Six Word Saturday…September 17

My six words for today:  Goodbye to summer– Hello to fall!

Our last weekend of summer feels more like the first weekend of fall!  We woke up to a definite chill in the air this morning!  Of course a chill for us, here in the deep south, is sixty degrees!  Hey, we’ll take it!

The coolness feels nice for a change,  after nearly 12o days of ninety-plus degree days this year!  Unfortunately, our break will be short-lived, as the temperatures are forecast to climb back to the mid eighties next week.

Speaking of summer and fall–or autumn–as some people call it.  Why are there two words for this particular season of the year?  Does anyone know?  What do you call this season?  Do you say “fall” or do you say “autumn”? 

Have a great weekend, everyone.  Enjoy your last weekend of the summer–no matter what the weather is!

Published in: on September 17, 2011 at 9:50 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/17/six-word-saturday-september-17/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Kathy…Happy Saturday!

    I love the word Autumn! I use it…and also Fall. I don’t know why we have two terms for this season. I think I will look it up and find out! tee hee!

    But I do know that I love this kind of weather…and I will enjoy it. It always seems to me that Spring and Autumn go by too quickly…and Summer and Winter seem to hang around longer…too long sometimes.
    (:>)

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  2. Found this on google on a site tiitled Word Lore! (:>)

    What do we call the season which follows Summer? It can have two names: “Autumn” or “Fall”. Which one do the students use most often? Nowadays, the name “Fall” is probably used most often in American English, though “Autumn” is used as well. In British English, however, the word “Autumn” is used almost exclusively…

  3. I’m with you on the heat. I’m so glad to be getting a bit of a reprieve until later in the week. Finally, we can breathe. I also say Fall. I think Autumn sounds far more picturesque. I’m changing over to Brit speak I think. We’ll go on holiday in the Autumn.

  4. I am loving the cooler weather. Actually got outside this morning and pulled weeds. No sweating or fighting away gnats. 🙂

  5. ahhh, fall is not my favorite, but beginning fall is always gorgeous.

  6. boo hoo, means Winter is round the corner!

  7. Here in the UK it is called Autumn. I like the look of Autumn with the beautiful colours on the trees, but I don’t really like the wet weather, blustery days and the fact that another cold, damp winter is on its way.

  8. I think that Autumn is the “official” name of the season but we call it fall because that’s what the leaves do. I’ve called it both but more often I call it fall.

  9. Loving the fall weather! 🙂

  10. I call it fall; I bet you were glad to have a break after the hot weather you have had, even if it is only for a few days. just visiting from 6-word Saturday; hoping tomorrow is a good one for you!

    betty

  11. I use both phrases, mostly fall I guess. I love fall-like weather!! EXCEPT when I’m at the beach. It’s fall-like here in Hilton Head, which is disappointing to me. The average high is 80, so we thought we’d get some more summer-like weather for our week on the beach. But if the rain holds off (or comes at night), we’ll be ok … we can still walk along the beach in the cooler weather.


Leave a Reply

