Wednesday Hodgepodge…October 5

1. What’s your favorite meal to serve on a chilly autumn evening? On chilly evenings, I like to serve chili, along with hot dogs or grilled cheese sandwiches.  My other favorite is homemade vegetable beef soup and cornbread.  Yum…

2. Are you a creature of habit? Explain.  Oh yes, I am a creature of habit. Those who know me best,  know that.  I hate any type of change, and I will often resist at first.  However, I usually come around in the end.  Being resistant to change, sometimes makes life harder than it has to be…

3. What food product (no longer readily available) do you remember and miss from days gone by?  When Ed and I were first married and lived in the city, one of the bakeries there made the most delicious lemon cheese cake I’ve ever eaten!  We discovered this cake through social functions at the hospital we both worked for.  The frosting on their lemon cheese cake could be either lemon or fluffy white.  I preferred the fluffy white kind.  Ed sought out the bakery, and ordered one of those cakes for my 21st birthday( a  l-o-n-g  time ago).  I often think about how delicious those cakes used to be–and I’d love to taste it once more.  I wonder if that bakery still exists.

4. What’s something you’ve lost that you’ve never been able to find? Any theories as to what happened?  I have lost my youthful appearance and girlish figure!  My theory is this–my girlish figure was stolen away by my three children when they were housed inside of my body.  I haven’t been able to find that girlish figure since the last 10 pounder left 26 years ago.  A time or two I came close to finding it, but I kept getting pregnant again.  My youthful appearance disappeared while rearing those same three children.  It’s stressful raising teenagers!

5. Zoo~circus~ carnival…your favorite?  Although I can no longer ride the rides, there is nothing like a carnival, in my opinion.  The lights, the rides, the food, the exhibits, those tempting games…and it only comes around once a year!

6. What song makes you feel instantly happy?  Knee Deep In Paradise by the Zac Brown Band and Jimmy Buffett.  I smile and remember times spent relaxing on the beach every time I hear it played.

7. To what extent are you an argumentative person?  I used to be a lot more argumentative than I am these days.  I used to think that my way was the best way!  With age comes wisdom, so these days I’m more willing to sit and listen.  I try to avoid arguments if at all possible.

Random:  I don’t usually find much on television that I enjoy watching these days.  I’ve watched a few of the new fall shows, and I have finally found a show that I like and enjoy.  It’s a new drama on ABC called “Revenge”, and it comes on Wednesday nights at 10 o’clock.  It’s only been on twice, but I’m totally captivated.  What’s it about?  Just what the title says…revenge.  

Published in: on October 5, 2011 at 7:57 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/wednesday-hodgepodge-october-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I always admire and enjoy the way you can pull out memories and answers to these questions.

  2. I love the Zac Brown Band, and that is one of my favorite songs that they sing. It is one that makes you think of sun soaked beaches.

    I have seen the commercials for Revenge but never watched it, I might have to add it to the list this week to see what it’s all about.

  3. I’ll join you on that Bahama Beach. Looking at that pretty turquoise water always make me happy.

    I love your lost idea. I can’t blame my children on the loss of my girlsish figure. I blame menopause. I was doing OK until I hit 50 and that did me in.

    I’ll have to check out Revenge now that you like it. I’ve tried some this fall that just didn’t catch on with me.

  4. Definitely chili but grilled cheese with tomato soup sounds yummy too! Lemon cheescake sounds so good. Love your answer to #4. I lost mine too! I haven’t watched Revenge but I love the main character, she was on Brothers & Sisters.

  5. I agree – your answers are always fantastic and fun to read. 😀

    You and I are alike on the Creature of Habit issue, and we like to serve the same things on chilly nights. 🙂

    Mmm…lemon cheesecake. Cheesecake is my all-time favorite. 😛

    Your answer to #4 gave me my biggest laugh of the day…thanks! 😀

    About the only new show this season that has caught my attention is “A Gifted Man” with Patrick Wilson. It comes on at 10:00 ET on CBS. It’s only been on twice, but it kept my interest both times…not to mention – he’s not hard to look at. 🙂

    I’m feeling kind of nostalgic today. It’s my mother’s birthday. I’m sure she’s having a great one up in heaven. Happy Birthday, Ma !!! 😀

  6. LOL–to number 3!! Your answers make my day.

  7. The video doesn’t play because of copyright.
    I wouldn’t mind getting my firm face and neck back again. I’m still working on my weight. Wore a pair of slacks for the first time in two years today….what a wonderful feeling….
    I can almost taste that cheesecake….I love cheese danish.
    Mama Bear

  8. Loved #4, yup blame the kids! I did! Cheesecake sure is good and I forgot about that one.

  9. Grilled cheese sounds yummy!! I now need to go and buy some cheese to make some. 🙂 I have never had lemon cheesecake but that sounds yummy since I LOVE cheesecake!!!

  10. I had to laugh at your answer to #4! As you may remember, I love the beach … and any song that would remind me of being on the beach would be a song I’d love. The video you inserted wouldn’t play … going to go see if I can’t find one so I can get me some beach vibe going today! 😉

  11. Finally getting around to catching up some…I love Zac Brown band and that song especially. That’s how I felt last week : )

    Hope all is well!


Leave a Reply

