Meet Me On Monday…While I Deal With The Time Change

It’s a new week, which means it’s time to join Java’s “Meet Me On Monday” meme.  Just click the button at the top of this post if you’d like to join the fun!

1. Are you excited for the holidays or are you dreading them?  I’m rapidly approaching the phase of life where I’m starting to dread the holidays about as much as I enjoy them.  I love the holidays, but the preparation for them wears me out!  It now takes me twice as long to accomplish half as much!!!

2. Do you hit the snooze button or get right up?  I never hit the snooze button!  I’ll listen to the music for a minute or two, then go ahead and get up.
3. Do you still have your tonsils?  Yes, I still have my tonsils, although I probably shouldn’t.  I had lots of sore throats while growing up.
4. What was the last piece of candy that you ate?  The last piece of candy that I ate was a Milk Dud.  I love Milk Duds, but I’m afraid I’m going to lose a filling while chewing them, so I’ll secretly be glad when that last little box of Milk Duds is gone…
5. Do you shop at thrift stores?  Yes, but not on a regular basis.  I love browsing at Goodwill sometimes just to see what I can find.  Toys and books are among my favorite things to shop for.

Sunday was ONE LONG DAY!  I slept late, and still got up early!  Then there was the matter of resetting the clocks…   I never did get around to resetting all of them–probably because we have a dozen clocks altogether!

Our poor cats and dogs are still trying to figure out what’s going on with the time.  They are creatures of habit, and always begin gathering around the back door at the same time each day.  On Sunday morning, they gathered at their usual time, but nobody came to feed them!  We felt sorry for them on Sunday evening, and fed them a little early.  They seemed grateful!  I felt the same way about mealtimes.  We ate early, too!

Four years ago today… Ed and  I spent the first night in our (last) new home.  Our house was still a “work in progress” when we moved in.  In a way, it still is.  We still have some work to do.

I look back now and I am truly amazed at what Ed accomplished back in those days while he was building our new home.  He drove over two hours each day, to and from work, worked eight hours or more at his job, then spent the rest of each evening working on our house!   Weekends began and ended working on the house.  Ed kept this pace for over six months!

Our new home has been worth every bit of the blood, sweat, and tears shed while building it.  I’m so thankful for our new home, but most of all I’m thankful for the wonderful man who built it for us.

Published in: on November 6, 2011 at 10:55 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/meet-me-on-monday-while-i-deal-with-the-time-change/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I still love that video. Beautiful. Wasn’t it a long weekend? We had a 2 and 9 year old for the weekend. The baby got up at 5:45. I am off all week from my out of the house job to do book release stuff and thank goodness it is mostly afternoon and evening stuff except Tuesday morning at 7am. I plan to sleep in at least 3 of these days.
    Have a great week…I love milk duds!

  2. We went to bed at 9 pm last night : ) I am beginning to feel the pressure of the holidays and I don’t want to be cranky so on my list today is make a list of what needs doing and when. Lists usually make me happy : )

    Enjoy your Monday!

  3. Lovely tribute to a special mate!

  4. That’s a great video Kathy. You do them so well. Love your song choices too. Ronnie Dunn… be still my heart… and Miranda Lambert. just great.

    My 2 younger daughters did go back to their first home to look at the sidewalk where their little barefeet are imprinted.

    This was very specail. Ed’s a lucky man.

  5. I enjoyed seeing your video……..
    and reading your answers to the questions.
    This year will be different for us during the holiday…We’ll have our Daughter and the two children for our meal minus their Father….We normally open gifts on Christmas eve after dinner, this year it will be Jim and me and our Daughter as the children have to be with Rick. Then we’ll have a time with them on Christmas Day. I envy you having everyone so close….I would love it if we could share holidays with the entire family….we just don’t see our son and his family very often…its been 2 years now….so sad, I try not to think about it.
    Happy Monday…

  6. I love your slide show! You have such a great family, I know you are so proud of them and your house that love built! I have to admit my favorite part was the After Dinner Roll! I love it, will have to remember that one! Hope you have a great evening!

    glosews

  7. I think it’s so sweet the way you love Mr. Ed. He is a lucky man indeed. And, you are a lucky lady. Your home is beautiful and I’m sure it means that much more to you just knowing that the man you love built it with his hands. I think that is so sweet. 🙂

    As far as Milk Duds, I tried my very first one a couple of weeks ago. My friend Barbie’s daughter Emily took me to the movies with her and she poured a few into my hand. Those things could be addictive. 😛

  8. Did not get that extra hour of sleep and I miss it but the dog wanted breakfast and so up I got. Oh well, maybe tonight will be the night. I still look forwarded to the holidays. I’m a kid at heart.


Leave a Reply

