Wednesday Hodgepodge…October 19

1. How do you typically react in a sudden, extreme, pressure-filled crisis? Would we want you nearby in an emergency?  I’m one of those people who tends to “freeze” for a moment or two before I can get my mind wrapped around an emergency situation.  After I do this,  I proceed with caution.  Once I get into motion I’m fairly calm throughout the rest of the crisis.  Knowing all this, you’ll have to decide if you would want me nearby.

2. Caramel apple-caramel sundae-caramel corn-caramel macchiato…of the four, which caramel treat would you choose?  I love caramel corn, but actually I’ve never heard of caramel macchiato.

3. Is there such a thing as destiny? Explain.  Yes, I believe in destiny, but  I’m a bit “brain-dead” at the moment from the events of the past couple of days, so please forgive me if I don’t try to explain why I believe in destiny.

4. What’s your favorite piece of furniture? I’m referring to something currently in your possession as opposed to something on your wish list.  My favorite piece(s) of furniture are the  two matching leather couches in our living room.  They were expensive and I’m very protective over them–just ask my grandchildren 🙂

5. Wednesday night marks the start of the 2011 Baseball World Series. Did you know? Do you care? Will you be watching? Ever been to a professional baseball game? If you’re not an American do you find the title ‘World Series’ annoying or amusing?  I don’t watch the World Series, never have.  We attended a few Atlanta Braves games over the years, while our children were growing up.  I never really watched the games, but I enjoyed the atmosphere.

6. A sound that takes me back to my childhood is...the call of a quail, aka the “bobwhite”.  I still remember my grandmother explaining to me how the quail seems to be saying “Bob, Bob White” whenever it calls.  Recently, I carried on this tradition with my own granddaughter.

7. On average, once you’ve linked your hodgepodge post to mine how many other participant blogs do you visit? Do you ever come back to the Hodgepodge later in the day or even the day after to read posts?  I average visiting about 18 Hodgepodge  participants over the course of the day on Wednesday.

Random:  Let me begin by saying this, “God answers prayers. “Jennifer had her surgery yesterday.  It went much better than we expected.  Jennifer had an abscess concerning one ovary only.  The surgeon removed the affected ovary and Fallopian tube, the appendix, and a small bit of scar tissue in the area.  He was able to leave the other ovary and Fallopian tube, praise the Lord.  It was the best news we could hope for in this situation.  Jennifer was out of surgery by 9 a.m. and was back home by 6 o’clock last night.  I’m so thankful this ordeal is behind her, that she still has one ovary left, and that she is doing well.

Thank you for your prayers and support for all of us during this difficult time.  Could you please join me in continuing to pray that Jennifer will finally heal without any further complications?  It’s been a long year for her.

Published in: on October 19, 2011 at 7:07 am  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/wednesday-hodgepodge-october-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is good news! So glad it wasn’t as invasive as they thought it might be. I will keep her in my prayers.

    Your bob white reminded me of the whippoorwill’s song which always makes me think of summer camp. Enjoy your day!

  2. I can understand your answer to #4. And if their parents are anything like MY grandsons’ parents, they DON’T make them mind their p’s and q’s with Grandma’s stuff.

    LOL

    Wednesday photo and HODGEPODGE

  3. Prayers and thoughts for Jennifer. I hope she heals and recovers quickly.

    Best wishes, Pam 🙂

  4. Thoughts and prayers coming Jennifer’s way.

  5. So glad to hear Jennifer came through things so well. I know a big sigh went through all the families.

    In a big crisis, I get amazingly calm so I can take care of business. Then I get a migraine!

  6. praying for jennifer’s healing and recovery…

  7. Leather is great with children.

    Okay number 8 has me crying like a baby. That was my prayer for Jennifer. God is amazing. ((HUGS))

  8. Praise the Lord. God is good. 😀

  9. You and I are the same re: #1! I have a delayed reaction … but once it sinks in, I respond accordingly! And I don’t know what a caramel macchiato is either.

    I’m glad to hear that the outcome to Jennifer’s surgery was about as good as one could hope for under the circumstances. You can count on continued prayers.

  10. So glad to know that there is an upside to Jennifer’s surgery. Praying she recovers quickly and gets a break from health issues.

  11. Glad to hear that all went well with your daughter’s surgery!

    The way you described yourself in a crisis situation sounds just like me! Only you said it way better than I did 🙂

  12. Great news–glad all went well with Jennifer. Prayers for a speedy recovery.

  13. Thanks for update on J. Will continue praying.


Leave a Reply

