I should have known it was going to be a bad day when the  phone rang at 9 o’clock.  The only time the phone rings early is when it’s bad news.

I answered the phone, our son, Brad, was on the other end of the line.  He was quiet for a second, then he asked me if I’d go to his house and check on Jennifer who had the day off.  He went on to explain that their dog, Nubie, had been struck and killed by a car.  My heart sank.  I knew Jennifer would be upset.  She was especially protective over Nubie because she felt that Nubie was one of her last ties to her mom. (Nubie was Jennifer’s dog when she lived at home.)  Needless to day, it was a long stressful day for us all…

The bad day didn’t stop there.  I was supposed to go and pick up granddaughter, Madison, from pre-K at noon.  I hopped in my car about 11 o’clock to run some errands before picking Madison up.  As I started driving down our dirt road, I noticed my car didn’t “feel” right.  Upon further inspection, I discovered that it had a flat tire!

I neglected to mention that my husband had an out-of-town meeting after work, so he wasn’t going to be home to see about getting my flat tire fixed!  He did manage to get off from work a little early– long enough to pump up the tire, and get the car out of the road, but the actual tire repair had to wait until Wednesday.  Brandy had to go and pick up Madison from school.

In the process of coming home and seeing about my tire, my hubby saw a set of tractor harrows sitting beside the highway.  He’s been looking for some, and this set was for sale.  He took a moment to stop and look at them, but had to hurry off because of the meeting after work.  After the meeting, he decided he would go back and purchase the tractor equipment.  He was too late, the man sold it an hour before my husband called the man!

The final straw came at the end of the day.  I’ve been reading Jaycee Duggard’s book, Stolen Innocence.  I’d placed it on top of the clothes dryer a couple of days ago.   Whenever I went to throw some clothes in the dryer, I noticed that my book looked wet.  It turns out that a bottle of “Mean Green” had turned over, and leaked–a lot.  The liquid had managed to soak into all of the pages of my new book.  I was not a happy lady!  I’m still trying to dry the pages so I can finish reading the book!

Thankfully, Wednesday turned out to be a much calmer day.  I’m hoping today will be more of the same.  With any luck, my book will be dried out by the weekend, I’m anxious to finish reading it.

Many thanks to those of you who sent up prayers for Brad.  I’m not sure how long it will be before we know if this door will be opened for Brad or not.  I’m still praying until we hear one way or the other…

Published in: on September 15, 2011 at 8:22 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/15/it-was-just-one-of-those-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Here’s a prayer your way for a spectacular Thursday! The closeness of your family is a special blessing, especially the way you are all there for each other to help each other over rough patches.

    Continuing to pray for Brad. Thank you so much for your prayers too!

    And yes, our little ones are growing up quickly!

  2. Some days it would just be better if we stayed in bed, wouldn’t it?
    Sending wishes your way for brighter days ahead.
    Mama Bear

  3. Well goodness my dear, you and your loved ones did have a rough day….a day when things just didn’t go right and nothing was easy! I am hoping that today has started off better for you. May the Lord bless you and yours!

    Thanks for the blog comment. I appreciated it. (:>)

  4. My Wednesday went a bit that way…the capper was dropping a six pack of glass bottles in the supermarket. They sprayed everywhere! Today is a brand new day : )


Leave a Reply

