The Last Summer Hodgepodge…

It’s my favorite time of the week–time for Joyce’s Wednesday Hodgepodge!  Joyce continues to amaze me with her wonderful questions.  Thanks, Joyce.  If you’d like to join us, just click Joyce’s button at the top of this post.

1. Do you like chili? Red or white? Beans or no beans? Spice or no spice? Toppings?  I love chili!  I’ve never heard of white chili before.  Am I missing something good?  I make red chili with lots of red tomatoes, and I use both light and dark kidney beans!   I like a litte kick to my chili, but not too spicy.  Cheese is good on top, but I usually just stick with saltine crackers–on the side, not in the bowl!  I’m funny that way!   Now I’m hungry for some chili, but it’s too hot to eat chili.  We’re still in the 80’s here…

2. Red~Orange~Gold…your favorite fall color?  Red is my favorite color, but orange reminds me the most of fall.

3. Who did you idolize when you were growing up?   The only person I may have idolized would have been my maternal grandmother.  She was everything I thought a person should be–a kind Christian woman, a loving and devoted wife and mother, a great cook, plus she could embroider, crochet, or sew anything– and I wanted to be just like her.

4. When was the last time you did something ‘arts and craftsy’? Share please.  It’s been a while…sometime back in the spring.  The last thing I worked on was a scrapbook of pictures from my teen years.  I scanned and reprinted my old black and white photos because they were turning brown and fading.  Then I added some black and white graphics from the seventies (because that’s when I was a teen)  to the scrapbook pages and remounted the photos.  Of course, I haven’t quite finished the project yet, or I’d show you. (Remember, I got side tracked by a summer wedding.) 

5. What’s a place that makes you really nervous?  Any doctor’s office sends my blood pressure up!  You would think I’d be over all that after seventeen years of going for checkups every three months–but I’m not!  I don’t do well with the dentist either!

6. Horse back riding…yay or nay (neigh?)  Neigh!  I once tried to ride a pony as a child, but I couldn’t stay on 😦  I have a poor sense of balance.

7. What is your favorite cliche?  “Misery loves company”…ain’t that the truth!  LOL

Random:  Still no word about the door that was cracked for our son,  Brad,  last Wednesday.  I’m still praying that it will be opened, which brings another cliche to mind–“Patience is a virtue”.

Published in: on September 21, 2011 at 7:57 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/the-last-summer-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love white chili…I make mine with chicken, white beans, onion, some diced green chilis…you add some chicken broth to get the soup part of the chili. It’s good!

    I will continue to pray for your son. Have a great day!

  2. I love white chili … it’s made with white beans (I use navy beans), chicken broth, and shredded chili (and seasonings). DH has acid reflux so he prefers white chili to red (tomatoes set off the acid reflux).

    Still praying for the door for Brad. Waiting on God’s timing is so difficult … so praying for patience for you all, too. 😉

  3. Patience is a virtue that I do not possess. White chili is delish- white beans and chicken, some green chilies, onion and, sometimes, I add some wild rice to mine. Oh and the DENTIST! I forgot about the dentist! LOL

    Praying and hoping all works out well for Brad!

  4. I want chili RIGHT NOW! 🙂

    And I really lack patience. It really IS a virtue that I do not possess in abundance.

  5. I haven’t heard of white chili either. That’s a good cliche, both of them and I will continue to pray for Brad.

  6. Hello Kathy,
    I think I’ll send you my white chili recipe. I used to think that was strange and would pass whenever it was the soup of the day. Then I sampled this recipe when my Daughter made it and I was hooked. Yummy! Now I keep all the ingredients on hand. You just dump it in the crockpot and let it simmer.
    After reading your answer to #3, I thought to myself, I hope Brianna feels that way about me.
    Its almost 4:00 and time for Smokey’s staring contest. He’s sitting on the arm of my chair trying to remind me that he’s to get the other half of his canned food. Never mind that there’s dry food in there. He’s like an alarm clock.
    And, I wanted to tell you that one of our small fry in the pond never did change colors. He’s still very dark with no gold on him and much larger than the rest of the young ones.
    Mama Bear

    • Mama Bear, yes, please do share that recipe for white chili. I’d love to try it. Smokey sounds like my cats. They all have internal clocks, and don’t like it when I get off schedule feediing them! Interesting about your fish…perhaps he won’t turn at all.

  7. We are waiting to hear about a job for my son. So hard to be patient! Have a great evening.

  8. I just had chili for supper. No way I could resist after this HodgePodge. lol

    One of these days I need to start scrapbooking again.


Leave a Reply

