Wednesday Hodgepodge…September 28

I’m joining Joyce for a bit of weekly “Hodgepodge”.  Here are today’s questions along with my answers:

1. It is officially fall here in North America…I realize not everyone who participates in the Hodgepodge lives in North America but if you do, what’s your favorite memory of Summer 2011? If you’re not in North America, what’s your favorite memory of the season just ending on your side of the world?

I would have to say my favorite summer memory is the 39th anniversary beach trip that Ed and I took back in June.  It had been a long time since we’d taken a trip alone, and we enjoyed our “special time” together very much. 

wishing I was here...

2. Your favorite nut? You know I mean the edible kind, right? I enjoy eating almost any kind of nut, but since we have pecan trees, and we sell their nuts to help pay our property taxes, I’m going to say pecans are my favorite nuts!

3. What activity puts your sense of balance to the test? Riding my bicycle.  It’s not quite as easy to ride in a straight line as it used to be.  My tracks  make a zig-zag pattern as I ride up and down our dirt road!

4. How would you describe your sense of humor?  Mild.  I can take a joke, but I don’t really enjoy playing pranks on others, like some folks do.  My husband on the other hand, has a large enough sense of humor for both of us!  Just the other day, Ed took a  large fake cockroach to work, rigged it to a cabinet door with a thread, then closed the cabinet. He then had a big time watching his co-workers’ response when they opened the cabinet door and saw that giant roach moving toward them! 

5. September 28th is National Ask a Stupid Question Day…what’s your stupid question? Did you know that nine out of ten adults are afraid of roaches???  LOL

6. Roller skates~hula hoop~jump rope…which activity would you most enjoy? Yes, you have to choose.  I always wanted to be able to roller skate!  It looks like so much fun!  My poor sense of balance combined with a total lack of coordination made it impossible to learn.  I did try though.

7. What’s your most sentimental possession?  It’s a  tie between my collection of old photographs and my Christmas ornament collection.  I honestly don’t know which I’d choose, if I had to, since neither can be replaced.

Random: 

All day Monday, I’d been sitting at the kitchen table working with old photographs.  I’d removed the photos from their  ancient magnetic photo albums, scanned them, then placed the original photos  in new scrapbooks for safe-keeping. 

Later that afternoon, when Ed came home from work, this is the scene he found…  Me in the kitchen finishing up supper, while supervising our grandson, Caden, as he ran around the house dragging out  toys.   The television was on “Chuck and Friends”, but nobody was watching. 

I met Ed with a kiss, and said, “I’m multi-tasking”.  He looked around at the mess in the kitchen, and said “I have just one question.  What in the world are you doing with the PDR and the Bible in the kitchen?!”  (Ha)  Sure enough, there on the kitchen counter lay the very large and very heavy copies of our old PDR (physician’s desk reference) and Mama’s old family Bible…I’d been using them as weights to help flatten out those old curled up photographs!  I suppose the books did look somewhat out of place among the peach cobbler and cubed steak!

Published in: on September 28, 2011 at 7:42 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/wednesday-hodgepodge-september-28/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. He would have successfully freaked me out with a flying cockroach : ) I did not get to the beach this summer. I may be going to the beach very very soon. wink wink

  2. I have the balance problem too….you know those V-8 commercials where the people are leaning sideways because they’ve not had their veggies. I feel like that much of the time. I don’t lean that far over….just feel like I’m listing to the side.
    I still have to do my post. Come by later. I slept late this morning because I stayed up until 1:30
    Mama Bear

  3. I love pecans also – they’re everywhere here in Texas – but Honeybunny is deathly allergic to them and since I have already poisoned him twice by accidentally feeding them to him – I don’t even bring them into the house anymore.

    I’ve been attempting to get all my pictures scanned – there’s a lot of them so it’s taking for-ever. But I wish I was putting them in new albums. I’ve just been slapping them back into the old ones – and some of them are in not too good shape.

  4. I HATE cockroaches- the bug of the south. HATE them. Really. We had pecan trees in the yard when I was growing up! I love pecans!

  5. OH my word! I would have totally FREAKED OUT! I HATE bugs, but especially cockroaches. We don’t have any where I live, but I have seen them in FL. Thankfully, they were dead, which is the best kind to find 🙂

  6. I am a pecan nut too. I had never seen a cocroach until we moved to S.C. for a couple of years 92-94. They were in my daughter’s classrooms and one had crawled up #3’s leg. She was about 7. I stormed up to that school like the north invading the south again. Needless to say, they sprayed that room. It was days from school being over for the year anyway. I’ve seen them here too, but I’ve come to terms with the fact that they were here first. They are gross. I might have clobbered Ed.

    I remember having a PDR when my girls were little. It was very handy.

  7. Uh, yeah, he might have wondered what exactly you had done to dinner with those two books on the table!

    And in response to the post below this one, boys will be boys…. 🙂

  8. Pecans are so yummy. I love most nuts! I don’t like pranks either. I never even thought to say my ornaments. Thats a funny random story.


Leave a Reply

