Every Picture Tells A Story…The Rocking Chair

This old photograph was taken during the Christmas of 1977. The rocking chair in the photo was my Christmas gift from Ed that year.  (I’ve always loved rocking chairs.)

Story In 1977,  Ed and I moved from the city back to our old hometown early in the year. After five years of being away, it was so nice to be home again. Ed’s parents had given us a small piece of land on their farm, and it was wonderful living in the country. Once we’d gotten settled, it wasn’t long before we began to talk about starting a family.

By the time Christmas rolled around Ed and I had been trying for a baby for about three months.  I was beginning to get a little bit anxious as the months rolled by with no luck.

Then Ed gave me that rocking chair for Christmas!  About five weeks later I discovered that I was pregnant!  We always laughed and said the rocking chair made the difference!

I loved my rocking chair, and I fed and rocked all three of our babies in it.  When Brandy was a baby I kept the rocking chair in the living room.

Later, when each of the boys was born, I moved the rocking chair to their nursery.  Both boys were breast-fed, and I spent many hours rocking and nursing them– in that chair.  I’d sit in that chair, half asleep, in the wee hours of the morning– rocking a baby in my arms.

I also sat in that rocking chair the day the tornado came through our backyard.  I was pregnant with our second child at the time.  I knew a storm was coming, so I went to the smallest room in our home–the nursery.  I sat in that rocking chair and prayed until the storm passed.  Fortunately, the only damage was a blown over tree in the back yard.

As time passed, and our family grew, the rocking chair eventually made way for other things in our house.  I kept my chair in our storage shed for several years.  When we decided to build our new home, we downsized.  As a result, we got rid of many things.  My rocking chair was among the things we got rid of.

In hindsight, I sort of  wish I’d kept the chair.  What a wonderful heirloom it would have been to pass along to the family.  Of course, these days, they would probably be like me and prefer a softer, padded rocking chair.  I’m a bit partial to the newer glider rockers, and have thoroughly enjoyed rocking the last two grand babies in mine.

In fact, I’m getting a bit excited at the thought of getting to use my glider rocker again in just a few more weeks!  I sure hope baby Chase likes to rock.

Published in: on October 6, 2011 at 11:13 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/every-picture-tells-a-story-the-rocking-chair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a sweet story, and it’s so exciting that there’s going to be a new grandbaby in just a matter of weeks. What a joyous time the holidays will be this year. I’m so happy for all of you. 😀

  2. That’s a lovely memory. I have parted with so many things I wish leater that I still had. then I was Hoarders on TV and realize I can’t keep everything. You have the memory and you’ll be making new ones pretty soon. I was looking at all the tinsel on your tree. I remember doing that too.

  3. This post made me teary. You have such a gift for capturing the memory of holding those babies in your arms . . . in a chair given with love!

  4. Beautiful memories. I still have the rocking chair I nursed my two children in. I look back now and find that those quiet middle of the night feedings are what I miss most.

  5. Yes, it would’ve been nice if you kept that chair, but now you have a much more comfortable one I’m sure. I have nine grandchildren (4 children) , but they’re all to big now to be rocked & all live far away. Thanks for sharing your wonderful story. Here from Friday Follow over at Java’s. Have a great weekend.

  6. That was a beautiful story. The comfort of a glider rocker can’t be beat, but I still have my grandma’s rocker that she rocked all of her 9 kids in and that my mom did the same for me and my brother. After that grandma rocked by herself for many years.


Leave a Reply

