The Weekend Wrap Up…

I’m happy to say, the weekend ended a whole lot better than it began!  It began, on Friday, with my husband having to travel for two hours (one-way) to testify as a witness in court.  Hubby had to leave home at 6:30 on a very foggy morning.  Thankfully, he made it to his destination safely.  He sat in court for an hour, then was excused without ever having to testify, when the accused man pleaded “no contest” to the forging of an x-ray report.  It’s crazy what some people will do for drugs!

Meanwhile, on the home front next-door, our daughter’s kitchen was in shambles, with most of its contents sitting on her front porch!  By lunch, on Friday, Brandy and her husband had moved the remaining kitchen clutter to the spare bedroom, so they would be able to get to their stove, the kitchen counter, and the dinner table.  The kitchen floor continued to dry out, while Brandy learned to wash dishes in the bathtub!

On Saturday afternoon, our men got busy replacing the flooring in Brandy’s kitchen, and they finished getting the cabinet re-installed on Sunday.  Somehow they managed to piece the old set of cabinets back together after they replaced the bottom area which was damaged by water.  I’m so glad!  A new set of cabinets just wasn’t in the budget at this particular time, which happens to be just three months until Christmas and tax time!  My husband laughed and said the cabinets were now being held together with “duct tape and bobbie pins”!  He was kidding–I think!

I spent part of the weekend disassembling more old photo albums and scanning the photos.  Unfortunately, this chore was just as much “fun” as it was the last time I did it!  I tell you, that’s some wicked glue in those “magnetic” photo albums from 40 years ago!  I finally had to resort to using the hair dryer to melt the glue again.  I had a great time walking down memory lane while scanning the old photos though!

Late on Saturday afternoon Ed fired up the grill, and we had a family cookout.  All of our “kids” came over and everyone brought the meat of their choice.  Brad and Jennifer showed up two hours late because Jennifer forgot to tell Brad that we were grilling, but better late than never, right?  The grill was still hot, so Brad grilled their pork chops once they arrived.

All is well that ends well, and in spite of a bad beginning, the weekend had a good ending.  We’re ready and waiting for the next adventure!  I’m secretly hoping it will be long wait…

Published in: on September 26, 2011 at 8:40 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/the-weekend-wrap-up-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so glad that your weekend turned out to be a good one, in spite of a less-than-spectacular start. 😉

    I think the chore of trying to get old photos out of those old “magnetic” photo albums is what’s keeping me from starting that job myself. I’m going to “settle” for organizing (and scanning) the photos of the last 30 years all dumped into a box in my closet. I do need to start that one of these days!

  2. A Family Affair….with everyone working together and eating together….you’re so blessed to have all of your family close…..So glad the kitchen is back together.
    Mama Bear

  3. Glad their kitchen is starting to get pieced back together. Can’t believe all the work you are doing with your photos, way to go! I need to do that. Sounds like a nice family dinner. Have a great week.

  4. That was a wonderful family time to close the weekend!

  5. You’re so lucky to have your family close by. I would love to be close enough to drop in and have lunch with my girls or have them over for a meal now and then. One of these days, hopefully.

  6. Sounds like you had a busy weekend. Getting those photos off the old photo books is why I haven’t done it yet. That glue was made to stick! Hope you get to grill for many more weeks.

  7. I’m SO glad that Brandy’s kitchen got put back together – so to speak. I’m sure she’s relieved. Glad the weekend ended on a happy note. 🙂


Leave a Reply

