Meet Me On Monday And The Weekend Wrap Up…

 Wow, another weekend has come and gone, which means it’s time to join Java for “Meet Me On Monday”. Here are Java’s questions:

1. The thing that scares me the most is ...the thought of my husband, Ed,  passing away and leaving me alone.  I know one of us has to go first, and I selfishly hope it will be me.  As we grow older, I think about this more often, and it’s serious and scary stuff.
2. Do you like nuts in your Chocolate Chip cookies?  Yes, but I never put nuts in mine.
3. If you couldn’t change the channel, what tv show would drive you from the room?  Anything that comes on The History Channel…everything on the channel is boring.  It reminds me of those boring film strips we had to watch in school.  Did I mention that Ed enjoys watching this channel?

4. Pulp or no pulp in your Orange Juice?  Usually no pulp.
5. Who do you miss the most?  My father-in-law.  He was a very special person.  He found good in everything and everyone–and he was always cheerful!  He was a loving and devoted family man, who enjoyed helping others.  He was also a very good cook, and made the best fried chicken I’ve ever tasted.

Ed's daddy, aka "grandpa"

Weekend Wrap Up:  We had a “picture perfect” weekend here in southeastern Georgia. Cool nights and warm sunny days–and I spent most of the weekend indoors! I was working on a project that had to be finished by midnight Sunday evening. I did manage to sneak in a few minutes of outdoor fun, but I’ll blog about that another day.  I’ll give you a hint–it involves wieners and fire!

I have two appointments today, so it’s going to be a very busy Monday! I’m beginning my day with a mammogram. Things can only get better from there, right?  Maybe not.  After the mammogram, I’m off to meet with my primary care physician to discuss lab results and prescriptions…

Jennifer told us, last night, that she has to be at the hospital at 5:20 in the morning on Tuesday! Gotta’ love being the first surgery of the day–especially when you live over an hour away.  I think she and Brad will be spending the night in the city, and I don’t blame them.

Ed and I are planning to go to the hospital on Tuesday morning to help keep Brad company while Jennifer is in surgery.  Her surgery is supposed to last four hours.  She’s going in as a “day surgery” patient, but I sure hope they will decide to keep her overnight!  Today’s healthcare is just ridiculous, in my opinion, but that’s a story for another day.

I have so much I’d like to write about, but so little time to write it!  Things are a bit hectic right now, so please don’t be upset that I haven’t commented on your blogs much lately. I will make it up to you soon, I promise.

Okay, that’s it for me.  I’m out of here!

Published in: on October 17, 2011 at 7:51 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/10/17/meet-me-on-monday-and-the-weekend-wrap-up-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m with you on #1. I think about it too. If I couldn’t change the channel, any REALITY show would make me leave the room! I don’t ever watch them because they are not real. Good luck with your appointments and for Jennifer as well. You are all in my prayers.

  2. A day patient? Oh my, I hope they give her overnite to regroup a little. I am just now getting to the blogs today…hope your mammogram went well. I will be praying for Jennifer and your son tomorrow.

  3. I love nuts but the family doesn’t so I usually leave them out. No pulp for me! Hope your day goes well and I will be praying for Jennifer.

  4. Prayers are on the way for Jennifer, Brad and both families. Don’t worry about not visiting and commenting. We’ll be here when you are able to get online and give us updates. I am somewhat sporadic right now, too, and the prayers and kind thoughts of others really do help!

  5. Jennifer, along with the rest of you, are in my prayers. 🙂

  6. Stopping by from Meet Me On Monday! My husband is a former history teacher so I have to endure the History Channel quite often…

    Jo

  7. The History Channel can be entertaining–occasionally. My hubby likes it, too. My FIL was an absolutely wonderful man. He passed in 1994 and I miss him terribly. Sometimes I look at my grandchildren and wish he could know them. He’d be tickled to be a great-grandfather.

  8. My thoughts and prayers are with Jennifer too. Hope all goes well and she bounces right out of there.

    I have to confess, I’ll watch the History channel with Ed. I don’t know why they show so much WWII though. There are so many other areas of History. I run from Maury and Jerry Springer.

    I was amazed at how sprawling Savannah is. I wasn’t expecting that or all the traffic. I think my imagination was stuck in the the old part, which I loved.

  9. I worry, too, about #1.

    I’m praying for Jennifer (and Brad and the rest of you all); hopefully she’s through her surgery by now. I’m with you on the assembly-line feel to medicine/hospital stays these days … I hope, too, that she’s able to stay overnight.

    I have my annual check up on Friday, and a mammogram will be ordered, as well as a bone density scan. I’m not sure what else he’ll order since I had the whole nine yards’ worth of tests last year … I’m in reasonably good health, so he doesn’t usually order all those tests every year. But this will be my first check up since turning 60 , so who knows what he’ll do.


Leave a Reply

