A Little Of This And A Little Of That…

Yesterday wasn’t a typical Monday for me.  I was invited by my daughter-in-law, Christina, to attend her doctor’s appointment with her and her sister.  Christina is expecting our third grandchild in December, and was scheduled to have a 4D ultrasound.  I was excited at the thought of getting to have a “sneak peek” at our newest grandchild!

a peek at little Chase...

Christina’s appointment was at 9 o’clock in the morning, which meant we had to be on the road by 8 o’clock Monday  morning.  It’s been a long time since I’ve been on the road at 8 o’clock on Monday morning!!!  Of course getting a peek at little Chase was well worth the trip.  Those 4D ultrasounds are wonderful!  I can’t tell heads from tails on a regular ultrasound, but 4D ultrasounds are quite detailed.  It’s amazing how far technology has come in just a few short years!  Christina was also able to purchase a dvd of the entire ultrasound for only three dollars.  We made the men watch it with us on Monday night 🙂

I drove separately to the appointment so I could come on back home.  Christina and her sister needed to do a little shopping afterward, and I’d done more than my share of shopping on Sunday!  My legs were actually sore from walking so much in the mall!  Can you say–“out of shape”?  That’s me!

At the last-minute, after the ultrasound,  I decided to run over to Hobby Lobby to check out their Thanksgiving and Christmas decorations.  I ended up looking for an hour and a half!  I love that store!  I love all things holiday.  I don’t buy much these days, because my storage tubs are full, but I still love to look!  I gave into a moment of weakness and bought a few new Christmas ornaments.  This is bittersweet, though, because it means I’ll have to retire some of my older ornaments.  I’m quite attached to my Christmas ornaments!  I can tell you a story about most of them–and where they came from.

I’m also very attached to my seasonal decorations that I’ve collected over the years.  I first became interested in seasonal decorating while I was working at school.  We decorated our classroom, so I figured why not decorate my house?  I decorate for every month of the year, which means I have at least one plastic storage container of decorations for each month.  Christmas, Easter, Halloween, and Thanksgiving decorations fill more than two tubs!  When a tub gets too full, sometimes I share decorations with my daughter, Brandy.

Cindy, a friend and blog reader, has been curious to see the fall arrangement that I bought while on our last trip to Fernandina Beach, so I’m sharing a photo.  I have a confession to make though.  This is not the same arrangement that I originally bought on the way to the beach.  On the way back home from Fernandina, I discovered that I had earned enough bonus points from Big Lots to qualify for my twenty percent discount.  I decided to take the original arrangement back to Big Lots and exchange it for a larger one almost just like it!  It only cost four dollars more with my discount!  So here’s the arrangement–almost!  I do have votive candles, I just haven’t put them in their holders yet.

I have a lot of “teacher stuff” from my years of working as a paraprofessional.  Most of these items were gifts from students.  Every year in September I always decorate my “year round tree” with apples, and I display all of my “teacher stuff”.  I enjoy this month because it brings back fond memories, and the colors match my decor very well!  Here’s a picture of the apple tree.

Last but not least, I watched some of the fall premieres on television on Monday night.  I watched some of “Dancing With The Stars”.  I turned it after an hour.  I’ve been a loyal fan every season, but I’m growing weary…the costumes keep getting sexier, and so do the dances…and Chazz Bono…Was that controversy really necessary?

I watched a couple of sitcoms–one of them was the premier of “Two and A Half Men”.  I just had to see how the show was with the addition of Ashton Kutcher.  It was very sexual in nature, in fact, he spent half of the show naked!  The show following ( 2 Broke Girls) wasn’t much better.  More sexual humor!  Apparently, somebody thinks “sex sells”.  As for me, I think all this sex needs to go back into the bedroom–where it belongs.

Photobucket

Published in: on September 19, 2011 at 11:34 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/a-little-of-this-and-a-little-of-that/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations on your new little blessing. I love his name!
    I am attached to my decorations-ridiculously:)

  2. I love your arrangement! I’m home waiting on a repairman this afternoon so maybe if I get the house dusted and vacuumed I’ll feel like decorating some later in the week.

    We watched DWTS off and on-hubs was also watching football. We watched the Castle premiere too…missed 2 1/2 Men…I liked it when the son was a little boy but as he’s gotten older I find it kinda skeevy.

    Enjoy your day!

  3. Congrats! ALso love the centerpiece, and last but not least I agree all sex should go back in the bedroom (off tv, at least!) – and I am here from the Tuesday Train- Find me @ Beneath the Surface: Breath of Faith (eblogger on google!) Hmmmm, how do you like wordpress?

  4. What a darling little face. Technology amazes me since we had babies.

    I have been a “Dancing” fan so I watched this first one but I doubt I’ll be watching anymore. There really isn’t anyone I want to cheer for. I was not a fan of 2 1/2 Men before with all the sex stuff when that young man was a little boy. I thought is was very inappropriate. I do like Ashton so I will catch this one on Demand, but it doesn’t sound like it’ll be my thing anyway. I like more dramas than conedys. I do like “Big Bang” though.

    I love Hobby Lobby. I don’t have one here but I am ready for a Michaels trip for sure. Love your “Fall” house.

  5. The ultrasound picture is amazing! I can’t imagine what that must feel like – actually seeing the child like that! And, what a cute name. 🙂

    I love the arrangement – and the tree. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing. Have a great week. 😀

  6. Oh Honey!! You don’t need fewer ornaments! You need a bigger tree!! (or in my case…additional trees ~ I’m up to 5)

    Little Chase is precious!

    Thanks for joining the Tuesday Train!

  7. How exciting to go see your new grandchild in 4D. I love your centerpiece and your apple tree. I agree, too much sex these days on TV. Why? It is not necessary at all. I never watch DWTS but I had four people I wanted to see so I FF through the rest of it. Two and a Half Men has always been raunchy but I will still watch it.


Leave a Reply

