Wednesday Hodgepodge…Volume 52

Congratulations and many thanks to Joyce for leading us through an entire year’s worth of Hodgepodge!  That’s no easy feat, and I’m deeply grateful to her. If you haven’t joined in the “Hodgepodge” yet, you really should!

Unfortunately, I may be a little late in visiting everyone today. I have a doctor’s appointment, and we all know how that tends to go…Anyway, here are Joyce’s questions for this week:

1. Of all the tools and gadgets you own which do you most enjoy using?  Surprise, surprise– it’s the computer!  We had a computer in our home for many years, and I never went near the thing.  Then one day I became an adventurous soul– and six years later,  here I am,  still having fun with my computer!

2. When (if ever) is impatience a virtue?  I’m a believer that “slow and steady wins the race”…so I’ll say never.  Unfortunately, I tend to get impatient–a lot.
3. What temperature do you keep your thermostat set to in winter? Do you have another way to heat your house besides a furnace of some type?  In winter, we keep our thermostat set on 73 degrees during the day, and 72 at night.  We have an electric fireplace in our living room, and a small ceramic heater in the bathroom.
4. Do/did you have a close relationship with any of your grandparents?  My grandparents passed away many years ago, but while I was growing up I was very close to my maternal grandmother.  I consider her to be my role model.  She was one fine lady.

Grandma, me, and my mother cir. 1971

5. When did you last have a family portrait taken?  If you are referring to a professional studio portrait, our last one was taken around 2000 for the church directory.  However, our family takes a home family portrait about twice a year, and our last one was taken on October 29, 2011–in Halloween costumes!

our last professional family portrait cir. 2000

our most recent home family portrait

6. What does the word patriotism mean to you?  To me it means being proud of and supportive of one’s country.  I’m sad to say that patriotism does not appear to be alive and well with some people in this country…
7. Do you like to play cards and if so, what’s your favorite card game?  Yes, I do like to play cards.  Crazy Eights or Old Maid are my favorite card games.  What can I say, I’m a simple-minded girl…
Random:  The other night Ed and I were talking and the subject of “The Ledbetters” came up.  I hadn’t thought of Jerry Clower’s Ledbetter stories in years!  Does anyone else remember comedian Jerry Clower and his crazy, funny stories?
Of course, I had to make a visit to YouTube, where I found this…
Published in: on November 9, 2011 at 7:20 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/wednesday-hodgepodge-volume-52/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. love the family portraits! 🙂 Especially the halloween one 🙂

  2. Oh I can’t get past the boots! I had some very similar. Going to see if I can find a picture. They were my favorite. I think I wore them with hotpants. I can hardly write that : )

  3. I just love that Halloween portrait! I’m very impatient, too.

  4. Yes I remember Clowers and his stories, many of which could have been written about the people in the neighborhoods where we grew up…I like to hear my own storyteller tell about those people.
    Hope all goes well with your appointment

  5. I’m with Joyce on the boots. Love them! I may still have an old pair of white patent ones around here we wore for dance team. 🙂 And I wore hotpants too. What were we thinking? Have a great day!

  6. Love the Halloween photo!!

  7. I agree with you on patience while we never have enough we could always do better than being impatient come see my answers at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  8. I have to say, along with everyone else, that you were rockin” those boots girl! And yes, I wore hotpants too. Why did I think that was a good idea? I always liked the kilts too, with the big pin on the front. When we were in Michigan we kept the heat at 68 during the day and 65 and night. I would sneak it up to 70 when I could get away with it. We wore a lot of sweatshirts and always had a quilt on the couch to cover up with. burrr…

  9. Enjoyed reading your answers. Hard to believe we have done this for a year already. I have never heard of Jerry Clower’s Ledbetter!


Leave a Reply

