Wednesday Hodgepodge…Volume 51

How about  joining Joyce for a little Wednesday Hodgepodge today?  It’s a lot of fun, and you will “meet” some great people.  Just click Joyce’s button to begin… Here are today’s questions:

1. Who taught you how to cook?  I’m self-taught, with the exception of taking a few notes while watching my daddy cook a few things.  I didn’t spend much time in the kitchen before I got married!

2. Have you been told you think too much? Are too much of a perfectionist? Are too sensitive? Were they right?  I don’t remember anyone ever telling me any of these things.  I tend to be a perfectionist, and I am a bit on the sensitive side though.  I think a lot sometimes, other times, not nearly enough (like before I speak).

3. As a child did you have a favorite blanket or toy? Tell about it.  No, I never had a favorite blanket, that I know of.  As for my favorite toy, that would be my 1964 Barbie doll.  I got her for Christmas when I was in the fifth grade.  She came wearing a gold/white strapless swimsuit, and had a brunette “bubble cut”.  Barbie and I had some great “adventures” together.  I still have  Barbie  today, along with her original swimsuit.

4. What ‘institution’ do you have the most faith in?  Marriage and family.  It’s a shame more people don’t feel the same these days.

5. Chrysanthemums-pansies-burning bush-ornamental cabbage…your favorite in an autumn garden?  Chrysanthemums, especially yellow ones.

6. What superpower do the kids in your neighborhood seem to posses?  We don’t really live in a traditional neighborhood, but our grandchildren happen to live nearby.  Those grandchildren posses the superpower to make their neighbors (us) do all sorts of  things–like playing “tea party”, grocery store,  Barbies, cars, trucks, and trains in the floor,  or giving free tractor rides.

7. Are you a fan of the cranberry?  I don’t care much for cranberries.  I can tolerate them, but they’re not my favorite things.  I finally tried cranberry sauce for the first time last Thanksgiving.  It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, but I don’t think I’ve been missing anything.  I can only drink cranberry juice if it’s mixed with grape juice to mask the flavor.

Random:  I’m not feeling particularly “wordy” today so I’ll just share a photo–of the grandchildren with those “superpowers”.

Published in: on November 2, 2011 at 8:47 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/11/02/wednesday-hodgepodge-volume-51/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So few cranberry lovers in the HP today. My sisters and I loved our Barbies too : )

  2. A Christmas tree with Halloween ornaments? Interesting idea.

  3. Yellow is my favorite too! Your grandchildren look adorable. Enjoyed reading your answers. Enjoy the rest of your week.

  4. Me too on the Barbie. I do like cranberry juice but I’m not fond of the cranberry relish at Thanksgiving. I’ve even made it thinking I could do it better. No, I still don’t like it.

    I remember watching my mother cook but what I was interested in was my grandmother’s southern chicken and dumplings. Yum O

  5. Cute picture and cute tree. Now it’s time to do the Thanksgiving tree. 😛

    As far as cranberry sauce, I love it. If I don’t have it when I have turkey and dressing, I feel like something’s missing. 🙂

  6. Yellow mums are my favorites! I wanted to buy a mum to pot for our front porch, but I couldn’t find any yellow ones. 😦

    I loved my Barbie … I think I got one of the very first Barbies ever … in 1959.

  7. First off….the Halloween Party post below this…well, it just cracked me up with laughter!! Gotta love it.

    Now on to the hodgepodge…you and me both with the institution. And LOVED your random photo of your grandkids. Sweet TREAT without any tricks. Gotta love children.

    Elusive Butterfly of Love is my post for today. Thanks for stopping by on Wednesday for my Hodgepodge.


Leave a Reply

